Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Jenkins Server for openSUSE Linux 15

Kurian | 2.233

Linux/Unix, Other openSUSE 15 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

311 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

You can't go wrong with Jenkins

  • July 20, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Jenkins is the standard CI/CD solution that everyone starts from. It is versatile, has an LTS version and a multitude of plugins suitable for every imaginable use case.
What do you dislike?
Plugin hell. It is very easy to get carried away and install each and every plugin that looks suitable for a use case and forget it installed, even when not using it. If you lack the discipline to work with very few plugins, you end up with a system with so many interdependencies that no upgrade is possible, and in the end, you are forced to abandon it due to complexity.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Jenkins is used for building and testing software primarily. However, you can "subvert" it into a glorified cron scheduler that can run complex jobs and not necessarily shell or other scripts. You can also use it as a deployment system where you can program the logic of the deployment the exact way you want it. Finally, if you are up for the task, you can even use the agents it provides for remote execution for network/host management.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Jenkins is where you start your CI/CD journey from. If you make an effort to learn Groovy, it may be where you stay anyways. But even if you do not want to stay with Jenkins, it is this software and its capabilities that define the bar that every other CI/CD software needs to pass to be seriously considered by anyone. And that is why it is worth it to work with Jenkins.


    Faisal I.

The base for DevOps field

  • July 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Jenkins is one of the best free tool for creating CI/CD pipeline for deployment and DevOps engineer. Its really easy to use can help you out with instant deployments. Their free style pipeline is amazing you can easily connect git with it and can see changes on you application when git gets any code push in the branch. Jenkins also very useful if you are using AWS and want to to deploy applications instantly
What do you dislike?
There is no such thing to dislike in jenkins. Everything is perfect.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Jenkins really helped me out in deployment of developers code to our aws where application is deployed i was confuse first when i started using but when i got familiar with jenkins it just make my life easier as a DevOps engineer. I really loved how easily it automated the process of deployment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is what every DevOps engineer must learn and need. Will be really helpful for you to automate things and creating pipelines for deployment


    Debabrata P.

Best free build-deploy master

  • July 15, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is highly flexible and the native groovy scripts come with easy to learn documentaitons. Amazing process control which can be hooked to IMs for activity management. Improves overall change management over the time.
What do you dislike?
Initial set up - deployment can be challanging Especially when you are on cloud. Error reportings are not advanced compared to some of it's competitors. It's good for a status reporting
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CI/CD pipeline, Access management, Report extraction. Once the initial set up is done it's a easy enhancement.


    Dharmendra M.

Jenkins User Review

  • July 01, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
customizable, user friendly and good for beginners as well
What do you dislike?
a bit complex in integration with other tools
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we automated the devops CI/CD process through IT.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would like to recommend Jenkins to everyone who is trying to implement DEVOPS CI-CD solution in their organization or for a particular project..


    Jithendran A.

Jenkins- Good Tool for CICD deployment and QA Automation executions

  • June 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simple to USE with friendly UI.
Customization is done around the CICD pipeline to pull the code and deploy on-demand or schedule option will fasten the delivery pipeline
What do you dislike?
Not much Improve since has a necessary feature for Customization and extenstion
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Benefits
Well Used for Development PIPE line to pull the latest code and deploy automatically to a targeted server
BVT script added to Maximize automation capability and regression suite


    Telecommunications

Best backend tool

  • June 04, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We are able to restart the server without commands using shell script. Have done the server activity using this tool like take heap dump or stack using specific targe. It really help for developer platform
What do you dislike?
We are unable to use the target when connected the two users. Jobs are run oneby one.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
servers issue resolved like server restart with zero down time
Recommendations to others considering the product:
its really helpful for new users and avoid such issues


    Ravikumar M.

Jenkins is boosting the technology

  • May 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?

Jenkins having additional plugins which we install during the installation and after installation it will help lot .
What do you dislike?
Need some graphics application while generating the report to improvement
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have resolved the issues during the configuration of additional plugins and also integration for third-party tools, which helps to troubleshoot the issues
Recommendations to others considering the product:
better functionality and more features are adopted to get easy to use for all


    Pratik S.

Good to start with, easy user interface

  • May 04, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Many plugins are available that make implementation a lot easier
What do you dislike?
Documentation is not at all good. Declarative is amazing, but the lack of documentation makes you insane because you only find info for scripted pipelines
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we are automating our software integration process using Jenkins, to provide continuous and quick feedback to users regarding the code quality
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy to start with, but many better tools available in market


    Divya S.

Make your work easy with jenkins

  • April 12, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best part is we can setup Jenkins on our system as well as on cloud-based services. No matter in what timezone we are it will work properly even though if we are in sleeping mode. All tools are well organized and have the best performance. And its addon tools are also the best working help to make our work fast and easy.
What do you dislike?
First I have to talk about its display and pannel too old look and messy it should be more attractive and user-helpful. One thing that annoys me the most is its building process while applying proper steps even though it says building fail but after two to three attempts, it starts working like nothing happens. this should be resolve by the developer, and overall except those issues Jenkins is the best tool for automation
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Git hub automation is the most common task i get and Jenkins help me to do it fast within few commands. Easy management of tool and their guides help to adopt their functionality easily.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Automation of work is too easy with Jenkins


    Divi G.

Automating anything

  • April 08, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Its pipeline section is the best part to create jobs. We can make multiple jobs for single work make it more easy for a user to clear its path. It supports windows as well as linux commads make it more easy to use. Its time strap it aslo accurate and within a second it completes our work. And its plugin make our work more easy and achievable.
What do you dislike?
I dont like its error response it hard to find at which configuration we are facing problem. While installing its plugin so many times it gives error while in process which make me frustrated. We required advanced knowledge while using Jenkins and without anyones help in first we can able to login also which i think jenkins lag behind due to its low help guidnce so developer should add better documentation of how to use jenkins.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My whole company work is based on jenkins and max time I need to do my git automation.
Easy git automation of data pulling and pushing.
Help to complete our daily task in accurate time
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best way to automate your work with performing few steps