Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

KNIME Server Large BYOL for AWS

KNIME | 4.12.2

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

37 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Pranamesh C.

Nice GUI based data analytics platform

  • July 13, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing of Knime is it is open source and simple GUI based platform which makes it very easy to learn and implement.
What do you dislike?
Although the GUI feature makes it very easy to implement simple models, however on the downside it is hard to build complicated models sometimes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We used Knime for real-time analysis of traffic data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good to test out first if it helps for your task. It is easy to implement the initial models,


    Computer Software

Knime is a very useful tool for data processing

  • June 23, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Scalability through sophisticated data handling (intelligent automatic caching of data in the background while maximizing throughput performance)
Highly and easily extensible via a well-defined API for plugin extensions
Intuitive user interface
Import/export of workflows (for exchanging with other KNIME users Parallel execution on multi-core systems
What do you dislike?
I don't dislike it it's really great as it provides features listed above.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Machine learning and data analytics .


    Research

Data mining made easy

  • April 24, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The data mining options, in particular the features for analysis using clustering (k-medoids, k-means, hierarchical, etc.) are extremely handy. They remove a lot of middle-man coding!
What do you dislike?
I would appreciate more visualization and exporting capabilities. For instance, the ability to easily visualize the clusters produced with k-medoids, with medoids labeled.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have used KNIME to perform unsupervised learning on large time series data. I saved a lot of time by not having to create my own code for clustering techniques. The information on clusters+medoids exported by KNIME was easy to understand.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure to explore all of the features in the node repository and use the search bar. There is a lot of functionality in KNIME!


    Prashanth p.

Knime software

  • March 24, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Knime is used for data cleaning, data manipulation and predictive modeling. We do have a lot of softwares for playing around data but everything comes with a price except knime. So, it’s a free platform to manage the data.
What do you dislike?
The only thing that I don’t like in knime software is its interface, it’s kind of old.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I generally do all stuff related to data cleaning, data manipulation and building predictive models.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I think they should implement more features in data reduction


    Bob M.

Powerful & Easy to Use Predictive Analytics / Data Mining

  • March 09, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
KNIME offers a delightful blend of power and ease-of-use. It uses a workflow (flowchart) interface. It offers you a collection of icons that represent steps in your analysis. You position each icon in a diagram and connect them with arrows that represent the flow of data or models from step to step. Double-clicking on an icon will open a dialog box allowing you to set the parameters of how that step should run.

You can document the workflow by clearly labeling each step, and by color coding entire sections of the diagram. As a result, you can look at another person's analysis and quickly get the big picture of what was done. If a diagram gets too complex, you can select a whole section of it and collapse it into a "metanode" so that one icon then represents all the steps. It's also easy to rerun an analysis on new data by simply changing the node(s) that read in data. Note that KNIME does not have a scripting language, nor does it need one.

I particularly like the company's view of open source software. The full desktop version of KNIME is free and open source, regardless of how much data you have. Its closest competitor price-wise is RapidMiner, which is free only if you have fewer than 10,000 cases. KNIME also offers excellent integration with a wide range of other open source software such as: Python, R, Spark, and even ImageJ for image analysis.

The server version of KNIME has a commercial license, i.e. not free. The company also sells software to let work groups share node libraries. For example, if I develop a new node in, say, R, and email it to everyone, then when I improve it, I'll have to email it again. Everyone using it would have to edit their work flows, but at least that's a free solution. However, if we purchase the collaboration extensions, I would make a change to the shared node, and everyone's work would be updated automatically. I appreciate having so much control over what to spend on a KNIME solution.
What do you dislike?
For data mining or machine learning tasks, it's quite comprehensive, very similar to what RapidMiner, SAS Enterprise Miner, or SPSS Modeler can do. However, compared to a full statistics package such as R, SAS, SPSS, or Stata, it's lacking quite a few statistical methods.

You would have to lean on R or Python if you need statistical analysis rather than data mining. Each new version of KNIME adds more statistics, but it looks like it will be quite a while before they can offer full statistical capabilities. Unfortunately, no one tool offers comprehensive data mining, statistical modeling, and ease-of-use. In the ratings section, I'm giving it full marks as a data mining / machine learning tool.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
You can use KNIME to solve most any data mining or machine learning problem.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure it has all the methods of analysis you need. If you're into data mining or machine learning, it's probably sufficient. If you're looking for advanced stat methods such as mixed effects linear models, you'll need to run that through an R node.


    Market Research

Quality of data

  • January 11, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
graphical workbench help you create data preparation workflows, data analysis workflows, and machine learning workflows. Very functional in creating multitude of Nodes , DataFlow maximized the data processing capabilities
What do you dislike?
time to get accustomed with this platform; not always easy to use
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
speeds up the workflow process, helps with the large data and their effective computing
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Would recommend


    Computer & Network Security

More features then you an imagine.

  • January 10, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Used best for sorting and finding items.
What do you dislike?
Tends to need a faster computer to run.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Best benefit is expandability.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Needs to update GUI


    Shannon C.

KNIME MIME

  • January 08, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that it allows me to create data flows visually and very selectively run steps to throughout interactive models.
What do you dislike?
Knime doesn’t really have to much of a background knowledge on how to use it so it can be very tricky at first
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using knime with java script to run interactive models in a team setting
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Very tricky to use without looking it up


    Chang-I W.

Tools for data science analyis

  • January 06, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It has a simple interface and not hard to learn it with very clear block diagram design for each block By the way, it's easy to debug and has very direct set for each block. You can also set up for the block diagram the way you like and rearrange it anytime you want.
What do you dislike?
hard to import new function if want to add a new block. and it will become very slow when the database coming over 10 thousand
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
data science and data analysis. can use the different algorithm to calculate and predicted the result from the database.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
it's easy to learn and have lots powerful toolkit in it. very recommend


    ALI S.

KNIME PLATFORM REVIEW

  • December 31, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
In Knime, each node stores its results permanently and thus work flow execution can easily be stopped at any node and resumed later on.
What do you dislike?
Even though the knime software is very promising and really helps us with alot of things and we love it but the preliminary results are not available quickly if the real pipeling were used.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
knime is a data analytics platform and it allows to perform sophisticated statistics and data mining on your data to analyze trends and predict potential results
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For our company, purchasing knime was a very positive decision. We love the product and the results it gives. For people who are considering purchasing it, i would highly recommend to go for it.