Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian 10 Buster

Debian | 10.6

Linux/Unix, Debian 10.5 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

6 AWS reviews

External reviews

35 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Dario Susman

AMIs/Volumes for Debian should not be restricted to Marketplace codes

  • August 18, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The AMI is awesome, but it's quite annoying to be unable to mount the volume on another running instance to fix something. One must stop the second instance only to be able to mount the marketplace-coded volume and then work from there to sort a problem out.


    Alana D.

The most stable linux distro

  • August 18, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It works and it won't break unless you break it, I have a Debian 4 machine running in a very old laptop that I use for tests and it still works relatively well without needing to upgrade and I never plan to upgrade it until the hardware fails with age but at the same time I have some machines running Debian 9 and 10 and they work like a charm either in physical or virtual hardware.

As far as I'm aware Debian is the most stable distro in the Linux World
What do you dislike?
That stability comes as expected with a tradeoff and that is that sometimes the newest and fanciest toys are not available until around 6 months or even 2 years later unless you install them from an external repository.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For starters, my main home PC is a Debian Desktop with Raid 1 for all my important data, even if or when it fails all my important data is protected. I also use it a lot on Virtual Deployments and I always have a live usb with me in case any machine fails in any form
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For stability there is just no better OS, unless you need a new hot feature in a rolling distro it's the best linux out there


    Ulf

We love Debian!

  • August 06, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Debian is an awesome Linux distribution and we love it. Thanks for providing these images and for free no less!


    lazing

lazing

  • July 20, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

One of the best community-developed distributions. Software freedom (even if it's running in a non-free cloud...) that is there to serve the user.


    Alex

Works well

  • June 05, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

This is the latest Debian 10. I can't inspect all the code/config yet same for Debian image (and that one already has a ton of good reviews). At least it's from the same Debian vendor - so there is some assurance there.


    Andrew G

Solid

  • May 27, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Always a solid choice. This is the champion of Linux, and the foundation for many other linux variants including Ubuntu.


    Hugo

It's good old Debian

  • May 20, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It's the Debian we all know. It works! No idea why this has absolutely NO reviews and zero stars! Hopefully this'll change that.


    Telecommunications

Best of for simplicity and low resource usage

  • October 24, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Speed of operations and light Graphical environment make it the best os to install on old legacy pc
What do you dislike?
Some Ubuntu repos are not present and need to be added manually
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Deploy reliable pbx server


    Online Media

Operating System for Humans

  • September 20, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best feature Debian has (in addition to its amazing package manager) is its community. All Debian developers are volunteers that manage to keep a great repository of free software applications that come together to form an amazing experience. And its users support each other in making an awesome ecosystem to be in for whatever needs you have. That is only one of the reasons why several other distributions are based off of it.
What do you dislike?
In order to take full advantage of your OS you need to understand several idiosyncrasies that stem from the way Debian does some things. And when you are trying to get your head around a new OS, those things are not something you want to spend your time on... even if they would save you time on the long-term.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Debian has been running on all machines I use and administer for years now. They are great for severs (if you use the latest stable release) an widely accepted in the software world as one of the major players. It would be difficult to find something that does not explain how to run on Debian (or something like Docker... that you can run on Debian very easily)
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are tired of package dependency hell, Debian - with its apt package manager - is the solution you have been looking for. And if you are scared of Debian, then you may want to try a derivative distribution like Ubuntu (or one of its derivatives) and as you try to simplify that setup move back to Debian afterwards.


    Dan W.

Good, stable operating system

  • September 06, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
As this is the base that Ubuntu was built from, there is a lot of software that is targeting Debian/Ubuntu. Most software that is available for Ubuntu is also available for Debian.
What do you dislike?
This is not for everyone. Linux on the desktop is great for a technical person, but not yet suitable for a non-technical user.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Desktop environment. Some of our servers run Debian, both in staging & in production. Docker is also a technology we use and this works very well with Debian. We use Debian to support our continuous integration and continuous deployment set-ups for many of our customers.