Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian GNU/Linux 9 (Stretch) (arm64)

Debian | Debian GNU/Linux 9 LTS

Linux/Unix, Debian 9.13+20201031 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

61 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Prateek J.

Debian: The most balanced OS

  • May 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1. Easy to use
2. Frequent updates
3. Support for almost all the software
4. Good for beginners
What do you dislike?
1. Fewer features as compare to other modern OS
2. Outdated UI
3. Some times confusing for new Linux users
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I was looking for a lightweight Linux distro that I can use to run web servers. Debian was perfect for my use case because this comes with the support of almost all the software. It's very stable and reliable as compared to other options.


    Ritwik J.

Debian in a nutshell

  • April 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's a very good operating system as it's convenient and fast. It is developer-friendly and the best part about Debian is that it's an open-source Operating System. It means I don't need to spend too much on getting an operating system license. This saves a lot of money for me as while purchasing a laptop I just need to pay for the device and not the operating licenses. This reduces the cost to a great extent. I also like the huge number of packages available for easy download in debian.
What do you dislike?
The thing I dislike about Debian operating system is that it's not always updated, there are fewer updates that are not frequent die to which the user is left with no choice but to use outdated software system. Also, there are sometimes glitches that cause the system to overheat when running multiple servers on the same system. It has not so good power management as it drains power too fast while running multiple development servers like nodejs or python. Also when it comes to community support there's slightly less support available from the community for Debian as compared to other open source operating systems like Ubuntu or Red Hat Enterprise Linux.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I realised that there are a huge number of installed and available packages in Debian and this makes it very developer friendly as I don't have to look for the alternatives.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't run too many servers and don't download packages from unknown sources


    Aswini Kumar P.

Best OS for Software development

  • April 30, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It supports various libraries related to software development
What do you dislike?
Nothing in person. Nothing there to dislike
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using debian os for python programming.


    Computer Software

Debian OS

  • April 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
customisation as per user requirements, better for development.
What do you dislike?
dependencies issue takes time to fix and need to search community.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
better for software development, open source software easy to install. easily contribute to the community.


    Rahul V.

Best OS (operating system) for security persons

  • April 29, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
their user-friendly terminal I love Linux so much as I am from the security field I personally love this OS and I surely recommend it to my friends and colleagues.
What do you dislike?
nothing seriously maybe we can say their GUI (graphical user interface) is a bit low they can improve that that's it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In security field, we need so many tools to work with .we cant install those ones by one it takes a lot of time and effort but in this OS it was inbuilt thus it solves so much of my time and effort.


    Computer Networking

Free and open source !

  • April 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Open source operating system and is also user friendly
What do you dislike?
Nothing to dislike about this operating system
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Used it for academic purpose


    Mouhammad Y.

Debian Review

  • April 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
ease of installing apps using external repos
What do you dislike?
not having a very easy interface to interact with close to one that comes from windows
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
test enviroment


    Patrice M.

Low ressources opérations

  • April 27, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to manage, almost no downtime. Low ressource consuption
What do you dislike?
Need to be an it professional to use it correctly
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Open source with no required licensing


    Joseph M.

Linux to the rescue

  • April 27, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I appreciate how lightweight and how admin friendly it is. Although most Linux systems do give users a ton of access, admins can easily control content packages that are going to be installed to the system. Of course, people are usually more familiar with Windows and Mac OS, but Debian feels at home.
What do you dislike?
Personally, I wouldn't say I liked how some of the menus felt a bit cluttered, especially when trying to access specific files from the toolbar below. It's a nitpick, but otherwise, I don't have any main gripes with Debian.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Windows randomly updating and taking up so much space for updates was really frustrating. It made sense to ditch Windows and go to a lightweight Linux build which Debian is. It's even user-friendly, so it's easy to teach new people how to use it correctly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Come in with some previous Linux experience for a smoother transition, but if you're unable to, it's completely fine. You will learn Debian as you go, and it's not that hard to use. This version is most similar to Windows / MacOs in terms of GUI.


    Elmer S.

Debian SO for IT Specialist

  • April 27, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
In addition to its security and stability, I use it because I love computer security tools.
What do you dislike?
Some incompatibility problems with multimedia programs, some software l ike Adobe or games it dose not work like I Like.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Compilation when programming is much faster and use computer security software to check network vulnerabilities.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You should to have some technical knoledge for the installation.