Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Minimal Ubuntu 20.04 LTS - Focal

Canonical Group Limited | Minimal Ubuntu 20.04 20230208

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - Focal - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,237 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Marcos C.

An Overview of The Benefits and Drawbacks of Using Ubuntu

  • February 03, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Some benefits of using Ubuntu include its user-friendly interface, stability, open-source nature, and a large community of developers and users. It also has a large software repository and a strong focus on privacy and security.
What do you dislike about the product?
Certain proprietary software or hardware drivers are not always compatible with Ubuntu. Additionally, some users may find the frequent updates to the operating system and its default software to be disruptive to their workflow. Finally, some users may also find that the open-source alternatives to proprietary software do not always meet their needs or have the same level of polish as their commercial counterparts. However, these drawbacks are subjective and may vary depending on the user's needs and preferences.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Cost-effectiveness: Ubuntu is free to use as an open-source operating system, making it a cost-effective solution for businesses looking to reduce software expenses.

Security: Ubuntu strongly focuses on security and privacy, helping businesses protect sensitive data and ensure compliance with regulations.

Compatibility: Ubuntu supports a wide range of hardware, making it a versatile solution for businesses with diverse technology needs.

Productivity: With a user-friendly interface and a large software repository, Ubuntu can help businesses increase productivity by streamlining workflows and reducing downtime.

Support: Ubuntu has a large community of developers and users, providing businesses access to a wealth of resources and support options.


    GUSTAVO M.

Ubuntu Server Excelent for home

  • February 02, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Desktop Experience gnome 3 , more visual and more friendy , more stable , more support ,
What do you dislike about the product?
nothing i feel really good using ubuntu desktop gnome3
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Programing some stuff, termianl server, desing , recovery backup on windows , stability in networks , pentesting


    Manoj K.

Ubuntu : Review

  • February 01, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Being an open source and secured operating system it gives us and extensive idea on how the organisations should start implementing these platforms for more secured and being an edge cutting technology over the internet.
What do you dislike about the product?
Downside being not so popular and not extensively used operating system across the world. Letting the world practice ubuntu and makes our job easier.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
As far is it concerned over me it is prominently giving me the best approach to hover over different ethical hacking tools we use for different cyber attacks


    Ankit Kumar G.

Ubuntu is the best Operating system to use.

  • January 27, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Everything can be handled using the command. No UI which will change anytime. The big advantage of using power is that command will never change. Ubuntu is more secure than Windows OS.
What do you dislike about the product?
Learning the command of ubuntu the first time will be a little tricky. But once you know the order, we enjoy using the power, a little tricky for the window used to handle ubuntu the first time.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu is more secure than any other operating system, which is the main benefit of using ubuntu. No virus can attack the ubuntu laptop. ubuntu laptop is cheap compared to a window laptop.


    Ritik S.

The best operating system for a programmer or techie

  • January 21, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
There are the following things I like about Ubuntu.
1. Neet and clean interface.
2. Responsive command line tool.
3. Sudo command, compelling over admin privileges.
4. Processing power utilization.
5. Linux kernel, port utilization.
6. Cron jobs make things easy.
7. APT manager and SNAP managers are very helpful,
8. Live patch updates provide clean bug free experience.
9. Since linux is kernel, making minor tweaks are also helpful.
10. A free operating system.
What do you dislike about the product?
Following bullet points that I do not like while using ubuntu.
1. Running directX files support not available.
2. Vulcan driver support is also architecture based restricted.
3. One will have hard time playing windows games.
4. Small community over that counterparts.
5. Customization should have been little more flexible.
6. Finger print driver for HP laptops is not available.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu is helpful in many things.
1. Admin privileges are easy to use.
2. Faster performance.
3. Smooth command line interface over powershell.
4. Pre installed python and g++ drivers for newbie made environment feel friendly.
5. Provides more secure environment.
6. Root user for programmer is the biggest advantage.


    Naveen Kumar C.

Working in ubuntu is good for starters to run your work smoothly

  • January 17, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Data entry work is good

Studying the online course
What do you dislike about the product?
Limited access in people using this soft ware
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Trouble shootings is solve faster


    Ratiranjan N.

Ubuntu Review

  • January 17, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ubuntu has a feature that's called Yaru, i have used it and it gives a different look compared to other versions of Linux and the canonical provides a patched Linux kernel that we use it for defining our own operating system.
What do you dislike about the product?
The UI is not user friendly that takes some time to understand the things and some of the drivers are not available over the thing, so we have to go for paid drivers to make my device work.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu works really faster compared to other operating system like windows or other versions of Linux and it is kore secure so I don't have to worry about my credentials while using my credit card and all.


    Yan Naing M.

Ubuntu Review

  • January 17, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ubuntu provide the best features and user stratification. Very good GUI and stable performance.
What do you dislike about the product?
No support for new features and new games.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
printing services and better to serve the supporting in time.


    Aravind T.

Security and features at it's best

  • January 17, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It has the best security compared to other OS, damage by virus or attackers is less, it provides best patch updates.Its the best choice for anyone who want to move from windows or any GUI OS to linux OS.
What do you dislike about the product?
Nothing as of now, will update ones I come across
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
When I wanted to shift from windows which is a GUi to Linux servers and shell scripting, I have installed Ubuntu is in my system and started using it.Ubuntu has really helped me.


    Rutesh R.

A Comprehensive Review of Ubuntu: The Popular Linux Distribution

  • January 17, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Here are few things are I like and which makes this OS best in some scenerio's: -

1. Ubuntu is a stable and user-friendly Linux distribution.
2. t has a large community of developers and users, providing support and software development.
3. Ubuntu has a wide range of software available through its package repositories.
4. The OS follows a regular release schedule, with new versions every six months.
5. Ubuntu also offers an LTS (Long-term support) version every two years, which guarantees updates for five years.
What do you dislike about the product?
1. Ubuntu may have slight differences in behavior or configuration compared to other Linux distributions, which can cause issues when deploying software on multiple platforms.
2. Some developers may find that the packaging system in Ubuntu is not as flexible as other package managers, such as those found in Arch Linux or Gentoo.
3. Ubuntu's desktop environment, Unity, was replaced by GNOME in version 17.10. This change may have caused some inconvenience for developers that were used to the previous desktop environment.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
1. Compatibility issues: Ubuntu is designed to be compatible with a wide range of hardware, including desktop and laptop computers, servers, and virtualized environments. This compatibility can reduce the time and effort required to set up and maintain a computing environment.
2. Access to software: Ubuntu provides access to a wide range of software through its package repositories. This can make it easy for users to find and install the software they need, without manually building or configuring software from the source.
3. Support and community: Ubuntu is supported by many developers and users. This community provides support, documentation, and software development to help users make the most of their computing experience.