Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Cloud Native Database for MongoDB 4.0 (Amazon Linux)

Websoft9 | MongoDB4.0-Amazonlinux2

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

383 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Maurizio M.

I'm in love with it!

  • February 01, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
schemaless database, document database, fantastic to scale out. great management of replica set and sharding...i love it. Nested document and index creation, it's fantastic the power of this database. It's great that you can evolve your database simply adding tags/values/elements in your newest json records; don't worry about tables structure and so on.
Please consider that there's alsa a mongodb university, with free online courses for developers (.net, python) and dba. what else?
What do you dislike?
nothing, at the moment. really, I'm using it from four months and i've never had a problem with it. Only i'm having some trouble managing a lot of windows shell, but, hey we're dba, not interface designer, right?
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we're testing it for a transactional database (schemaless). moving from a sql server classic relational database storing xml data type (too slow for our porpouse) to a json database. easy to administrate and
Recommendations to others considering the product:
take a look at replica set, sharding, indexing features, they're really great.


    Alazar H.

MongoDb is a very stable, highly scalable and high performance DB system.

  • January 29, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What I like about MongoDb is it's high scalability and performance. It is simple to use and supports many of our Restul applications.
What do you dislike?
There is not much support of other developer frameworks. More packages need to be developerd for VS besides the MongoDb.Driver to help use EF and the like.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Designing a web api for providing data access to various applications and mobile apps.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend mongodb for it's performance and scalability.


    farhan k.

If Future unknown go for it...

  • January 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Mongodb is a NOSQL database ie. the user does not have to define the schema. Due to this it is a good option for startups or companies who deal with unknown and unstructured data. Mongodb is quite easy to use and get started with a good community support.
What do you dislike?
In Mongodb you wil have to deal with transactions yourself . Since there is no schema , referential integrity is not maintained. Also database consistency is not maintained here. This needs to be done by the user itself.
On the other hand these things are much easier in SQL db like Postgresql.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Currently we are dealing with large amount of data , which is generally use generated. Since we are not sure about the attributes of the data , mongodb was a very obvious and good choice for us. It's quite fast and reliable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are not sure about the attributes of your data or while dealing with unstructured data , then mongodb is a very good option. It helps to start quickly.
But unless you are not sure of attributes try to use SQL database because data integrity and consistency is much easier here.


    Claudio F.

A Simple and Elegant Way of Working With Databases

  • January 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The native map reduce tools have "cut the fluff" and let my solution to another level, without having to count on many different third party tools. It's as simple as creating a prototypic script.
What do you dislike?
I wish I could use a native GUI tool whereby I could rely on. Free open-sourced tools are not optimal, whilst one specific solution has one good feature, it may lack another just as important one. Paid solutions are great ones, but many times expensive ones too.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I've been dealing with a heavy load of data whereby a big data kind of solution is being built. While trying with many other relational databases, I have felt the lack of native support to perform simple BI tasks, such as the aforementioned map reduce feature. Now, by using MongoDB, I have been able to create on-the-fly BI Cubes as simple as creating a quick script.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are considering using MongoDB as your main database solution, it's definitely worth a try. Not just a hype thing.

Nowadays so many web systems' persistent data out there are simple relational ones, without even the prospect of becoming anything else. In that case, the hassle of mapping and creating the systems' database is cut down manifolds. Even having to change later on the database's structure is easy as pie. Something not as simple to perform in a relational database.


    Milad T.

MongoDB - Fast and Efficient Nosql Database

  • January 18, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
MongoDB is a great nosql database which is widely used. It is particularly a good choice among sql users who wants to use nosql databases because of its great community, documentation and support. I like the fact that performance wise it is very perdictable and can scalable. Its very easy to maintain and reduces a lot of unneccesary complexities common in sql world.
What do you dislike?
I don't dislike any special thing in particular.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
MongoDB is internaly used as a Job publish/process server. We also save results of web scraping in MongoDB. Because of its powerfull feameworks like MapReduce and Aggregation, it is a very suitablefor usages in data analysis.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
MongoDB is very stable and mature with a great support. It is available for enterprise with additional feautures as well as free for everyone. Recently it comes with an in-memory database ( Like Redis ) which is interesting enough on its own.


