Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Veeam Backup for Microsoft 365

Veeam Software | 6.0.0.385

Windows, Windows Server 2019 Base 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

68 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Robert J.

Don't think you need to backup your Office 365 mailboxes, think again!

  • January 08, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of use and robust functionality of Backup for Office 365, makes protecting all of competent platforms simple. All post office users, SharePoint and especially OneDrive files are protected from accidental or intentional deletion by the end user or an Administrator. In the unfortunate event that something deleted, restoring an individual file or an entire mailbox is accomplished with minimal interaction. You can apply search filters during the restore process which utilizes the standard nomenclature everyone is familiar with. And finally, you can restore as individual MSG files or in a PST file.
What do you dislike?
Seriously, since Cloud repository was added I do not have a single gripe about the application.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Protecting Legal Hold contractual information outside of Microsoft's seriously deficient eDiscovery functionality has been a God send.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Know that you can utilize exiting Veeam backup and replication infrastructure to do double-duty if necessary.


    Paul H.

Good product that still needs some work

  • January 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The setup was very easy. The product works well on a regular basis the only time I have really had an issue was after an upgrade. Restores are very simple to do and have worked each month that we have tested them. Veeam support is always good each time that I have had to contact them, which fortunately has not had to be very often.
What do you dislike?
Even through you set a retention policy, for example 1 year, it still keeps a full year of data until the year is up. For example, it will not clean up the 2018 data until 1/1/20 so you have 2 years of data even though you have a 1 year retention policy. This could be an issue for compliance. The upgrades have gotten better but still have a few issues after every time I do. Each time I have done an upgrade was because support said that they upgrade will fix an issue that I have had and after the upgrade I had to go back to them to fix an issue that I have had. The last one wasn't too bad to do so the process is improving.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We were relying on MS backups, which are really just replication so we didn't have any long term retention of our O365 data. That hole is now fixed. When I have had to do a restore it was very simple and accomplished quickly. You have the option to restore to the mailbox or to download to a .pst which is a nice option.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
We are an SMB and it works well in our environment.


    Oil & Energy

Great Backup Solution for O365

  • January 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The speed of backup, and easy restore process
What do you dislike?
The fact that there is no mobile app for Veeam to access it from anywhere
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We now have backups and retention policies for O365 mailboxes, something we don't get (unless you pay more) from Microsoft themselves
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend Veeam for Office 365 backup. This ensures at a affordable price, that your mailboxes are backed up and your retention polices are meet


    Hernán P.

Una excelente herramienta para Office 365

  • January 07, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
One of the best features offered by the product is to have Office 365 backups personalized and programmed by us. Many people believe that having data in the cloud makes them safe, but it's not quite like that. While the data is hosted by Microsoft, we remain responsible for the integrity and backup of the information. I think it is a missing product and it is very useful.
What do you dislike?
Few things I have to say against, since the product has great functionality, but I think you could continue adding features such as Teams conversations backup for example.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The biggest problem that is solved with Veeam for Office 365 is to have reliable backup copies of the information that is stored in OneDrive and Sharepoint, in addition to email accounts. In our case, for example, we backup our corporate Intranet based on Sharepoint using the tool and we know that we are protected before any problem that may arise in the infrastructure.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
One recommendation I would give would be to take seriously the backups of our information stored in cloud providers. It is a common mistake to think that our data is protected but the agreed policies that we accept when using these services clearly indicate that they are not responsible for our information. It is within the good practices to make backup copies of the ebn cloud information and even more so of Office 365, since the information we store grows every day and we must be protected.


    Friedrich M.

Data hosting in the cloud

  • December 03, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Using this technology in the cloud we get many benefits for my company. Among the main advantages are scalability, since these services allow us to contract space as we need it. In addition, it is easier to maintain the integrity of the copy in these external services, which in turn make their own backups. They are mounted on large servers with large storage systems designed to never stop due to a failure on one or more hard drives. Keeping it in a data center will give us a redundancy in case of failures that our company would be expensive to maintain if it had to be done on its own. We also have a copy outside the company, which we can use as a last resort for disaster prevention, such as a fire, for example; and we can recover it from anywhere in the world and at any time. This backup in the cloud is responsible for making a copy that is usually total, of the data periodically, either weekly, monthly or yearly. It also depends a little on the amount of data that is updated in our company.
What do you dislike?
The biggest drawback of backup services in the cloud today is that they need an Internet connection with a good upload speed. This is more important as the backup takes up more gigabytes. Otherwise the execution time of the copy may be too long, since it depends not only on the server's ability to copy, but also on the line to transfer the data. Although our company already has its own backup infrastructure, the cloud backup should be used to keep the data outside our company and thus be prepared to deal with disasters. As always said, prevention is better than cure.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Great. I use it on all my computers to backup them, it is simple, reliable and very intuitive. One of the things that I like and that other programs of this type do not have is that it allows you not to compress the backups. Apparently it may seem silly, but a compressed file that has a damaged bit is unreadable and the copy cannot be restored. As it is, my data is safeguarded and I prefer without compression so I assure you more.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a solution for managing and storing backups in the cloud that allows not only to generate the backup but also keep it updated thanks to its constant synchronization with the device, in this way I can not worry about maintenance and if something happens to always have the latest version of my data.


    Cameron B.

Security and speed of data hosting.

  • November 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?

It has a user interface with many easily identifiable options.
Cost savings by not needing to invest in any type of hardware or support to perform and store data.
I have the data always available, I always make custom backups.
I only use the space I need and can expand or decrease the cloud storage capacity according to my needs.
I have immediate access with only one internet connection, I can access or restore my data on our device at any time.
What do you dislike?
Security is one of the most complicated inconveniences to control since we depend on a third party that has to guarantee our data.
Backup updates take a long time to complete taking into account that large amounts of data have to be stored.
Another aspect to improve is the access from the mobile device since it does not allow all the options of the application.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It has helped us to have a work tool that has allowed us to migrate the most important data of the company on a recurring basis. We have under control and fully accessible backup copies of each user and of each department and business area. Each user has an account where they can access with some restrictions and be able to save their daily work to avoid losing company information.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Large amount of data for efficient cloud storage. Recurring backups for companies that want to reduce hardware costs and with the confidence of a large company with great experience.


    Chris W.

Veeam O365 Backup Review

  • November 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of set up is nice, but the biggest thing that I appreciate is how simple yet powerful the reporting is. I've dealt with some backup solutions that would report the job being a success if any portion of it fails. Veeam is the opposite. If any portion of the job fails it reports the entire job as having failed. This calls attention to the errors.
What do you dislike?
The licensing model can be fairly confusing to figure out pricing. Also the licensing consumption can be a bit confusing as well.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Developing a simple backup solution that has a powerful feature set yet isn't overly confusing to work with or requires a significant learning curve. This can be a big problem in an emergency situation.


    Admin L.

Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 - best tool for backup

  • October 14, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 is so far the best tool to backup all your mailboxes in O365.
It's very easy to deploy, it took less than a day to have all our 26 mailboxes backup in our cloud server.
The restore option is so easy that even a person without IT knowledge could do that.
What do you dislike?
It was difficult to find the option to add an additional mailbox to the current list of users already on backup.
For the rest, we did not find any problems. All works perfectly.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Before using Veeam Backup for Microsoft Office 365 we did not have a real backup for our mailboxes. Now the problem is solved.