Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian 10 Buster

Debian | debian-10-amd64-20230917-1506

Linux/Unix, Debian debian-10-amd64-20230917-1506 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

8 AWS reviews

External reviews

154 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Gaurav P.

Debian - One of the best Open Source OS Available

  • April 21, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The Fact that it is very trustable , stable and reliable makes it a heavy competitor.Also , Software Packages it has are vast and hugely useful.
What do you dislike about the product?
Challenged with respect to installation , Guidelines.SOmetimes Software updates can be delayed.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Providing Stable and Secure OS , Vast Library of Packages and software repository,Gives sufficient flexibility to the end users.


    Tahseen R.

Debian Linux Pros and Cons

  • April 19, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Tenure is one of Debian's key benefits. It is one of the most renowned and established Linux distributions freely available to the general public and was released more than 20 years ago. Both developers and users can benefit more specifically from this reality.
Because it supports a wide range of architecture, it may be used with both old and modern processors and computer systems. For instance, outdated personal computers that cannot run the most recent Windows versions can be upgraded to Debian.
Additionally, Debian distributes free software. More than 57200 software items are available for free download.
What do you dislike about the product?
According to several detractors, one of Debian's most significant drawbacks is that it is conservative and slow to implement new features already present in other Linux variants and commercial operating systems.
Debian's problem is that it actively excludes non-free software from its official system while retaining a repository of non-free software housed on its primary servers.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Utilising a free operating system can give businesses financial and competitive advantages. Government agencies, nonprofit organisations, and commercial or for-profit companies worldwide, including banks and software firms, have utilised it.
This Linux Distribution is also excellent for hosting servers due to its software selection and accessibility to the open-source community.


    Cosmetics

Good for being Linux distro but Ubuntu is doing better

  • April 18, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It is an old and friendly Linux distro for development.
What do you dislike about the product?
GUI interface and installation on desktop...
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It helps me to do automation that is not possible on windows.


    Anand C.

Product Review for Debian

  • April 17, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Debian OS is easy to go operation system with open-source tools loaded
What do you dislike about the product?
More open source tools can be added to make the OS more user-friendly and easy to go tool
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The major problem solved by this OS is its free to use and open source nature which makes this OS more reachable and hence better delivery od solutions with optimum output


    Carmen B.

Stable OS

  • March 21, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Stability, easy to use, suitable even for production environments
What do you dislike about the product?
There's nothing I disliked about Debian.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Stability for production environments, without paying for licences, updates for packages.


    Paolo N.

A great overall operating system

  • March 17, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I like the ease of use and installation. It's also an operating system with a great package and software management workflow. Debian is extremely flexible, being usable for personal and professional use, and requires little customization to make everything work. It perfectly balances "out of the box" usability and the ability to tweak every feature in the OS.
What do you dislike about the product?
Sometimes I believe that Debian is too heavy on resources. I can understand this because of the vast array of features and preinstalled software, but it does become an obstacle when you need to run simultaneous processes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have a stable operating system that is standard to my whole team, with a vast array of features they need. It also helps my team in terms of compatibility, since we have the same operating system which lowers maintenance cost and times.


    Prashik K.

Efficient and Reliable

  • February 14, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It is one of the most outstanding operating systems available today. Its exceptional stability, security, and performance make it an excellent choice for anyone who values a reliable and secure computing experience.

One of Debian's greatest strengths is its robust package management system and vast software repository, which provide users with access to a broad range of software options. This makes it an ideal choice for developers and system administrators who need to work with a variety of different tools and frameworks.

Furthermore, the Debian community is incredibly supportive, and the project's dedication to free and open-source software has helped create a powerful and versatile operating system. The Debian team's commitment to delivering regular updates and security patches ensures that the system is always up-to-date, reliable, and secure, making it an excellent choice for both personal and professional use.

Overall, I would highly recommend Debian to anyone looking for a stable and efficient operating system. Whether you're a developer, a system administrator, or simply someone who wants a secure and reliable platform for everyday use, Debian is an excellent choice that won't disappoint.
What do you dislike about the product?
As someone who has used Debian for several years, I can say that it is an excellent operating system that prioritizes stability and reliability. However, one potential downside is that it may not always have the latest software versions available in its repositories, which could be a disadvantage for users who need access to cutting-edge features and functionality.

Moreover, the installation and configuration process can be quite complex, particularly for new users who are unfamiliar with the Linux environment. Although there are numerous resources available online to help with this, it can still be a steep learning curve.

Overall, despite these potential drawbacks, I strongly believe that the benefits of using Debian far outweigh any downsides. Its robust package management system, extensive software repository, and unwavering commitment to free and open-source software make it an outstanding choice for developers, system administrators, and other users who value stability, security, and reliability in their operating system.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
When running workloads on cloud-based platforms such as AWS, it is essential to have an operating system that is specifically designed to run in that environment. Debian is one such operating system that has been optimized for cloud-based workloads, making it an excellent choice for use in the AWS Marketplace.


    Janne G.

Great and very stable Linux distro for everyday use and for servers too.

  • January 20, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Package manager apt-get (apt or Advanced package tool) is the most outstanding feature of Debian.
What do you dislike about the product?
Because default Debian installation is meant to be a very stable operating system, they rely on older but supported application versions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Its basic installation is minimal, and you can easily add or remove applications with apt. So you can make it to be ready with any use case.


    Shagun S.

Favorite operating system.

  • January 10, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Debian is the oldest Linux-based operating system. It is free to use and easy to download from the internet.
What do you dislike about the product?
Debian is sometimes difficult to use for beginners. And it takes a very long time to update.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
This operating system has to be more user-friendly.


    Marketing and Advertising

Flexible and modern

  • January 04, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
One of the things that drew me to Debian and which I like the most about it is its broad support from the general internet community. If you need help with a Debian issue, chances are someone has already had that issue and solved it.
What do you dislike about the product?
Honestly, there isn't much that I dislike about the OS itself. I'm annoyed when I have to install a few packages on a base install but that's really a personal preference.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Debian allows me to use Linux in my environments which is a great benefit in terms of cost management and security. It also allows me to use and expand my knowledge of Linux tools.