Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Open Source Collaboration Platform for developers (Ubuntu)

Websoft9 | Mattermost 6.1.0 - Ubuntu 20.04

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

265 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Banking

It’s Good

  • August 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Our teams used Mattermost for 2 years before our company went exclusively to Microsoft Teams. It was a good tool to to communicate and stay connected.
What do you dislike?
I felt it didn't integrate well with other programs, like Microsoft Excel. I found I would try to download an Excel sheet and it never opened properly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We used Mattermost when we started work from home and it was an essential tool in keeping us all connected. We used it to strategize and manage our team and segment work.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend you try this product out if you are looking for a basic program to keep your team connected.


    Ketan S.

I've used this chat app for internal communication.

  • August 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I liked the most, which is the other application integration like standup meetup, etc.
What do you dislike?
I guess there is nothing much more to dislike. The loading time of the app startup can be resolvable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
There are many problems we have resolved like meetup/standup etc.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I advise others to use this app because it has all the needed solutions


    Misha M.

Almost good

  • August 17, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We have been testing Mattermost for quite some time, hoping to release it to the rest of the company. For the most part it has all that you would expect from Slack replacement - channels, mentions, file and image exchange, history, ability to create private groups and rooms, 3rd party tools integration, and more. This can be a real productivity boost, and the fact that it comes with on-premise istallation means a lot to our security.

This interface is much friendlier than some of the competitors, such as Zulip
What do you dislike?
There are two main disadvantages that I could see

1) No global search. If you create private rooms, which are great for individual teams or departments, you must search within the room. There is no way to search the entire system
2) No instant call feature, at least on our ree on-remise installation. You can integrate with Zoom or GoogleMeet, but of course, this results in additional clicks, and you know how we dislike extra clicks :)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are still almost entirely Slack-free environment, and this needs to change. Mattermost is being viewed as the potential solution


    Snehal K.

Mattermost for small and freelance teams

  • August 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Advanced features that help to express all feelings and knowledge properly
What do you dislike?
Initial steps takes lot more time as part of login steps
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
• HIPAA-compliant messaging.
• Notification system.
• Private messaging.


    Defense & Space

Powerful team messaging app

  • August 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Secure access to the app through desktop or mobile. Very useful for enterprises.
What do you dislike?
Only available in paid version, no built in video chat
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Used for secure messaging tool, which even bypasses the security issues of the cloud


    Mohammad S.

Mattermost review

  • August 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Mattermost provides a good platform for all the team members to connect and quickly have discussions over chats.
What do you dislike?
Options and features are not that easy, but once you are familiar, it'll be fun using them.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use it basically for team group discussion and sharing their thought.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its work absulatly fine for team and project collaboration and also cost less than 20$ a month.


    Anjali J.

Good messaging open source solution for small teams

  • August 14, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is used on desktop as well as on mobile devices with chat history.
Search is good for finding files, conversations, and members.
Option to create private and public channels
What do you dislike?
Sometimes notification on the mobile app gets delayed, and it doesn't load the message until refreshed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are collaborating and Communicating with team members for project deliverables.


    Curtis B.

Excellent open-source alternative for businesses that value privacy

  • July 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Mattermost is open source and self-hosted, allowing a company concerned about privacy and data security to take complete control of its communications. Additionally, it is very straightforward to set up and operates in incredibly similar ways to Slack. Additional features and plugins commonly used with Slack are also available with Mattermost, and the open-source nature of Mattermost means making your custom plugins are straightforward.
What do you dislike?
The Mattermost plugin ecosystem lacks the completeness and polish you might find with Slack. The interface does not feel as smooth or fluid as its competitors, likely because the desktop app is electron-based and suffers from some optimization issues,
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mattermost has allowed the company to take control over information and data security to the next level. By encompassing all communications on a self-hosted server and utilizing Mattermost, there are no longer any 3rd parties or cloud providers that pose a risk to our ecosystem.


    Computer Software

Connect with your team member over mattermost in a fun way

  • July 15, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best feature I liked about it was sharing files and how easily it allows to connect to your team mates.
What do you dislike?
I did not like the "replying" part on the messages. It is quite confusing as it does not show exactly where to reply and if there has been any reply or not. Also, it took me quite some time to figure out how to reply to a message.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used it to connect to my classmates for a course and discuss homework and projects over there.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Providing more options for ringtone change


    Şükrü O.

Mattermost Review

  • July 13, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Mattermost is also very successful in terms of creating an unlimited number of channels and managing access to the created channels. It's instrumental, especially for teams using a scrum business model. In addition, the presence of a mobile application also saves you from the use of Mattermost at the computer.
What do you dislike?
Whether you open a secret channel for business or any other issue, the owner of the relevant Mattermost network can access what is spoken in that channel.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Since we are working remotely in the Scrum model due to the pandemic, we hold our short meetings every morning at the time we set. We also use it in groups created for projects to share general information and make announcements.