Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

GitLab Premium

GitLab | GitLab Premium 17.2.0 Release

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

813 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Евгений .

Excellent product from the people who love what they do!

  • September 15, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
A lot of features from the box! All you need to manage your source code are in GitLab.
They also have added features for collaboration with colleagues and oh god container Register!
Awesome product!
What do you dislike about the product?
Nothing! Actually nothing! Even if I had a question or problem or feature request the team respond in about a day.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Git repositories for my personal projects.
Git repository and issue tracker for medium company.
It solves a lot of tasks!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try the public installation on https://gitlab.com/ and install selfhosted after that.


    John B.

I host my code with GitLab.com and have in the past run CE on private servers.

  • September 09, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I love that, in addition to being a free version control hosting option, they're a free and open source software community. I also love that gitlab.com offers unlimited free private repositories and SSL for gitlab pages.
What do you dislike about the product?
I've found setup for self-hosted instances to be a little bit difficult and overly complex. Other than that, I don't have a whole lot of issues with Gitlab.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm using it to host both public and private code for personal and professional code. It's allowed me to store code securely and easily without needing to worry about either the cost or the details/hosting.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
With Github's recent pricing changes for private repositories, the time to try gitlab has never been better. They tend to be really responsive to user requests, in part because it's open source software.


    Giorgi D.

Internal source control tool

  • August 10, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The best thing about gitlab is that it can be hosted on premises and is very easy to setup even for a linux newbie like me. I had it up and running in about an hour or two. It can also import git repositories from other systems making it very easy to migrate to gitlab. The built in diff viewer is also comfortable for making quick code reviews.
What do you dislike about the product?
The biggest disadvantage of gitlab is probably it's speed. It's not slow but it would be nice if it was faster. Also it would be useful if it could import svn repositories too.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Gitlab allows us to easily host internal source control without paying a lot.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I suggest configuring groups before creating any repositories because moving repositories between groups or renaming groups changes repository url.


    Siarhei K.

Good OSS Github alternative

  • July 06, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
With GitLab you have full control over the installation. This may be crucial in closed perimeters where you cannot use hosting like Github Enterprise. I remember the times where the alternatives were Gitosis or Gitolite. Gitlab is a vast improvement.

Also, GitLab offers more stuff, then Github, like out-of-the-box CI, feature rich issue tracker, and, recently, Docker container registry.
What do you dislike about the product?
I cannot recall any major flaws in GitLab. GitLab team is constantly improving it and listens for feedback. As a side effect, GitLab is always on the move and changes frequently (especially UI).
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use GitLab for my private projects. Also, I use it as a backup for Github (thanks to it's mirroring features).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for a manageable Git hosting consider using GitLab.


    Sean Francis N.

An excellent GitHub alternative for private projects

  • July 01, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
GitLab can be seen as an alternative to GitHub but also, it can be seen as a compliment to GitHub. GitLab provides free private repositories for your projects. So, if you are in need of a private repository, GitLab can be a solution.

GitLab, feature-wise, is also on par with GitHub. It has a wiki that you could set up and use for your whole team. GitLab also features web hooks that you can use to integrate it with other online services your team might be using. Design-wise, GitLab is an excellent looking product with an intuitive interface.

As a bonus, GitLab provides a continuous integration feature that is available for use in your projects.
What do you dislike about the product?
GitLab has its flaws. Its user interface can be confusing at times especially when you are already used to similar services such as GitHub.

The sidebar can sometimes feel obstructing to your work and you might feel you would prefer that the sidebar be placed somewhere else. Maybe follow a GitHub style user interface?

When pushing code, you might be using SSH over HTTPS. The pushing speed is okay but when compared to GitHub, it is slower. Sometimes on other networks, you will not be able to push to your private repository.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Version control systems are important. The tech industry uses it and we are no exception. GitLab provides us with a private repository where we can store our code safely.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
When considering to use GitLab, remember that you might feel a bit alienated by the interface at first but over time, you will get used to it


    Ghada B.

