Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

GitLab Premium

GitLab | GitLab Premium 14.3.3 Release

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

364 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Oleksandr T.

Great alternative to GitHub with own features

  • September 04, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
For me, the main advantage of Gitlab is that it has a more user-friendly interface than GitHub. I can manage all the necessary properties of the repository and CI / CD settings without thinking where to find them and what they mean. The usability is great here.
What do you dislike?
Setting up access rights for different developers quickly and efficiently is just as problematic here as in GitHub.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Code version control
2. Collaboration of many developers of different directions
3. Issues tracking
4. Effective CI / CD
5. Updates orchestration


    Computer Games

Pretty decent version control

  • September 03, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's easy to use. Creating PRs is easy to do. The dev ops pipelines are apparently really good.
What do you dislike?
Slow with large files. Lacks some of the nice features of GitHub like pages amd Actions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Version control


    Ryan C.

Decent alternative to Github

  • September 01, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The learning curve for Gitlab is relatively low. If you are familiar with any git operations at all and have used Bitbucket or Github, then you will be right at home. The community version is also free, which is a massive boon to startup founders and individual developers.
What do you dislike?
Unlike bitbucket, I find that the system becomes slower as you scale. It becomes a bit laggy when you have over 200 developers working on the same repo. It could just be a limitation of the community version.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Gitlab is the default code repository and version control system in our company. It's great to see all the different repositories consolidated in one platform. This makes it easier for any developers in the organization to share standard code and do peer reviews.


    Information Technology and Services

Great way to manage tasks and code in the same platform

  • August 31, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Labels, Milestones and community documentation
What do you dislike?
Could improve transitions between group and project levels
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Code repository and issue tracking


    Computer Software

The best Git repository

  • August 31, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CI/CD integrations, pipeline customization, issue tracking, simple MR UI.
What do you dislike?
Not much, in my GitLab experience I haven't found something to dislike.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Version control, Wiki for our projects, CI/CD pipelines integration.


    Yash K.

The Absolutely Necessary Git Tool from Beginners to Professionals

  • August 29, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have been using Gitlab for a very long time and it is extremely easy to get started with even as a beginner. Even if you do not know the exact git command to push an existing local repo to Gitlab, it gives you useful tips and sometimes even the complete code suggestions. Apart from that the fact that it lets you create private repos even in its free tier is a boon for people just starting out and cannot shell out a lot of money to maintain a private cloud Git repository. Its CI pipeline is also extremely easy to use and provides the desired automation for my projects. The issue tracking feature is also very useful since it allows customizable columns and labels making it easy to spot what an issue is about and it also allows to connect code from multiple projects to issues which is extremely useful for working with teams in a large codebase.
What do you dislike?
There is almost nothing I do not like about Gitlab except the fact that it sometimes gets so slow that it takes ages to load. But compared to the benefits it provides, this is nothing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The main problem Gitlab solves for me is it helps me collaborate with my team which is spread all around the world on multiple with varying complexity. Its amazing the smoothness I can use the CI for deployment automation and the issue tracking feature makes life so easy for the entire team who often work in completely different time zones.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a Git management tool, make the switch to Gitlab immediately. I switched from Github years ago and have never looked back. It will be an invaluable asset to your organization, from onboarding freshers into the version control workflow to overall code management of products of varying sizes of codebases.


    Muhammed A.

GitLab, The Center of your Software Projects

  • August 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The CI/CD support for our company projects is fantastic. Also, we can integrate with other tools.
The tool is highly secured since it can be installed internally as a package.
What do you dislike?
Some defects on permissions and controls Conflict resolving should be improved through some advanced visuals Steep learning curve
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using this tool for developing apps at the company and the tool is used to maintain the source codes and automate our project's build and deployment phases. Also, Issue tracking and Teamwork management were the issues. GitLab has rich and more features than any other tool.


    Ahmed A.

The only Source Control & CI/CD Platform you need.

  • August 26, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
GitLab is an excellent tool with great UI and a community version for free use. It also offers a lot of features like a package repository and CI Server with ready-to-go templates.
What do you dislike?
Nothing at all, I have used GitLab for over five years, and I don't have any negative comments.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Source Control
2. CI/CD Pipelines
3. Package Repository


    Computer Software

Good version control for managing code. You can also use CI/CD pipeline using GitLab.

  • August 24, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CI/CD pipeline module in this product is good to me. We can quickly deploy our code in a container.
What do you dislike?
No module/features are we can say disliked.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Managing code management. Our team members work together in a single module and at last deploy on production—hassle-free version control.


    Nimisha V.

GitLab Review

  • August 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It best for version control. It had helped everyone who uses it for tracking changes in any set of files when team members work on the same code base for getting work done.
What do you dislike?
Its was difficult to remember Git commands at first but with practice it became handy.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
->version control
->data integrity, and support for distributed, non-linear workflows
->merge conflicts on same code
->having good historical data with Git blame