Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Apache Guacamole Certified by Bitnami

Bitnami | 1.2.0-29-r05 on Debian 10

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

9 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Buddy B.

Guacamole for flavor in your office

  • August 03, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is an incredible storage system, which also serves as a shared server in your computers and several others, it has the power to access all the company resources you need quickly and efficiently.
What do you dislike?
Desktop sharing is terrible, the truth is very complicated, and does not work well, in addition to having compatibility problems on different OS, such as Linux or Mac.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The best part in the office is access to complete company data, the truth is a complete and absolutely incredible resource, I have no complaints about it and the truth is very very good and super profitable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a great storage system, it is incredible and it can save you a lot of money and work, I highly recommend it, and that being very helpful in the company is the best of all.


    Amir S.

A comfortable automated digital job thanks to Apache Guacamole.

  • July 31, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like its simplicity of software functionality since it is a curiously clientless remote desktop link, this iconic name because it does not need plugins in your system to be exercised by an operator, since it is a web application, its simple design makes us It offers a Download on our desktop the central data panel, giving it full access in the digital branch, thus guaranteeing automatic work that depends drastically on a connection through the cloud, simply by installing the software on our desktop, it begins to work easy and simple.
What do you dislike?
It contains in its software a configuration system for a varied use functionality to the liking of operators or users who download Apache Guacamole to facilitate their project, which is one of their adaptation tools to the program committed to operating remotely, making That the initiation process is somewhat confusing, mainly for beginners who decide that their operations are executed by this system, this makes the initiative modest, causing a primary failure in its beginning and being misleading with its referential information.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is used in my small corporate organization, since it helps us through its automatic collaboration in the technical support to our clients who need help to know some managerial functionalities for their comfort, and helps remotely to these enormous needs to respond Through our platform, simply by installing our customer service dashboard on the main desktop and a stable connection to the cloud, you are responsible for doing the job digitally.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its large automated operator recommends it slightly with just one connection, and easy download via the web, this is mainly based on its well-documented and informed API base which includes basic tutorials for understanding your particular operation and descriptions of the software in general by means of a manual that includes through the digital line to offer its operators the necessary information for the development of its effective function.


    Vicki P.

More complex data handling

  • July 28, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Incredible storage system, in my experience as a systems engineer, it seems to me one of the most complete creations for tasks and content and server or database hosting on the market, in addition to its most innovative apis and applications.
What do you dislike?
You need very powerful machines to support it, the implementation of the system is incredibly complete but slow and tedious at best.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It helped us to have a much more powerful program server service and it is a very valuable tool in the field of work that we currently manage in the university.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It has some problems, such as the need for powerful teams and how slow it is to learn but it will help you a lot no matter what type of companies you have, it can be a really valuable contribution.


    Hospital & Health Care

Very useful tool when VPN is not an option.

  • July 15, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
In my case, it was very easy to setup using the dockerized version. I used mostly to give limited access to some external providers, instead of the usual VPN.
What do you dislike?
I have had some problems with the keyboard language. I usually have spanish keyboards and Guacamole is no very friendly with that.

It would be nice is I could use it to publish web based applications instead of full desktops.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it when I need to do something remotely from a location where I cannot use VPN, even from my smartphone I can get to my office desktop using just a browser. I can connect to windows desktops and command line linux servers. It just works.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider using it with a third party authentication like AD or LDAP.


    Construction

Excellent Service

  • September 20, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Clientless architecture makes it a great solution for road warriors who need access to company resouces quickly.
What do you dislike?
lack of shared clipboard i.e. not being able to seamless drag items across browser window to desktop and vice verse
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Single step RDP solution for users. The lack of overheard using Guacamole vs. uses traditional VPN solutions to achieve remote access has been great.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it a shot. The initial setup can be a little hairy, but the reward is worh it.


    Computer Networking

Great Remote Access Portal

  • January 28, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Great universal usage, virtually any browser can be used for multiple ways of remote access
What do you dislike?
Complicated to setup, upgrading is painful.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Web based remote access, better than SSL VPN or any type or much more expensive solution.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Setup is some what painful, automation of setup is possible, but be careful of the sources.


    Volodin A.

Have your desktop within an internet browser window.

  • September 26, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is simple to configure, highly reliable, secure and handy in usage tool. It is like noVNC, but by Apache. It is a client-less application and can be accessed via a browser.
What do you dislike?
It takes time to sort out how to implement the service if configuring it the first time.
It also requires to implement access by other means like public ip address
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Remote desktop infrastructure helps to access required device from anywhere.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
if you need a client-less remote desktop access that requires nothing but a browser - then Apache guacamole is a way to go, in my opinion.


    MA P.

Connect with Everything

  • July 17, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Allows you to connect with any SSH, RDP, TELNET, VNC listening device.
What do you dislike?
Needs more regular updates and improvements .
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's the main feature of a solid company to solve technical issues from a centralized spot.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Connects with everything using your browser.


    Travis G.

Great software, but a few small gotcha's during setup

  • April 16, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best feature is that the software allows me to create a web interface with SSL to secure traffic and remotely connect via RDP, VNC, or SSH to resources in the same subnet. My first experience to using the software was that it was being used as a jumpbox to proxy into private VPC resources in AWS. After getting a chance to use it a few times and get a feel for it's performance and stability; I ended up experimenting with the software in my home lab and ended up rolling it into my clients offices as a free alternative to other remote support/management tools.
What do you dislike?
The base software is great, but there are gotcha's. It's a tomcat server and by default runs on 8080. I personally had issues getting the default port changed to 80 or 443 via tomcat as it wants to run with minimum privileges. On linux anything under port 1024 needs root privileges to run. A simple fix was to just setup nginx as a reverse proxy to the tomcat web server. Which allowed me to then setup a "Let's Encrypt" SSL cert on the nginx proxy. (Let's encrypt needs port 80 available to receive traffic to be able to run the certbot tools.) So to get an SSL encrypted version of the Guacamole web console, it takes a little bit more setup. The documentation on Apache's website is fairly decent, but could stand to be a little more verbose for those of us with less-than-decent tomcat experience. (Disclaimer* - This was my first setup encounter with tomcat so I'm definitely a little behind the bell-curve and I personally needed to perform additional research to educate myself on how the software is supposed to work and the expected behaviours.) There's additional setup that should be performed for publicly accessible (If you need a VPN to get into the network first, just to reach Guacamole, these steps may not be necessary. But your mileage may vary) instances of Apache Guacamole such as SELinux (if your distro supports it), ClamAV, maybe Fail2ban. Anything you can think of to lock-down and secure the instance is a huge recommendation from me.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am building a small start-up tech firm and needed remote administration tools for my clients, but due to my VERY small business size; I needed a solution that was little to no cost to keep my operating costs low for my client(s). Apache Guacamole provided a simple to use management interface so I could setup such things as RDP access for standard users to be able to reach their work PC's/devices from outside the office. While also providing me a great management tool for just about any network device in the remote office at zero cost to me or my client(s).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For the sake of your data and privacy, please be mindful of best practices during setup otherwise this tool is extremely powerful in the wrong hands and can cause havoc if compromised. Definitely, RTFM if you are unsure of what the recommended "best practices" are; or if you are unsure of how to implement best practices. The documentation of the software is quite good on the Apache Guacamole website, if something isn't clear Google can/will be a great help in finding answers. It's a great software, but since it doesn't have a "batteries included" type of implementation, there are other components you will likely need to setup to get a fully secured setup for your environment.


showing 1 - 9