The best solution to store private repositories for free

  • June 25, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Gitlab presents a lot of interesting features that I found useful:
- Open source
- Create private or public repositories.
- Private repositories for free .
- Easy to install, update and maintain.
- Easy to collaborate with the team and sharing the code.
- Easy to back-up your self-hosted GitLab instance.
- Easy to create merge requests, so code can be easily reviewed and discussed.
What do you dislike about the product?
I can't really find anything that i dislike. Gitlab is fulfilling all my needs as for now. Maybe, the only thing that bothered me was the UI is a little bit complex and hard to understand.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I currently use Gitlab to build and push up my projects in private repositories. I can work with my team by enabling us to push, pull, and merge our code together on it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend Gitlab for anyone who wants to create a private projects for free and save your money. It's the best solution for that. More than that it's fast because files can be edited directly on the web UI without downloading the repository.


    Higher Education

Good product

  • June 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Easy, intuitive version control, makes it easy to collaborate with my team on sharing code.
What do you dislike about the product?
I wasn't able to find good documentation for it, so it took me a while to figure out the ins and outs.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I needed to share code with my team and Gitlab provides a good platform for that. It's intuitive, and I can get my work done with just a few commands.


    Ariful H.

Upload your unlimited private projects for free

  • June 05, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
There are few highly popular Git project uploading sites available. But those sites are focused on Open-source projects and for private projects, user need to have paid subscriptions. I was looking for uploading my git repot to any Git project hosting site also was looking for a free service and here comes Gitlab. A user can upload unlimited private Git projects in their account, create teams or organizations and push project to the organization repo as well and all of these are absolutely free. The best thing is, you can do almost everything what you can do in other popular git sites and here you don't need to pay for that.
What do you dislike about the product?
The UI of the Gitlab could be more interactive. Creating Milestone, Label on the fly could be a good UI update. Project Wiki is not a great thing in Gitlab.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are a team of remote developers working in common projects from different countries. We host our code primarily in Gitlab (because its free). Our codes are mainly under our team account and each developers fork the code to update. Our CTO/ Lead developer is responsible for merging or rejecting any pull request.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Gitlab is a modern Git Hosting Provider that is already used by a great number of developers. If you want to push your git repo to as private repo, and right now not ready to spend money for it, Gitlab is your best option.


    Ricardo R.

An excellent self-hosted or SaaS code repository

  • June 03, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
An excellent solution for those who like want private or shared repositories and require a on promises or private cloud installation.

Provides great options for code reviewing and developers interactions on merge requests.

Updates both for new features and fixes are frequent.

Access control is fine grained and authentication may be setup to use an external service like LDAP or CAS.

Provides a nice OAuth authentication so 3rd party apps may be easily integrated.

Active open source community with lots of contributions. This way bugs are fixed really quick and new features come out frequently.
What do you dislike about the product?
The less used features have a few usability gotchas.

The frequent updates may overwhelm your operations team if you have too much bureaucracy in the way.

Since its operation relies on git directories that are on the filesystem, high availability options may be little tricky to setup. More distributed options seem to be in the way for enterprise edition but are not yet available at the time.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Granting access to developer to almost every project in the company.

Encourage contributions across different teams or developers on internal projects.

Allow 3rd party consultants access only to code bases they need.

Achieved compliance on company intellectual property protection.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Assess the use of gitlab by trying the SaaS version on gitlab.com or by using docker images from: https://hub.docker.com/r/gitlab/gitlab-ce/


    Willian M.

It is a really great place to store your git repositories

  • June 03, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The community edition is really great. Today we have a community edition installation at the company I'm working for and it works like a charm.
What do you dislike about the product?
Nothing really. The only point that annoys me currently is their number of updates. The product development is really fast paced and it is really difficult to keep it up to date. It annoys but is really great.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We don't want to pay an external service to host all of our internal codes and development for various reasons and Gitlab was the best tool we found to do the job.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
In case you need to have all your repositories hosted on your own company servers I really recommend you to pick Gitlab. Their services as an online platform are really good and you may use it for free.