Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

GitLab Enterprise Ready by Linnovate 18.04

Linnovate ltd | 2.0.0

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

294 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Peter K.

Good for small companies and hobby developers

  • February 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the full functionality which is available even for the free plan. Besides the must have code hosting support, you can configure runners and build jobs. Register your own server to build and deploy your product, so for hobby developers and small companies it is the universal solution for the first years.
What do you dislike?
The website for mobile is not optimised at all, so if you get the notification that your build failed, it is hard to check the result from your mobile. It also has a tricky login button location from mobile, so that part what they could put focus on.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are hosting our entire code base on GitLab and also using the CI/CD for building and deploying the application.


    Sujay K.

Best Code Collaboration Platform For Software Engineering Teams

  • February 19, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
GitLab has all the necessary tools helped us manage our software development and deployment processes. Easy to use interface with GUI and Git capabilities, support for CI-CD tools, branches, and runners. Software development is easier as multiple teams can collaborate easily by right permissions and security for private repositories. All the code changes and quality can be easily checked with the correct integrations. Overall a great tool for small to big working software teams to help ship and release the software's easily.
What do you dislike?
The things to dislike would be the fact that Gitlab's pipelines processses are bit slow, after deployment changes are reflected after 10mins, it can be be speed up. Also there is a critical problem when it comes to rebasing and non-mergable commits, sometimes cherrypicking and merging several MR's is a nightmare when someone had to deal with a large repo with multiple teams working at the same time, this process can be improved with some intelligent solutions. Overall othewise, I would say the Gitlabs team works hard to document and give updates.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Gitlab for all our software repositories for our company. Different teams working at different modules and microservices utilize Gitlab to collaborate, test, maintain and deploy easily. Gitlab has helped in easy management of repos, permissions, containerization of applications and improvise our overall Devops cycle. That giving said we have saved a lot of time and improved software development processes. A centralized place for all our development and devops team has made our products ship and scale faster.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for a complete open source culture for Devops or Orchestration for your Software Engineering Teams, GitLab is a good choice for small to enterprise requirements. As you can easily manage permissions, repo access and setup end-to-end development to deployment processes with GitLab, its easier than ever to deal with code quality and delivery. It has all the integrations and documentations required to enable your team to have quality discussions over the engineering and Devops processes under one roof. So Highly recommended.


    Amrish K.

One place solution for all of Enterprise code management needs

  • January 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
GitLab has all code management related features at one place. Apart from repository maintenance and the version control system, it provides

* Extensive CI/CD support (GitLab Runners)
* Issues management through Boards, storing and sharing code snippets.
* It has made code/repo access control across teams and members much easier.

The best part is that all these features are available at a single place and are intuitively accessible. This eliminated context switches between multiple products for issues, CI/CD, docs by providing all of them under one hood.
What do you dislike?
GitLab doesn't have a follow user/member support, this makes it difficult to see a particular user's activity in the activity feed. Although it supports the general repository starring, which allows you to track a repo's activity.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use GitLab for maintaining repositories, CI/CD pipelines, managing issues, configuring access control for my team and group repositories

* GitLab Boards has made code issues management 2x easier, it eliminates the need to switch between multiple products.
* Groups and repos for groups provides granular member access control when compared to other alternatives
* Maintaining & sharing code snippets at group, repo level has rendered effective to seamlessly share code among team members


    Balaji K.

Very useful and best in its king

  • January 16, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
its branching feature, compatibility, opensource, speed, secure
What do you dislike?
it will take some time to get flow into it, sometimes reverting the commit is tedious, commands are little bit tough to remember
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I work in a concurrent software development team, we use git in parallel code management. we also maintain task, bug in git


    Terri C.

The best frontend for managing internal repositories

  • January 13, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
When a project is employee-only it is just best to have it behind a system that only allows access by single sign-on and separate from the main public repository until it is ready to become live or discarded. This means no accidental pushes to the wrong remote branch or mistakenly making it public since it works in a completely different system.
What do you dislike?
Some projects that eventually get canned are actually very good but since its outside of the public eye they just get forgotten and no chance that someone else takes over them and if you are planning to go job hunting since the commits are private that means that no exposure to potential employers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is our internal tool for managing git projects before they go to GitHub
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The public version of Gitlab is not bad, but there are better options, but the actual system can be mounted separately and work as a private repository for repositories, and that it is actually great in an enterprise.


    Kathleen K.

A great tool for private and public repositories

  • January 08, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
For open source it's my second favorite tool after Github, for code in an enterprise it's my favorite tool, for anything that is not highly confidential it's the best tool since it can be easily hosted inside an organization and shared companywide without fear of sharing things that should not be shared or worrying about the platform being hacked by an outside attacker.
What do you dislike?
It is a really nice tool for anything that isn't too important, but for code that is critical for product functionality and protected as a trade secret is not an option, it is flexible and very useful with many features, and a system with a lot of features is harder to fully secure. It is a tradeoff I would love to use this for all our internal code, but the possibility of an internal attacker increases with a tool as open and feature rich as GitLab.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
All my company code that is not highly confidential goes into GitLab.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Keep your GitLab implementation besides a company intranet and you'll fend against 90% of the attackers.


