Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Jenkins Server for CentOS 8

Kurian | 2.289.3

Linux/Unix, CentOS 8 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

345 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

Jenkins come to work all along

  • April 12, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy Learning Curve, Better Integration with Products, A plugin based system which helps developers add more support similar to eclipse plugins.
What do you dislike?
Not all added plugins are useful. Similar to Apple App Stores plugins should be rated according to their download & ratings should be given.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Running Automation Testing on Jenkins, Continuous Integration and Deployment. Devops can be easily realized.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
As said earlier, Plugins can be rated and no. of downloads can be stated.


    Abhijeet D.

Great experience using jenkins

  • April 12, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Once the system is setup and up it runs flawless.
What do you dislike?
Initial setup and configuration is tricky, takes lots of efforts.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Team collaboration and speed of development is improved. With continuous integration all individuals can work independently without worrying about lot of code merging.


    Curtis R.

Fantastic CI Solution for On-Premise and the Cloud

  • April 02, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about Jenkins is its ease of use and the broad availability of plugins. The system connects to virtually anything out there today and can operate phenomenally integrating with both on-premise and cloud resources like AWS (I used it for Elastic Beanstalk in particular).
What do you dislike?
The interface is absolutely terrible. They are supposedly working on an improved version at CloudBees, but until then, it definitely looks like an admin tool written by admins; spartan.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I needed a solution that would allow for us to build applications based on specific code branches, perform unit tests, code coverage and security scans, UX tests, initiate penetration tests for specific tiers and deploy the applications to both on-premise and cloud environments. All of these were possible with Jenkins with little to no advanced knowledge all using out of the box functionality. This allowed my teams to go from performing most of these steps manually to performing them in a completely automated state within a matter of days.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take the time to plan out your permissions models and install the roles strategy plugin from the get go. Enable SSO via an SSO provider on-premise or in the cloud (Okta works well wth the SAML plugin), install the folders plugin to help organize your projects and then explore the Promoted Builds plugin. Depending on where you're planning on deploying too, there may be plugins to help, such as the AWSEB Deployment plugin.


    Michelangelo v.

Jenkins, the easiest way to start with automation workflows and continuous integration

  • March 16, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Jenkins provides out of the box a complete Continuous Integration system that allows you to automate your development processes within a few minutes. Using it's plugin system, there's basically nothing you cannot automate.

When a single instance is not sufficient anymore, Jenkins is easily scalable and fast processing your workflows in parallel.

Jenkins offers a great dashboard to manage and display your running processes and even provides additional plugins to have key performance indicators (KPI) displayed on full screen in the offices so there's always transparency with the development teams.

Jenkins integrates with the majority of commincation tools, we have for example it integrated into our emails, Slack, IRC channels, SMS Service and Time Tracker so that developers don't have to worry they miss an important update or failure notification.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes you receive failed process stack traces that doesn't show clearly if the failure occured because something failed in Jenkins or in your application workflow.

Because Jenkins needs to be installed on-premise and is Java based there's a requirement to have a Java stack available just to run Jenkins. This can sometimes be an issue if you're not having a Java oriented operation as this adds additional support requirements.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Jenkins is a Continuous Integration system that allows you to automate workflows beyond development so developers have more time to focus on what they do best: development.

By implementing Jenkins and a test driven development policy, we have reduced the development overhead by 400% and with the automated processes after development we have our changes pushed to production with less failures and higher quality.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Jenkins offers a huge amount of functionality and it's easy to get lost in the overflow of options. My advise is to start small and automate pushing your local code onto production. Once you understand what it can do more, you can add more processes to this workflow and make them dependend of each other by building pipelines.

Once you feel comfortable using Jenkins, you can unleash it's real power and add all testing and QA processes in the mix, have conditional database provisionings and automate provisioning of cloud VM's.

Once you start automating your development workflows and move towards continuous deployment, you will see you're saving a lot of precious time that can be reinvested into your development.


    Gaël R.

