Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) 8 with support by ProComputers

ProComputers.com | RHEL-8.5-Minimal-20211112-10GiB

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8.5 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

315 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Telecommunications

A great Linux OS with great Enterprise Level Support

  • July 04, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love the enterprise class OS that we can rely on to be properly supported and maintained year over year. The wide range of support for software and packages is a real win for this platform.
What do you dislike?
The cost of support and the licensing requirement is frustrating and can be expensive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Running enterprise class server solutions reliably and with appropriate support for maintaining tight SLAs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
RedHat Enterprise Linux is great, however if you don't require the support you can always use an alternative distro such as CentOS or Scientific Linux!


    Public Policy

The best Enterprise linux

  • July 03, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Good Support, Huge knowledge base. Easy Licensing application. Stability
What do you dislike?
Cannot upgrade from a major version to next major version.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Unified linux version for our servers, Hardware of our suppliers supported.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Red Hat Enterprise Linux is the right choice if you want a enterprise Linux.


    Information Technology and Services

RHEL, The OS for real computer users

  • March 28, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to control every little aspect of administration
What do you dislike?
the stock console color scheme that is set by RHEL, id rather see text on a white backgound. When things are blue its terrible
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use RHEL for all of our servers, it provides much better stability and patch management than windows
Recommendations to others considering the product:
good admins that know what they are doing


    Matt C.

Assistant Network Administrator

  • March 16, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The support for the Operating Systems and how customizible they are. We are taking full advantage of the free open source operating systems when funds are limited.
What do you dislike?
Relying on a community of helpful people for support is a different mindset compared to using Windows Server or Mac OSX where there is a corporation to call for support.

Note: The community is always incredibly helpful!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We run our network registration server on CentOS and one of our survey servers on another distribution of CentOS. The setup was incredibly easy and maintenance is relatively simple.


    Information Technology and Services

Ubuntu

  • February 23, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of installation and how it uses only minimal space.
What do you dislike?
The office tools are not as elaborate as competition
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I needed a legit solution which does not increase the cost of my additional resources. By using RH, I have achieved my plan of production effectively.


    Gordon M.

Stable, Secure, Supported, and Free

  • February 04, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Red Hat contributes significant engineering resources to the core projects in the GNU/Linux ecosystem. They're highly committed to Free Software. All of their code is available under licenses that make it useful, including products they acquire.
What do you dislike?
There's really nothing I dislike about Red Hat Enterprise Linux. It's as close to ideal as I can imagine.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
All of our core infrastructure runs on top of RHEL. Red Hat's policies and practices give us a very stable foundation for our operations.


    Management Consulting

RHEL Basic end user review

  • January 27, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I Work with this device somewhat indirectly as the application I manage is hosted on a Linux server. I like the ability to be able to configure some items via GUI and CLI. It's just a preferred method that myself and other colleagues are more familiar with.
What do you dislike?
Nothing that I can think of, I work with these devices indirectly and they seem to be more reliable than if I was using a windows device.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are able to utilize the Linux servers in a universal forwarder configuration across our network.


    Rudy Z.

Gold industry standard! Highly recommend RHEL to all who are looking for support and stability!

  • January 17, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
RHEL is the industry standard in linux distribution. The distribution itself has been around for a long time and has a large user base, which means theres a wealth of technical knowledge in every aspect of life cycle management. The distribution is also very stable and constantly maintained and updated at a regular basis. Red Hat offers excellent support, fantastic documentation, and excellent training.
What do you dislike?
I like almost every aspect of RHEL based on my experience with them. The only setback with enterprise distribution is that one has to realize that RHEL is built with stability in mind, so you wont get the most cutting edge updates compared to other Linux distributions. However, this is not a disadvantage as this issue is the industry norm.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our business relies on RHEL servers to host our critical web infrastructure and enterprise applications involved in transactional processing, data warehousing and ETL. We are a high volume business so having a stable 24/7/365 infrastructure is absolutely critical to our company's mission. By using RHEL, we are confident that our servers are constantly updated, supported, and we can always obtain support from RHEL experts in a very timely matter when needed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Keep up the good work! Ive been following Red Hat for a while now and absolutely approves of the direction they are taking! Some more push to RHEL certification would be great!


    Kashif I.

RHEL OS

  • January 16, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Red Hat Enterprise Limited Operating system is a free/Open source Project OS available in market with some libraries customization and full support from RedHat after subscription .

Easy to use CLI
Yum repository for various upgrade/update and installation.

Linux OS is best for networking and Real Time system .

Full Support from RedHat after subscription.
What do you dislike?
Because it is a open source , there are many communioties/projects available online if any bug/error/issue reported it will be notified and patch can be applied to the system . As of now nothing to be disliked.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Troubleshooting in real time system and Networking system . Using in telecom industry .
Recommendations to others considering the product:
As per recommendation RHEL is very good OS to make a server dealing with Real time system as well as networking system.


    Alfred T.

Trusted and Secure Enterprise Linux Platform

  • January 10, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Stability and most applications designed for Linux support this distribution. Security is also of utmost importance. We can rely on redhat fixing all security related issues reported by our vulnerability assessment.

Redhat supports a wide array of hardware. We can always find drivers that support redhat.
What do you dislike?
Often lags behind competitors in terms of release of new features. Though stability and security is forefront.

Docker and containerization is becoming popular so Redhat should look into getting this into this area.

I think pricing is always going to be a dislike factor as Redhat is expected to compete with many free distributions. That being said, we value the effort they are required to put in to provide stable and continual advancement to the Redhat community.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We can always trust Redhat to deliver a secure and stable platform. We can always hire people with Redhat knowledge as well as find administrators with Redhat certifications and provide our employees with training.

Redhat is supported by most enterprise management tools such as puppet and ansible.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Redhat is stable and secure platform. You can rely on them to release security fixes timely which is critical for a secure enterprise environment.

Definately hire folks who have the RHCE certification as they are put through a a tough hands on exam unlike many vendors that test inviduals based on paper knowledge. You are guaranteed to get an individual of high caliber and ability.