Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Mattermost Team Edition on Amazon Linux

Websoft9 | Mattermost 5.34.0 - Amazon Linux 2

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

238 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Marco C.

One of the best self-hosted chat solutions

  • October 05, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's a solid, open-source solution if you want to move from Slack or similar proprietary software.
What do you dislike?
There are not so many integrations available and most of them require a certain amount of technical knowledge. It's not like Slack, where you can connect the system to other apps with a few clicks. So, if you're looking for some sort of integration, double-check the current availability.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We wanted to coordinate a team of translators and reviewers located in different countries and time zones. We managed to streamline our processes thanks to Mattermost.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're looking for a self-hosted, private alternative to Slack, and you have an IT department and resources to allocate to the implementation and setup, I'd warmly recommend Mattermost.


    Computer Software

It gets the job done

  • August 21, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple interface, easy to use, built with business in mind (they don't rely as much on fancy, shiny interfaces, but rather on delivering a simple yet powerful messaging system for large teams).
What do you dislike?
Having come from using Slack for more than 2 years, it seems somehow of a downgrade on some aspects.
There are fewer bots/integrations available, and, while Slack does a wonderful job of keeping in one place teams and messages specific to a large project, Mattermost seems to be more appropriate just as a simple messaging system, suitable for internal communications at your company, without providing the same facilities (not all at least) as Slack when it comes to managing an entire project.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It enables fast, efficient communication between company employees.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great for internal communications between company employees.


    Information Technology and Services

Good way to communicate with colleagues

  • August 16, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Can create channels to communicate on different topics
What do you dislike?
Layout - a little boring , too white - can improvise
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Makes communication easy
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good product


    Jaideep T.

Excellent alternative to Slack, Easy to Deploy and Private to your Network

  • July 29, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy to setup in AWS, fast and responsive, has all the features of Slack and then some. All conversations are archived for reference. It also has a dark theme which I prefer.
What do you dislike?
Nothing that I dislike at this point about the product.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Cross Team collaboration and communication
Recommendations to others considering the product:
No brainer setup and replacement for Slack


    Telecommunications

Mattermost, self hosted slack alternative

  • January 20, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Being a self hosted, almost perfect clone of Slack
What do you dislike?
Nothing, if you loved Slack, you will love Mattermost.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Works great as a chatOps solution,


    Emanuela C.

A good Oper Source alternative To Slack

  • August 26, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a good alternative to Slack including all main features slack offers in the Standard Edition. It is open source so you don't have to pay any licence.
It is easy to use.
It is possible to create an organization and inside the it several groups (based on the department for example). Each group can manage their own channels to work on the different activities.
All messages are saved, you can use keywords and pin documents. All contents are searchable.
What do you dislike?
If you will need to implement the LDAP single-sign-on Mattermost is not free... you will have to pay 20$ per user per year. This is quite strange considering that Mattermost is an Open Source tool.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The main benefit is about the cost. It is a good tool to improve the internal communication reducing the number of emails


    Program Development

Excelent Slack substitute

  • March 12, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We used Slack before and it was a non negligible expense. Now we use Mattermost, wich is almost 100% slack compatible, 100% free and translated in our language
What do you dislike?
Nothing in particular, everything was realy simple and we didn't needed a lot of time to get user to switch from slack to mattermost
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mostly price reduction
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's the same very good software like Slack, but free and open source, with an already great community !


    Information Technology and Services

Mostly good, a few bugs and some features missing from what I'm used to.

  • March 12, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
That it is self-hosted, you may use it within your organization. That's the reason we made the decision to go with Mattermost. Also the IRC integration gateway, which is utilized about 50/50 in this use case.
What do you dislike?
I'm using Slack in a different organization, and comparing these two, Mattermost lack "simple" features like keyboard shortcuts for changing windows.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Formost, it's that we needed a self-hosted solution for communication with integration to our internal services. We used to do plain IRC before, now we can do coding in a different way for integrations.