Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

GitLab Premium

GitLab | GitLab Premium 14.4.0 Release

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

371 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Great way to manage tasks and code in the same platform

  • August 31, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Labels, Milestones and community documentation
What do you dislike?
Could improve transitions between group and project levels
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Code repository and issue tracking


    Computer Software

The best Git repository

  • August 31, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CI/CD integrations, pipeline customization, issue tracking, simple MR UI.
What do you dislike?
Not much, in my GitLab experience I haven't found something to dislike.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Version control, Wiki for our projects, CI/CD pipelines integration.


    Yash K.

The Absolutely Necessary Git Tool from Beginners to Professionals

  • August 29, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have been using Gitlab for a very long time and it is extremely easy to get started with even as a beginner. Even if you do not know the exact git command to push an existing local repo to Gitlab, it gives you useful tips and sometimes even the complete code suggestions. Apart from that the fact that it lets you create private repos even in its free tier is a boon for people just starting out and cannot shell out a lot of money to maintain a private cloud Git repository. Its CI pipeline is also extremely easy to use and provides the desired automation for my projects. The issue tracking feature is also very useful since it allows customizable columns and labels making it easy to spot what an issue is about and it also allows to connect code from multiple projects to issues which is extremely useful for working with teams in a large codebase.
What do you dislike?
There is almost nothing I do not like about Gitlab except the fact that it sometimes gets so slow that it takes ages to load. But compared to the benefits it provides, this is nothing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The main problem Gitlab solves for me is it helps me collaborate with my team which is spread all around the world on multiple with varying complexity. Its amazing the smoothness I can use the CI for deployment automation and the issue tracking feature makes life so easy for the entire team who often work in completely different time zones.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a Git management tool, make the switch to Gitlab immediately. I switched from Github years ago and have never looked back. It will be an invaluable asset to your organization, from onboarding freshers into the version control workflow to overall code management of products of varying sizes of codebases.


    Muhammed A.

GitLab, The Center of your Software Projects

  • August 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The CI/CD support for our company projects is fantastic. Also, we can integrate with other tools.
The tool is highly secured since it can be installed internally as a package.
What do you dislike?
Some defects on permissions and controls Conflict resolving should be improved through some advanced visuals Steep learning curve
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using this tool for developing apps at the company and the tool is used to maintain the source codes and automate our project's build and deployment phases. Also, Issue tracking and Teamwork management were the issues. GitLab has rich and more features than any other tool.


    Ahmed A.

The only Source Control & CI/CD Platform you need.

  • August 26, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
GitLab is an excellent tool with great UI and a community version for free use. It also offers a lot of features like a package repository and CI Server with ready-to-go templates.
What do you dislike?
Nothing at all, I have used GitLab for over five years, and I don't have any negative comments.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Source Control
2. CI/CD Pipelines
3. Package Repository


    Computer Software

Good version control for managing code. You can also use CI/CD pipeline using GitLab.

  • August 24, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CI/CD pipeline module in this product is good to me. We can quickly deploy our code in a container.
What do you dislike?
No module/features are we can say disliked.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Managing code management. Our team members work together in a single module and at last deploy on production—hassle-free version control.


    Nimisha V.

GitLab Review

  • August 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It best for version control. It had helped everyone who uses it for tracking changes in any set of files when team members work on the same code base for getting work done.
What do you dislike?
Its was difficult to remember Git commands at first but with practice it became handy.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
->version control
->data integrity, and support for distributed, non-linear workflows
->merge conflicts on same code
->having good historical data with Git blame


    Computer Software

Gitlab: version control hosting compared to github

  • August 24, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
In many regards, gitlab is similar to github. I like this because github has become the defacto standard for open source projects. I've used gitlab at multiple jobs and it's always been easy to work on if you have experience with github. Both host repositories with git, so it's mainly just an interface difference. The interface is easy for code browsing and code reviews.
What do you dislike?
Both times I've used gitlab we transitioned off of it as a company. In my experience, when you have over 1,000 developers, the system does not scale well. It becomes slow to browse code, and syncing the repo locks up when many people push upstream. The paid version of gitlab we were using was also losing support.
So we ended up transitioning to github, and that was much better. Gitlab also doesn't have as good of a built-in issue tracking system.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use it to collaborate on software development. Browse code. Perform code reviews. It also connects with other Atlassian products. For example, you can link to documentation in confluence. It works just as well as github for doing code reviews.


    Computer Software

GitLab is the one for all purpose dev

  • August 23, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how it manages the tagging system to identify a different aspect of the project or branch.
What do you dislike?
I think I hate the web editor of GitLab mostly because it's not very user-friendly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are trying to solve our code management with GitLab also the development process.


    Food & Beverages

Gitlab Review For Early Stage Startup

  • August 23, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I am using GitLab at many organizations and found it best for any early-stage startup that is running on a strict budget.
- Free unlimited private repo
- Free unlimited users
- Sufficient roles/access control under free plan
- Many integrations available for slack/jira/zeplin etc which is great for visiblility in project planning
- Free CI/CD pipelines are cherry on the cake.
What do you dislike?
- Few settings can be made handy.
- Sometimes, the server goes down, and that affects the development/productivity.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Code and developement is an important part of any tech based industry. And ours is a tech driven ecommerce company. GitLab has provided us with a very strong infrastructure to make a rock-solid foundation for our tech.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do checkout GitLab when you are checking out conde versioning systems.