Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 9 (Stretch) (arm64)

Debian | Debian GNU/Linux 9 LTS 20210623

Linux/Unix, Debian 9.13+20210623 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

69 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Ahmed S.

Debian Os

  • September 23, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Memory Management is very good in Debian and it's easy to use.
Security with ufw or firewalld to secure your server.
Process management is great you can easily manage it.
Installation is very easy and you can configure everything manual or automatic.
What do you dislike?
Resources Utilisation is not good and you need to take care of it .
You can only install free software in debian.
Updates are not the best thing in debian.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Security , I was searching about secure os to install it in servera and I used it.


    Phil C.

Software depends on community and the other way around

  • September 08, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Community model validated over years, it's here to stay
What do you dislike?
Contribution procedures can be longer than they should...
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Debian is a good platform to build long-term products on, because of its security policy. It can be used also on servers or desktop but I believe it's obvious.
The platform itself is a good trade-off between customization and general purposes functionalities.
Architectures support make it a good reference platform to be used as reference and validate some features too.
Note to mention that Debian core is used in many other derivative projects like Ubuntu, RaspberrypiOS, but it can be also used for point of convergence of downstream contributions.
My latest achievement with Debian is a DIY pinball simulator as explained at https://purl.org/rzr/pinball
I've been contributing to some packages too : https://qa.debian.org/developer.php?login=rzr@users.sf.net
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try to contribute as soon as you can it will be a good investment, start by joining a team for instance


    Mani K.

The best universal Free and Open Source OS

  • September 04, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the simplicity and ease of use of a Debian system. Debian organization is highly committed to FOSS and has strict policies governing its usage. It is essential from a software developer's point of view as we tend to use software that gives complete control over its usage. Debian OS is also highly committed to stability and security.
What do you dislike?
The initial learning curve required to understand the Debian OS is high. I had spent a significant amount of time knowing how to use a Debian system. Diagnosing issues with the package installations and system upgrades were absolute hell.
But with time and effort to learn and understand the Debian OS and its software components has made it easy, and now I am fluent with Debian system usage.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Debian OS for my system and also with my work laptop. It is easy and convenient to work with software that comes with Debian OS. I am a professional software developer, so all the tools required, such as a C and C++ compiler, diff, git, valgrind, etc., are easily available in my Debian system. It is easy to install, remove and upgrade packages in Debian using the APT tool.


    Damián V.

Incredible OS

  • August 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Security and stability offered by the system.
What do you dislike?
Difficult to setup by newbies in the area.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm using the system in almost all of my servers. Stability is incredible.


    Government Administration

Great distribution of linux for when you don't need full blown Enterprise subscription features

  • August 18, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Standardised linux distribution with good amount of features builtin.
What do you dislike?
It's sometimes difficult to find documentation online.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Debian has allowed us to deploy applications that require linux, without having to pay large amounts for enterprise support.


    Asif A.

Open Software advocates ! Here's your best Linux distro !

  • August 06, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Debian is the best Linux distribution I have ever used.It has a very large community support and perfect choice for powering your servers.The distro is very dependable ,has a large software support and support both X64 and X32 pc architectures
What do you dislike?
Unlike other popular operating systems, Debian releases takes a bit longer period than usual.But whenever they comes,its a bang !
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Users have the option to choose between stable and experimental versions having better features, so that we can go with the one most comfortable with. It is also the most widely used operating system by developers due to popularity of .deb packages and it's unchallenged authority in managing servers
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to stop paying for every single software that you use daily ,then Debian OS is the right choice. We can easily roll out and switch to different versions and that's too completely for free. Debian OS is also less prone security threats like virus attacks.The source code is available to check and anybody can point out threats or contribute to its development.The OS has a large community support too.


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Debian best choice for an embedded solution

  • August 04, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The desktop visual interface for a microcomputer is the best
What do you dislike?
the lack of power and resource management of hardware
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Industrial application and IoT solutions are quite handy when using debian
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to make an embedded solution, this OS is quite handy


    Chamroeunrith C.

Debian best linux Distro for SME Business

  • June 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Debian using less memory and perform very fast, just need ram 1GB can install well and running smoothly.
also alot of software are compatible with ubuntu as well,
as my experience previously i use centos and last 5 years i have moved to debian and there is no cost as well.
what you know in ubuntu the same in debian, rich software and community support.
i would give the rate 10 for debian as my experience with it more than 5 years
What do you dislike?
its very smooth already, i have no comment about this.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
previously we use centos and the problem centos is crash alot when running more than 1month it comsume all memory and got stuck the server. but using debian it run very smooth even run more than 6month


    Prateek J.

Debian: The most balanced OS

  • May 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1. Easy to use
2. Frequent updates
3. Support for almost all the software
4. Good for beginners
What do you dislike?
1. Fewer features as compare to other modern OS
2. Outdated UI
3. Some times confusing for new Linux users
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I was looking for a lightweight Linux distro that I can use to run web servers. Debian was perfect for my use case because this comes with the support of almost all the software. It's very stable and reliable as compared to other options.


    Ritwik J.

Debian in a nutshell

  • April 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's a very good operating system as it's convenient and fast. It is developer-friendly and the best part about Debian is that it's an open-source Operating System. It means I don't need to spend too much on getting an operating system license. This saves a lot of money for me as while purchasing a laptop I just need to pay for the device and not the operating licenses. This reduces the cost to a great extent. I also like the huge number of packages available for easy download in debian.
What do you dislike?
The thing I dislike about Debian operating system is that it's not always updated, there are fewer updates that are not frequent die to which the user is left with no choice but to use outdated software system. Also, there are sometimes glitches that cause the system to overheat when running multiple servers on the same system. It has not so good power management as it drains power too fast while running multiple development servers like nodejs or python. Also when it comes to community support there's slightly less support available from the community for Debian as compared to other open source operating systems like Ubuntu or Red Hat Enterprise Linux.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I realised that there are a huge number of installed and available packages in Debian and this makes it very developer friendly as I don't have to look for the alternatives.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't run too many servers and don't download packages from unknown sources