    Information Technology and Services

Easy to learn, easy to use, great introduction into the non-relational database world.

  • January 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
A very robust and full featured non-relational database. The documentation is excellent and there are numerous different resources available to accommodate your learning style. Integration with Spring is excellent and easy.
What do you dislike?
It's use is definitely situational. Document size is limited. It is not a silver bullet. It is a great database is you want performance and json like interactions. It is still young and growing and it's feature set is volatile. Overall not a lot of dislikes, just things you have to remember about the application of a non-relational document database.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Data integration between two platforms. It is fast and easy to use with Spring Boot. Most of the interactions with Mongo are simple and handled by Spring.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Think about the application and use of the database. If the application is appropriate, then this is an excellent candidate for use. Read the documentation and know what it is good and not good at doing. Take some time to learn it and it can help you out. Think about a polyglot implementation as the monolithic database is soon to be a thing of the past.


    Dror A.

Easy Scaler Database

  • January 13, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The east startup, from the moment you start up to the point where you have a running application is a matter of minutes.
Once the initial steps are done it can be easily scale up in a matter of seconds with no extra effort.
It is easy to connect from multiple applications and drivers.
It is part of the MEAN stack for a reason
What do you dislike?
It still does not have the throughput of some of the commercial products such as cassandra, however it is much more easy to debug and understand the workflows
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. The ease of scaling up when handling large volumes of information
2. The encryption system helps when handling with HIPAA compliance


    Alexey A.

Fast NoSQL for your projects

  • December 29, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Recently I was very impressed by NoSQL databases and especially Mongo. In modern world if you think about document oriented database - i'm pretty sure that you will think about Mongo first. Javascript as internal language, flexible indexes, full text search, clusterization from the box - all this features in my own mind made Mongo one of the best NoSQL databases. Ofcourse we should not forget about big communitu and a lot of official language bindings.
What do you dislike?
My projects use cyrrilic set of characters (Russian) and Full Test Search engine not so good for that.
Clusterization for leader election requires at least 3 node,
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In my projects I have a lot of unstructured documents - and I need fast search and store engine for them.


    Robert F.

Excellent platform for web-applications (MongoDB is web scale)

  • December 21, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Besides the obvious benefits of scalability, performance, and being open source, what I like best about MongoDB is it's ease of use and simplicity. Getting MongoDB up and running literally takes only a couple of seconds. And in particular if you are working in a shop using CD/CI processes, MongoDB fits extremly well. At our shop I think nobody would ever consider going back to a SQL based persistence layer. To summarize:
- scalibility
- performance
- stability
- simplicity
- functionality
- flexibility
- open source
- popularity
What do you dislike?
Though adopting MongoDB can provide tremendous advantages, switching to a schemaless paradigm also can have it's challenges. Keeping your data clean can become very difficult and shouldn't be underestimated. Secondly, not having any join functionality can make certain tasks very cumbersome. That's why I can't wait start using MongoDB 3.2 with Document Validation and $lookup.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
MongoDB allowed our engineering team to build a web application that horizontally scales with the business.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
- check mongodb constraints (mongodb has atomic updates but doesn't have the concept of transactions)
- understand that noSQL database design is different conmpared to relational design
- be comfortable with agile / iterative architecture principals
- adopting mongodb is a much more transformational process than just using a different database platform


    akhil v.

MongoDB Best No SQL Platform

  • December 10, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use database, schema less.
Light weight and less foot print.
World class free education at university.mongodb.com
Developer friendly, drivers are available in multiple programming languages.
Designed with DR and High Availability as focus
Big Data ready and Auto sharding
Most features run in Auto pilot mode needs very less user intervention.
The best customer feedback process with centralized bug reporting system like Jeera.
What do you dislike?
No out of box GUI tool to work with as of now with database objects or schemas.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Cost effective, Rapid deployements.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are tired of traditional relation databases with issues like scaling, performance and expensive proprietary hardware please opt for Mongodb doesn't take much time try it out and see the difference.