Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 8.1

EBES | CentOS 8.1

Linux/Unix, CentOS 8.1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

211 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Dan O.

The Gold Standard in Red Hat compatible Linux distributions

  • October 29, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's basically Red Hat Enterprise Edition, but without the support contract or the big license fee.
What do you dislike?
The lack of official help desk support from Red Hat. But when it comes to CentOS troubleshooting, Google is your friend.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This product allows me to deploy a large number of Linux systems globally without incurring a huge license fees. Unlike some Linux distributions, CentOS has a long support lifecycle. If you need security patches or new functionality in the future, you'll be able to easily install them.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take a look at the LTS versions of Ubuntu as well.


    Vivek K.

The use of centos for your Development Setup

  • October 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's clean , bug free and fast. It's easy to do your software development in this platform
What do you dislike?
The GUI is not that great. Can be made better for visual effects
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I develop software applications for our end customers. It's easy to deploy and maintain applications in centos
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do use centos for your Development purpose.


    Suvankar S.

Reviewing Centos

  • October 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Centos is one of the most useful operating system in the Linux family, it requires very fewer resources to run and offers the best redundancy and security of all.
What do you dislike?
as of now, there is nothing to dislike about centos.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am a Devops engineer in my current organization, we use to deploy multiple applications using centos.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
People who are in IT/Software must use centos, because of security as it has very less vulnerability issues and runs smoothly on any type of instance.


    Information Technology and Services

OS for server

  • October 27, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Contains required packages. just need to setup yum repo and install the updates
What do you dislike?
troubleshooting is bit difficult, as the logs are not consolidated
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is open source and hardening of system can be done with CIS


    IT A.

It is actually a very easy to use interface and command execution speed is really fast

  • October 21, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The speed of command execution is really quick even simple operations like copy paste are much quicker than windows.
What do you dislike?
A bit more user friendly interface would be appreciated since the graphical interface is a little tough to get used to.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Coding and application development are being done using centOS, benefits include time saving and also requires less effort.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend using this if you are looking for a light weight solution to windows operating systems, and also since this is a free to use version the help community on the several forums can always help out with any issues that you face, also most of the issues that you would face as a new user would have already been resolved on the forum earlier so it would be much easier to access any information that is available on these forums.
Also once you get used to the terminal for running commands it will easily show you how much faster and quicker your commands get executed.


    Anil K.

open source and easy to install and use

  • October 15, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
easy to use, maintain, frequent version upgrades and bug fixes.
What do you dislike?
packages repo support for the latest versions is not up to the mark.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
infrastructure automation and load balancing.
opensource and good community support
Recommendations to others considering the product:
highly recommended.


    Varun J.

Best version of RED HAT Folk

  • October 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- RED HAT
- I love and support RED HAT System
- Enterprise support
What do you dislike?
- UI and UX could be better
- App store like ubuntu
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Used as development and deployment OS


    Mahzad K.

My experience with CentOS

  • October 12, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is great distribution to use for any developer or anyone dealing with large amount of data and compute intensive tasks. It is secure and open source, so there will be no need to worry about the cost and license.
What do you dislike?
It was great to use but every time we wanted to update the kernel we used to struggle with NVIDIA driver or issues such as Cannot find root device after latest kernel upgrade.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used to use it on my workstation which was part of a network file system. All systems were using CentOS as their operating system. Big data research problems. Handling large files and distributed computing. I was running intensive Molecular dynamic simulations using Gromacs using this distribution.


    Bart W.

CentOs appliances

  • October 08, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like best that you can simply use CentOs to create smart software appliances.
In use with GUI it is a nice alternative to windows.
What do you dislike?
It is hard to learn and need high skill to configure.
Besides that you will need some programming skills if you use only the cli variant.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Creating an environment where users can upload content from outside the organization.
We use it mainly for our nutanix nodes, these are installed with Centos and on top off that it hosts a hypervisor
Recommendations to others considering the product:
try to find use cases what you really need and see if it fits on centos. IT is a light weight OS so you keep resources for the application


    Retail

Perfect OS with Security standards

  • September 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CentOS is the secure desktop operating system, which gives more applications compared with windows.
What do you dislike?
It's not user friendly as compared with windows.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are into CentOS desktop support based on the customer needs. The additional benefit with CentOS is we can connect the operating system with SSH module and fix the issue.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
CentOS is integrated with selinux and acl is additional options for advanced system administrator