Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Mattermost Team Edition on Amazon Linux

Websoft9 | Mattermost 5.34.0 - Amazon Linux 2

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

232 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Useful tool for group communication

  • October 30, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We used this for a YC group and it was fantastic for sorting out the group communications.
What do you dislike?
I wish it would have a daily digest or something about activity on the channels I belong to without just having to have a message that is specifically relevant to me.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It was a group selection by YCombinator for a project that I was a part of.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good for the usage I saw which was group communications.


    Marketing and Advertising

Great open-source alternative to slack

  • October 29, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- Deployed on my own server
- Easy to deploy and upate
- Very fair pricing (per user)
What do you dislike?
- More job to integrate third-party using "slack compatible' API
- Documentation not to great for third-party integration
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Team communication
- Communication with customers (private channels)
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great tool : no more user limit. Use your server and Amazon S3 as storage and you are good to go!


    Achilleas K.

Free group chat application

  • October 26, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
***********************
MATTERMOST IS INSTALLED HERE IN MINISTRY OF EDUCATION
https://mattermost.minedu.gov.gr/login
All employee in the Department of Software have an account in mattermost and they are using mattermost daily.
*********************
We are using the application the last year in our company. We have created many diffferent channels defined by subject where you join the channel you like or work. The application has version for ios, android and desktop in linux and windows also.
What do you dislike?
I have not faced any problem until now. The application runs without any issue. It is free and we will continue using it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is free without any limit to our work compared to other similar applications like slack...
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Compared to other paid similar applications is the right choice.


    Internet

Mattermost & Me, the End User

  • October 25, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the group chat and the ability to join multiple groups. Mattermost is also used for meetings. Participants are on one site to communicate internally instead of switching to WebEx then back to MM.
What do you dislike?
The reply feature is not appealing. I often have to search for someone's response to my message. For some reason, the feature to reply to a specific thread isn't commonly used which makes it hard to organize or track responses to certain topics within a large group chat.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mattermost is used as a chat option to reach out to team supervisors before escalating a customer issue. You also have an opportunity to share any questions, experiences or issues real time instead of chain emails.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Emojis were recently added back to MM. For a few weeks, they were not included. They matter because sometimes a smile, thumbs up or any other emoji adds some color and life to an otherwise black and white platform. I would suggest allowing my last message or icon for my profile to blink or change the font color. That way when I return to review responses I can easily locate it (especially when those who reply do not use the reply to thread feature).

I also like the feature that a chat message that includes your user name and is linked to your reply sends you an email when you are offline or you get a pop up window to let you know someone replied. This is most helpful when you are away and missed messages. You still receive an email. Also, it helps when you may be using another software and the pop up reminds you to return to the message.


    Marco C.

One of the best self-hosted chat solutions

  • October 05, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's a solid, open-source solution if you want to move from Slack or similar proprietary software.
What do you dislike?
There are not so many integrations available and most of them require a certain amount of technical knowledge. It's not like Slack, where you can connect the system to other apps with a few clicks. So, if you're looking for some sort of integration, double-check the current availability.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We wanted to coordinate a team of translators and reviewers located in different countries and time zones. We managed to streamline our processes thanks to Mattermost.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're looking for a self-hosted, private alternative to Slack, and you have an IT department and resources to allocate to the implementation and setup, I'd warmly recommend Mattermost.


    Computer Software

It gets the job done

  • August 21, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple interface, easy to use, built with business in mind (they don't rely as much on fancy, shiny interfaces, but rather on delivering a simple yet powerful messaging system for large teams).
What do you dislike?
Having come from using Slack for more than 2 years, it seems somehow of a downgrade on some aspects.
There are fewer bots/integrations available, and, while Slack does a wonderful job of keeping in one place teams and messages specific to a large project, Mattermost seems to be more appropriate just as a simple messaging system, suitable for internal communications at your company, without providing the same facilities (not all at least) as Slack when it comes to managing an entire project.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It enables fast, efficient communication between company employees.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great for internal communications between company employees.


    Information Technology and Services

Good way to communicate with colleagues

  • August 16, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Can create channels to communicate on different topics
What do you dislike?
Layout - a little boring , too white - can improvise
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Makes communication easy
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good product


    Jaideep T.

Excellent alternative to Slack, Easy to Deploy and Private to your Network

  • July 29, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy to setup in AWS, fast and responsive, has all the features of Slack and then some. All conversations are archived for reference. It also has a dark theme which I prefer.
What do you dislike?
Nothing that I dislike at this point about the product.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Cross Team collaboration and communication
Recommendations to others considering the product:
No brainer setup and replacement for Slack


    Telecommunications

Mattermost, self hosted slack alternative

  • January 20, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Being a self hosted, almost perfect clone of Slack
What do you dislike?
Nothing, if you loved Slack, you will love Mattermost.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Works great as a chatOps solution,


    Emanuela C.

A good Oper Source alternative To Slack

  • August 26, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a good alternative to Slack including all main features slack offers in the Standard Edition. It is open source so you don't have to pay any licence.
It is easy to use.
It is possible to create an organization and inside the it several groups (based on the department for example). Each group can manage their own channels to work on the different activities.
All messages are saved, you can use keywords and pin documents. All contents are searchable.
What do you dislike?
If you will need to implement the LDAP single-sign-on Mattermost is not free... you will have to pay 20$ per user per year. This is quite strange considering that Mattermost is an Open Source tool.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The main benefit is about the cost. It is a good tool to improve the internal communication reducing the number of emails