Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) 8

ProComputers.com | RHEL-8.2-20200502-10GiB

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8.2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

225 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Manikanta Sai K.

Linix is a unique and secured operating system. UI is different from Windows buy will enjoy working

  • September 24, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1.Easy to use
2. Most popular and every one make sure that their application runs on. linux
What do you dislike?
1. Commands will be little tricky but will enjoy once we habituate to it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have been using Lunix as major operating system in our environment. This is the best operating system fro SAP and storage applications. Frequent updates and bug fixes are really helpful for operations


    Information Technology and Services

The best and reliable OS you can find in the market on an enterprise level

  • September 24, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Everything in RHEL is the best, its awesome
What do you dislike?
Its difficult to point anything bad on RHEL
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Everything, being an Linux Administrator RHEL is my bread and butter I must say. There are many advantages of RHEL but the most of which will be the simple CLI commands and also the relation with each releases they make. Also another big thing about RHEL will be its Support and the new toold tools that they are launching in the market. Openshift from redHat is an excellent tool when it comes to application deployments and also the fact that Redhat has Ansible bundled in it really aids the life of SysAdmins like me and i am sure a lot others who are in the same filed as mine! As always RedHat always lives upto your expectations and never really disappoints!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking out for any Linux based OS, please feel free and go out for Redhat. It has so many things to offer at such a small asking. I mean the OS is free but the support is under licensing. And the Redhat support works like a charm. I have been continuously raising support cases with Redhat and the resolution offered by them seems decent and much better than other companies with the same products. Also, like said earlier, the Ansible automation platform offered by Redhat is worth mentioning along with the Openshift tool for app deployments at a very ease of access


    Vismay C.

The best and secure linux server

  • September 22, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
RHEL is our primary operating systems that we implement in data centor for our organization. We generally use it for our database server and data server.
We reffer our customer to install Linux operating system host their application securely and safe protection. The server performance is getting well and no any abnormal high CPU and RAM utilization.When users prefer RHEL, it is typically the first or only Linux distribution that is compatible.
Linux distribution is supported by Red Hat for enterprise customers. RHEL is a solid server for some essential network services, such as NFS, DNS, SMTP, Apache, Tomcat, etc., in addition to running third-party applications
What do you dislike?
Little bit har to upgrade the major versions.
Some hardaware compatibility with the server.
Cost is high for some licence.
Upgration quite tricky and we have to well prepare before dooing the activity
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Main improvements is server response and it's performance that i have never got in other operating system.
The bar gaining in terms of security and given the security in each and every section of the operating system.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
We are extremely waiting for RHEL8 .


    Computer Software

Secure, UserFriendly, Consume less system resource, Good throughput .

  • September 21, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Opensource,Fast , Good Security,Easy,compaitable with almost all applications.
What do you dislike?
In my opinion their is no dislike of Redhat.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Use following to help my company i.e. Apache, BashScripting,Docker,Selinux,ACL,IPTables,Samba,NFS. Also helpful when use Docker in linux OS. Redhat is consuming less system resource resulting better application performance.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
As an Server / system Admin if you have interest on CLI then differently Redhat is solving your problem. If you are a GUI Lover then it is challenging to you work in redhat. But it completely depends upon your interest. For me i would strongly suggest to everyone move to redhat .


    Daniel Q.

The operating system

  • September 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a multiplatform product, it has adequate support, it supports several critical level applications, it is a good option for the deployment of any application.
It is supported on various virtual and hardware platforms.
What do you dislike?
The cost of the product, and the complexity of implementing control tools, it is necessary to have advanced knowledge to carry out a correct deployment of some fairly complex application.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Server deployment and control for the distribution of security patches.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider other alternatives to the Linux distribution, since there are others on the market that provide better service at the level of support and product.


    Alternative Medicine

Get hold of everything and customise as you like

  • September 10, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We can customise almost anything and tune the system according to our likes.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing to dislike as such. It is perfect for system administration and running softwares.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
RHEL serves as great for custom software deployment and tuning of databases according to need.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is great operating system considering you want to take control of what's happening at system level.


    Telecommunications

Short review of Redhat Enterprise Linux

  • September 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Rhel is a pretty secure OS. It meets my needs for hosting almost any applications. Very stable and fast. Hardly crashes unlike windows systems .
What do you dislike?
You got be able to understand Linux else it would be hard. And also rhel is currently not free like centos.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using rhel is great for databases, web hostings. Very stable and hardly and crashes.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want good stable os, choose redhat


    Kiril C.

RPM distributive for running your business stable and sustainable

  • September 08, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
rpm based distributive.
Open source
Distributive developed for the commercial clients.
RHEL server version support x86-64 architecture.
RHEL subscription is available for free on development purposes
Has academic and student additions for desktop and workstation machines.
What do you dislike?
1 year RHEL subscription is not cheep.
You can get latest security pathing update only if you have the subscription enabled.
If you don't have active subscription you also can not upgrade to lates distributive version.
If you don't have active subscription you can not use RHEL forum and portal.
All based and linked on a subscription.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
server farm for database and mailflow solution..
Using for virtual machine on vmware hypervisor.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to discover and try red hat world.
RHEL8 is a good item to start your journey


    Lovdeep P.

safe and secure

  • September 06, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to access. Open Source. we can install our own packets
What do you dislike?
it's more difficult to find applications to support your needs
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were solving user issue. Mainly Issue related on the apps we are using.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ease and secure system for business applications


    Higher Education

RHEL is still an industry standard, but there are other compelling options to consider.

  • August 07, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Red Hat offers great support and their education and certificate options are second to none. The company has a rich history and thus far it appears as though IBM is going to allow them to continue without meddling. It appears that their entry into containerization is well thought out. I also liked the length of time they support their releases -- this is important if you don't need to kep on the bleeding edge of distributions and value stability over feature set. In this way you don't sacrifice security.
What do you dislike?
We found that we were having to compile too much software that we could get pre-packaged using a debian/Ubuntu distribution. Support, while very good, did cost more than from Canonical. Automated patching was not easy or straightforward for us without significant work and customization. There are some specialized packages, especially dealing with image and pdf conversions, which are much easier to install and keep up to date on debain based operating systems. We found that this ease of updating was more important to us in many cases than the other benefits Red Hat provides.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have platforms which require a unix-like operating system to run. Red Hat provided that for us. We have not yet made the pivot to containerized workloads, however. Uptimes for our Red hat servers were much better on the whole than for those servers we ran on Windows. Where possible we opted to go with Linux based operating systems rather than Windows, for both cost and stability reasons.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider looking at containerization if it fits your use case. Look at specific packages you require and determine their availability on multiple platforms if you are not able to containerize. Support costs should be considered as well, of course.