Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Jenkins on Windows Server 2019

Cloud Infrastructure Services | 0.0.1

Windows, Windows Server 2019 Base Windows Server 2019 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

304 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Santosh O.

Leading open-source CICD tool with loads of plugins

  • October 29, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Jenkins is not just a tool, it's a ocean of plugins. You just think of your project and how to automate it, you'll get a relevant plugin for your idea. As simple as that! Jenkins is so pervasive in developer circles that everyone contributes to the open source projcet and that's what makers it great- For the people by the People!

I've used Jenkins specifically to automate deployment of one of the popular CRM tools.Initially setting up the batch files was hard but once the initial setup was done it worked smooth on both Windows as well as Linux distros.
What do you dislike?
Jenkins should officially collaborate with few top vendors who use Jenkins to make a good documentation and use case report for an easy initial setup. It's hard in the start
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are automatin a workflow which pickups if packages from remote machines and deploys into AWS using Jenkins. I've added few plugins for reporting so I get email whenever my package is deployed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be it any software, you can automate it using Jenkins


    Avirup A K.

It's easy to set up a lot of information and resources to set up Jenkins, ease of use, install node.

  • October 28, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
You can easily install Jenkins Servers on Windows and Linux systems. It is really convenient to upgrade to the Jenkins server.
What do you dislike?
It's often an issue to build microservices and docker images. Certain things are important including using a build number as a parameter between various projects and you need to write the code.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It obviously helped us all with automation to develop and improve our build system.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Jenkins is an open-source and free for DevOps tool that is well connected with applications in Java.


    Health, Wellness and Fitness

Jenkins on continuous integration

  • October 28, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about Jenkins in continuous integration is its ability to interact with the different tools of the process such as Git, Maven and others
What do you dislike?
I think that you still need to automate certain elements such as word documents so that you can generate simple reports in this tool
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have solved issues of integration and control of java language sources effortlessly and it has been very useful in work teams of more than 5 people. One of the direct benefits has been the reduction of deployment time
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a very versatile and necessary tool to automate software development processes


    Vinita V.

Relative to certain applications, I consider Jenkins such a robust platform for CI/CD.

  • October 27, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Jenkins is an open-source platform used on the application integration but also deployment while automatically compiling the code with GitHub as well as developing the code.
What do you dislike?
It is pretty hard to find out the required feature in Jenkins if you can use it during the first time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Jenkins is a powerful tool for automating development activities such as continuous integration automation, continuous delivery that saves a lot of our time, you only need to the basis on better implementation rather than testing and deployment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Must You contribute a massive-time commitment towards this platform.


    User in Information Technology and Services

The appropriate tool of the CI/CD.

  • October 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1. Jenkins will build the process automatically.
2. With Jenkins ' assistance, user will get great group update notification.
3. Facile to manage the process in Jenkins Server.
What do you dislike?
1. Can be difficult to set up/ configure in Jenkins.
2. Absence of authorization rule views or jobs could not be allocated among separate users as well as classes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Jenkins is used throughout our organization's multiple team, Easily configurable-It is easy to modify and expand Jenkins. It automatically deploys software and produces test reports. Jenkins can be optimized to continuous integration and continuing implementation specifications
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Jenkins is well known to performing your compilation, creation and deployment process if you need a CICD server.


    Rushantha C.

Jenkins is suitable for test automation builds and schedules

  • October 23, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Jenkins is one of the best tool for use build schedules for development or test automation
What do you dislike?
Some reference materials should updates according to the newest version. some areas are limited.
(Ex:- Changing default installation port of jenkins installed in aws server)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
normally i'm using jenkins for test automation build schedules. basically i have some difficulties with configuring. after getting help from some forums i got configured it successfully


    Deon R.

Popularity wins - and the plugins are all over the place

  • October 18, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The sheer amount of plugins available. The recognition by any company/product that has anything to do with builds and/or CI/CD, even if they don't like it or recommend something else, they always at least have heard of and have some documentation on integration with Jenkins because it'd be folly not to support it. It's very versatile and can be configured so radically different in so many different ways that you're almost guarenteed to be able to mold it to suit your needs.
What do you dislike?
A lot of the plugins are low quality, or very outdated/abandoned. The flexibility of Jenkins is also a double edged sword, you can have 2 different companies using Jenkins and they're both completely configured differently, nothing like each other. There's no real "standards", everybody has a difference of opinion on the best way to configure/use Jenkins and they're all positive they're doing it the right way aka "Best Practices", which makes it very frustrating when you're trying to set it up or use it in your own company.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Building the software. Deploying the Software (CI/CD). Pushing artifacts to artifactory. Security Code scanning with Coverity (SAST). Open source scanning with Black Duck. Integrations with Gitlab, Bamboo, JIRA, Confluence, Slack, AWS and others.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do a lot of research on "best practices" before implementing it. Don't just dive in because it's super easy to do so but then you'll find yourself locked into that particular way of doing things going forward. Plan on if you want to use Pipeline, Jenkinsfile, or Freestyle. Try to stick with that project type as much/best as you can, get all developers to use the standards you layout whether they like it or not. Everyone will agree that even if they don't like it personally, they'll enjoy being able to read/understand each others Builds because it was done in a similar fashion.


    Telecommunications

Best Automated deployment tool i ever used

  • October 15, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Jenkin is best automated deployment tool which provide fast feedback and full fill CI/CD. It help developer to automate build jobs and send immediate report. Test automation tools such as Selenium and UFT can be integrated with Jenkins so that build verification tests can be run unattended and overnight. Scripting language like Ansible script can be integrated to do automation.
What do you dislike?
there are more improvement required at UI side. Jenkin web pages are not use friendly. more features are required to develop to show the information at UI. if Jenkins should integrate with Windows Project management tool as a Task, will help to use widely.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have used jenkin to do CI/CD automation. We hooked separate jobs for build/deployment in different environments. developers team get most benefit to create build faster and get immediate results.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
very good automation tool, easy to use for build and deployment. give fast results and notification


    E-Learning

One of the best sotware Integration tool

  • October 11, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Its an open source tool used for sotware Integration and Deployment by using some features it automatically fetch the code from GitHub and build the code
What do you dislike?
It only runs on port 8080 and you need a internet for running and building the code
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have creayed the continuous integration and Deployment cycle for different application by using Jenkins File feature which uses Ruby as scripting language


    Paheerathan S.

Automate your deployment using Jenkins.

  • October 08, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
In terms of configuration, Jenkins offers simplicity and straightforwardness. We can check errors even if our work is on progress and acquire built-in assistance from the software. With its wide range of plugins available, we can make it easy to integrate Jenkins with other programs and take advantage of the continuous delivery and integration along the way. It is open source, free and easy to use.
What do you dislike?
Jenkins lacks support for integrating and testing multiple services at once. That’s essential functionality for a microservices environment. When we plan to invest in the overhead of multiple pipelines, Jenkins does a poor job of helping us develop next-generation microservices apps. There is no collaboration features as well.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Jenkins to build and test our software projects continuously. It makes easier for us to integrate changes to the project, and it makes easier for users to obtain a fresh build. I achieved successful continuous integration and delivery in software projects.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
One of the most popular continuous integration tools available.