Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu 20.04 LTS - Focal

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu 20.04 20210223

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - Focal - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

871 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Justinus A.

Ubuntu is the first to mention about Linux distro choice

  • February 19, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu has been best at updating its packages and security updates, latest package versions where it helps many developers use recent libraries. Also its LTS version is a way to have stable updates and support for production servers. Upgrading LTS version to newest LTS is also a smooth process available by Ubuntu.
What do you dislike?
Frequent updates sometimes require restart where it may trouble monolith systems as production is always ongoing. Uptime records may not be high.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The availability of packages is the most benefit I get from Ubuntu, besides their latest versions of the packages. Many third party apps require latest versions of dependencies.


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Realtime Usage of Ubuntu Flavour

  • February 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The Ubuntu 18.04 version has very good security capabilities along with good features and up to date required packages for building required roles and customizing configurations and we can easily configure Ansible, Terraform, MongoDB, KairosDB, Cassandra DB etc with this flavour. I really like this version long term support version of Ubuntu 18.04
What do you dislike?
compatability with other flavours of linux like RHEL, CENTOS versions
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we can quickly establish an ssh session on running ubuntu operating system where we can configured almost all linux related softwares with this flavour
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is very good operating system


    Sagar W.

Best open source OS for System Programming

  • February 09, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's Open Source and Secure
Can be Customise as per your need
Best support available
Many discussion forums available
Easily portable to different HW platform
Footprint of OS is customisable as per your required functionality
What do you dislike?
Graphics Quality is not so good as windows
Frequent updates are rolled out
It's not best for Documentation like Microsoft Office in Windows
Accidental kernel file removal can lead to crash os
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy for software development
Easy for porting on different HW to use for specific functionality
Best for network programming.
Using as scheduler to start and stop script , functionality using crontab
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly recommended to software enthusiastic for software development
Less prune to virus attack


    Rohit K.

Best for developer

  • January 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Command line is the best as we have command on all basic
What do you dislike?
Every thing is best,but commands or error shown in startup
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am developer and ,use ubuntu for developing
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For Developer only


    Information Technology and Services

Ubuntu with secure and fast.

  • January 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
-It's speed and accessibility of so many.
-open source applications.
- file structure
- terminal
- easy update
What do you dislike?
- dont find some windows alternate softwares.
- for beginner user interface looks unfamiliar.
- some software hard to install.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- license is not required.
- great community support.
- LTS support.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend to use Ubuntu for normal users as well as developers.
It has so many open source applications.
It is fast and better memory management.
It is secure. Virus free


    Akash C.

Best Open source OS

  • January 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best part is everything can be done by using command:)
What do you dislike?
Sometime Sound related driver problems and Wifi drivers problem
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am user of this OS. I used it for everything. I love it and Cool feature should be added like good GUI and better File search etc


    Information Technology and Services

Best Operating system for development

  • January 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Device battery will be long lasting using Ubuntu.
What do you dislike?
The disliked feature of Ubuntu is that it corrupt automatically without notification
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Problem of making application website as a developer is easily done by usi g ununtu
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Highly recommended others to use Ubuntu as a operating system


    Milad N.

Best Linux distribution for everyday use

  • January 27, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
There are a lot of application which can be easily install on Ubuntu from binaries and you don't need to go through the pain of compiling a source code from zero.
What do you dislike?
Still I wish ubuntu had a better drivers for graphic cards specially for Nvidia in laptops.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu is my choice for the OS for my normal every day work, and the main benefit is that I can install many softwares easily it support many different hardware. The default version comes with most of the drivers therefore I don't need to search around and fix driver issues.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to install a linux on your work or personal computer, the best choice is Ubuntu unless you are an expert.


    Commercial Real Estate

Easy to use and docker containers will be familiar with this os.

  • January 27, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Commands which i like in Ubuntu is apt get.
What do you dislike?
Security point of view this os is not used widely
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
While installing docker faced issues with other os. This helped alot.


    Nilesh Kumar P.

My mesmerising 3+ months with Ubuntu

  • January 27, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
There can be a lot of things to love in Ubuntu:

1. The startup/load time is very minimal
2. Its mesmerising soothing looks
3. Being made on Linux architecture we can't deny its security.
4. UI is perfect combination for both new as well as advanced users.
5. Support for lot of daily used applications.
6. Works smoothly even with less resource.
7. Latest graphics driver support is a true blessing.
What do you dislike?
There not much one can dislike about Ubuntu as with time Ubuntu has developed and lot and has become very user friendly. Some improvement I would like to have are:

1. Official support for some common Windows applications like Microsoft office, Adobe Products.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Moving to Ubuntu was a decision I would never regret because it solved lot of issues I was facing with windows 10. Ubuntu solved my issues like slow internet, fast boot time , frequent hanging.

I noticed instant benifits, I no longer had to wait for 10 min to startup my system, there is already support for lot of common application so it was easier to adapt with.