    18UCS048_ABHIRAJ K.

Best DevOps Platform for managing Project Repositories

  • January 07, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing that I like about GitLab is that it is open source. Moreover it offer unlimited private repositories without limitation of contributors, when compared to GitHub. GitHub offers only 3 contributors to private repositories. It also supports continuous integration, delivery and integration with Jira. It also supports import using Git. It also supports different programming languages.
What do you dislike?
The one thing that I hates most about the GitLab is it's UI. It may be attractive for many of you guys, but I love the GitHub interface rather than GitLab interface.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It helped me to keep a centralized repository for my projects. It also helped me and my friends to work on the same project from different places. Since it is open source, I believe it more than anything. GitLab helped me to organize all my projects in a proper manner.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
From my point of view, if your organization is looking for a place where all the repositories can be organized without having any doubt regarding the platform, then you should opt for GitLab. Since it is an open source platform, we can trust it more than anything.


    Yukti A.

Good for code repository

  • November 23, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Relatively similar to multiple other code repository hosting websites. Many of the same features of being able to have multiple repositories and create merge requests. Relatively easy to comment on code and create threats in order to make discussions. Is also pretty easy to set up a number of continuous integration and continuous deployment. New features are regularly being added which helps make things easier. We have multiple repositories set up and are able to deploy automatically to our staging environment. We also have a number of tests that are run to ensure that merging into the master of a fully successful and this updates every time there are new merges into master. It also has dark view readily available which is a relief.
What do you dislike?
It is not the easiest tool to use for stacked differentials. There are some benefits to arc where merge request A depends on merge request B which is supposed to merge into master. However in kettle have it tends to be better to have people review commit by commit or wait until the first merge request is merged before putting the next one up for review otherwise you're stuck doing a lot of git rebase master or git rebase hard and cherry pick.
It is very annoying when you want to make a comment referring to multiple lines of code and you have to insert the line numbers manually.
It is also very annoying that you often have to look side by side rather than in line otherwise it gets difficult to read.However the problem with that is you end up needing a widescreen monitor.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were looking for a place to store our code as well as half pipe lines set up to deploy some of that code. We needed a place to do code review. It is nice to hit the merge when everything is complete button after you have reviewed even if all of the unit tests have not finished building yet. We are starting to implement teams so that not everyone gets notified when they need to review.


    Ahmed K.

One of the best existing tool to manage projects

  • November 18, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Gitlab is really a full automated service covering all the stages of theproject life cycle It helps you increase your productivity , with unlimited repository and good visbility and track of your overall Projects.

I find the interface super easy to use , and the tutorial is pretty complete. The biggest advantage of Gitlab is the community behind that is always willing to assist you .

Integrating the CI/CD part is really helpful to manage different pipelines and the Merge requests are super easy to use in the platform.

Tracking conflicts and resolving them is also . Submiting tickets , creating issues , assigning them and set deadlines.

In general between Securtiy , Subversion , code management and DevOps Tools , I think that Gitlab meet every compagny requirements
What do you dislike?
There is nothing I dislike in Gitlab.

I would rather say that they're some points that can be improved. like optimizing services to run faster especially for the DevOps use. Sometimes the pipelines can take forever.

Managing Groups can be tricky as well , sometimes you have to manually join groups and projects together. The graphic repository can be improved too
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Gitlab mostly everyday in our company.

It helps us monitor all our softwars , tools and tracking subversions. The code collaboration looks pretty easy now since we start using Gitlab . Code Reviews and Merge requests are easy to manage through the interface.

As part of the DevOps Team , the CI/CD platform creating automated flows
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It might look expensive as a solution for small business , the free Gitlab version is pretty good as well .

For big teams and multiple projects management there's no better solutions than using Gitlab ( users permissions , merge requests, code reviews and subversions) It covers the entire software development process

If your company uses DevOps to manage their softwares lifecycle. You should definitely move to Gitlab it's highly recommended


    Peter S.

Gitlab is one of the most efficient platform

  • November 06, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Due to this tool it is very convenient for me to track the progress of our working activities, effectively we have generated our portfolio and also it provides us the real time information about our ongoing projects and it mark them according to their work status. This tool is very easy to configure and provides continuous integration policy that is helping me to merge various codes, for early identification of any problems. Gitlab has helped me to provide continuous delivery of my services to my customers and for that purpose it unifies the entire DevOps tool chain into a single application.
What do you dislike?
Since I have been using this tool is working amazingly and providing reliable results. It is one of the most user friendly and time friendly platform. The pricing is policy needs to be revised for the easy access to the medium and small size business.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It provides me a graphical representation about the actual cycle of the work progress. Moreover it also provides me a secret variable code by the help of which I can make sure the authorized person access to the software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If I talk about my organization I would say it is the most suitable tool with our company work. It enhances the productivity and provides complete DevOps tool. You must give it a try if you are looking for a an efficient version controlling platform.