A Good Old Continuous Integration Software

  • February 23, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Jenkins allows you to do absolutely everything. If a technology JUST came out, maybe no Jenkins plugin is available yet. You could write one, it's not hard, but you can also just use shell scripts, and do absolutely everything from there. It's easy to setup, supports everything you could need and just works. You can even customize it's appearance to match your company's branding, or to update it's oldish look, if you want.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it feels old. Not so long ago the entire interface was built with HTML tables, like in the 90s. Even if you can customize it however you want, even if the interface has been worked on, it still looks like old. Nobody cares you might say, it's just a CI. It still made me switch multiple times to other CIs like Atlassian Bamboo. However, I always switched back to Jenkins after a few days.

I like things to look good, like Atlassian Bamboo, and in the end you are able to make it look good.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When I was working a lot on OSS projects, I was commit-pushing without testing too much. Jenkins always reminded me when something didn't actually compile, some test broke or some other problem appeared. It also stores builds of every single versions, because I want to. It's a great way to give users access to builds directly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Jenkins looks older than all other solutions. It's because it is. It has much more plugins, supports much more technologies. You can be sure it can achieve what you want to achieve.


    Information Technology and Services

Amazing e complete service for continuous integration.

  • February 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- All variety of plugins and features available.
- Easy to install
- Huge and active community.
- Complete support for Java and Groovy, my main languages for development.
What do you dislike?
- The need of a dedicated server and some linux skills to install the service.
- Concerns about the server security and maintenance.
- Some build sequences of build, deploy and archive artifact could cause some confusion if you try to use different jobs for each step.
- Warning massages sometime are needed to avoid deploys by mistake in production environment instead of homolog by example.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- All projects from my company are builded and deployed with one click (maybe two) with Jenkins, with this is possible to avoid human errors and gain a precious time with dedicated link direct with my target servers.
- All this is much faster and reliable with automated processes.
- No dependency to a specific person and machine when you must build and deploy, mainly in some kind of emergency in the last minute.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have experience with cloud linux servers and some skill to install a service on then, you really should try Jenkins. After the first project is setup all the others will probably take 5 minutes to setup em run.


    Internet

Professional experience for development of a large number of projects

  • February 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
A large number of features and ecosystem around jenkins.
Fast feedback about broken builds and consistent way of releasing software.
What do you dislike?
The desktop UI is a bit overwhelming and also there is no easy to use UI for mobile devices.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Releasa software components & integration with Continuous Delivery Tools.


    Pavel S.

Day job CI

  • February 07, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1. The huge amount of plugins and frequent release rate.
2. Relatively easy set up and maintainance; the strong community helps by adding docs for common scenarios (e.g how to setup proper https rewrites with nginx).
What do you dislike?
The UI can be slow at times; when switching between sections, and in general the UI feels outdated (compared to other CI tools such as Travis).
Also, the documentationof of built-in features (especially security) could be improved.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Automated testing and deployment to certain environments; rarely need to do that manually anymore.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
All you need is a machine with Java, and you have a CI platform in-house. I suggest googling for CI tutorials, but it's relatively easy to set up.


    Entertainment

I use Jenkins at work for Continuous Integration

  • January 31, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love the fact that it automates the build process and works with many different programs through its API
What do you dislike?
The UI can be much more user friendly, I find it a bit hard to follow and use to its ful potential22
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We're using Jenkins for continuous integration and also as a means to deliver builds via email and other.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I'm not sure what to recommend, it's a good product, but I don't have much experience with others.


    Computer Software

Continuous Integration a necessity for Software Dev Teams, and This open source solution delivers

  • January 27, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Can deploy on my own server. Run multiple predefined builds. Integrates with Github. Best for continuous integration, which is very important to any professional software development team.
What do you dislike?
Cluttered UI. Initially somewhat confusing. There are other more modern alternatives, but this does just fine as well.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Continuous integration. Necessary to verify builds, automated functional unit tests, and user acceptance tests, which can run as much as per git push or pull request.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There are other alternatives. Research them and come to your own conclusions on costs. Some solutions use external servers whereas in others you can deploy the CI software to your server.