Sign in
Categories
Migration Mapping Assistant Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Metabase on Ubuntu

Websoft9 | Metabase0.36.4 (Ubuntu18.04)

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

21 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Vighnesh S.

Great data visualization tool for those with SQL knowledge

  • October 15, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1. Very customizable and powerful for dealing with large data sets.
2. Variety of visualization methods (charts, graphs, tables etc)
3. Especially useful for product managers and technical leader
4. Able to provide dynamically updated data, schedule alerts when particular metrics are breached
What do you dislike?
1. The GUI tool is very basic/ minimal. This restricts its use to only technically sound users i.e. those with SQL coding knowledge.
2. Implementing newer versions is difficult :( It breaks a few of the existing functionalities.
3. The drag-drop experience of elements in dashboard view can be better.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Tracking key product metrics
2. Slicing and dicing data to find useful product usage insights.
3. Keep an eye on company level metrics
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its a very powerful tool. You only need to overcome the initial hassle of setting it up according to your organizational needs.


    Aman K.

Goto tool for dashboard and analysis

  • July 07, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's one of the easy to use tool for making a dashboard. Writing SQL queries in it is very easy and also it's very fast which makes the analysis fast.
The dashboard can be modified in to various forms like table or any chart. It has multiple options to modify the chart and thus serves the purpose of visualisation tool as well. It's easy to connect with different databases and query to get the output. It also tracks the edition history which really helps in keeping the track of the creator of dashboards and the details of modification done. Also it serves the purpose of visualisation tool for easy tracking of various KPIs.
What do you dislike?
Servers are sometimes not very responsive and lacks some chart visualisation tools. If these Things are modified and implemented this would really make it the best tool for dashboards.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With the help of metabase we've really solved the day to day problems of ecommerce and it has helped us in tracking the daily numbers of the business. This has helped a alot in making various business decisions and also serves the purpose of communicating with various teammates by sharing the dashboard with them. It has helped in improving the skills and made analysis easier and with it's intuitive user interface anyone can make a dashboard of their requirements very easily and in less time.


    Information Technology and Services

Easily create dashboards for your teams

  • July 06, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What I like best is that Metabase is a free yet powerful solution to build dashboards that the teams within a company can get insights from. And if you have a team that is curious about data and want to create their own dashboards and learn about the business asking their own questions you can allow them to do that in and simple way.
What do you dislike?
The only thing I don't like is that sometimes it takes more time than I expected to show or refresh the data. It might be because of the amount of data we have but this is something that bothers me.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We needed something to empower the teams with data and Metabase helped us with that. The main benefit for the company was that all teams could easily access information about the business without needing to ask the data team all the time.


    Information Technology and Services

Powerful Usability but LOW computing power

  • June 29, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is super easy to share with team members both on queries and also findings in real-time. It came super handy to check live stats with the whole organization and empower non-data folks. It also offers cool visualizations options to show results, which can serve as a nice reporting function. The Dashboard organization functionality is also helpful to keep things organized.
What do you dislike?
The LOW computing power. For large/complicated queries, sometimes it will never come back. The most annoying part is that the message on screen is 'Doing Science', while that screen could run in HOURS and then popped up an error message. This part is a huge limitation to its usage.
Also, the query writing/drafting isn't good - it can't fold subquery or highlight indexing like other tools.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
BI reporting, Data Enablement.
Team collaborations, Visualizations


    Arjun S.

The DIY Free BI tool for teams.

  • April 21, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Metabase is free to use BI tool which is easy to setup. It has a drag and drop interface as well as a SQl writer where queries can be written for advanced users. Access can be given across teams along with specific permissions. The tools is highly recommended for startups since it is free to use and self deployable.
What do you dislike?
Although we are using a free to use self deployed version, There is less of data visualization thus it makes users to use separate tools to create visualization.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Metabase allows us to decentralize reporting by creating relevant questions and giving access to various teams based on their needs.
The key benefits is teams can see and download relevant data for reviews by their own without depending on engineering or business analysts.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Metabase is a free and easy to use self deployable BI software specially recommended for startup to give ease of data access to their team. It allows both tech and non-tech users to access data and report through a SQL editor and drag and drop interface. Recommended for startups looking to build a data driven culture.


    Internet

great data visualization tools

  • November 22, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
* easy to visualize data and view in different formats (ie. graphs, pie charts, tables, etc.)
* heavily customizable
* good UI, easy to navigate
* affordable/cheaper than salesforce, SAP Tableau, etc.
* easy one step log-in (using work gmail account)
What do you dislike?
* dashboard suggestions are not helpful
* need to have certain graphics/analytics bookmarked individually instead of customizing by user interest
* tutorial for non-data personnel would be helpful
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
* tracking company key metrics and growth
* visual information
* able to look at real time statistics/#s for WoW, MoM
* tracking annualized projections
* variety of ways to analyze/view data
Recommendations to others considering the product:
it's a great, bare-bones, affordable tool. gives you what you need if it's just looking at company metrics, but you need to be able to ask the right questions/define the issue. our data analyst does a lot to make the information easily digestible across the company - had heaps of info in the past and it wasn't that well organized. visualization helps a lot across the organization.


    Financial Services

Great to make queues and workflows

  • September 30, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Our CRM is custom built so doesn't have all the formatting we would like. Metabase helps create and manage lists for our sales team.
What do you dislike?
Updates to stats are delayed and even slow to load.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It allows us an external tool for easier outreach and tracking


    Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

My metabase experience

  • September 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
i get accurate data from all my customers
What do you dislike?
sometimes needs too much time, so is not that fast
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
all my customers are in order so I can reach them real quick


    David F.

Easy Enough

  • September 19, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's neat how many different reports you can run if you know the proper questions to ask the software.
What do you dislike?
For a standard user, it can be a little difficult to know how to properly use Metabase.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use it to run inventory projections, current inventory issues, and projected numbers for other parts of the business.


    Internet

Not a fan of the UX

  • August 15, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that it's more secure for my company and deployable from the cloud.
What do you dislike?
It's not intuitive at all, there's not a simple button where you can just run a query it takes multiple clicks. The output is definitely not as nice as Navicat, even figuring out how to download the csv file isn't intuitive. I also don't like that the process to save/edit queries is so tedious. I also really really dislike that to reference the different tables in our database is in a whole different iteration. In our Navicat tool queries/tables were in different tabs so it was easy to cross-reference the data.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Data security for our database.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I guess if you're not used to another product it's fine, but I prefer our old tool much more.