Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Mariadb on Ubuntu 20.04

Cognosys Inc Hardened Images | 22.10.1400

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 22.10.1400 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

184 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Brian S.

The best opensource database software

  • December 21, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the fact that this is free! I can implement it any time I want at no cost. Lots of people are using it and there's lots of community forums ready to help any question/issues I have
What do you dislike?
Of course since this is free, there's no dedicated support
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Store any data/information of our company


    Sean F.

Great drop in MySQL replacement

  • December 02, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
When you need a quick relational DB, open source MariaDB is there for you.
What do you dislike?
Fewer cloud providers offer this as an engine.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Relational databases are enablers of many different kinds of business applications. By switching to MariaDB over MySQL, we got out from under Oracle's grasp without changing any application logic.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You should first choose an engine supported by your cloud provider of choice. If MariaDB is not an option, choose MySQL, but for any local development go ahead and install MariaDB.


    Higher Education

MariaDB review

  • December 01, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The large community to reach out for help
What do you dislike?
Nothing, the only thing I am concern is the the fact that it is open and people have access to try to hack into it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I used it to build a tracking system for applications. The benefits are huge, integration with other systems and it is easy to find help from the community using it.


    J H.

Great Alternative for MySQL

  • November 19, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Better support, faster performance, good roi for the price
What do you dislike?
I do not have an dislikes of Maria Db at the moment
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
free open source


    Thanh P.

MySQL Open source - Develop by community

  • November 16, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Relation Database Management System
Forked version of MySQL (From MySQL 5.5). Now latest version of MariaDB is 10.2
Compatibility with code for MySQL, so developer doesn't need change anything when switch to MariaDB
Increase performance on version 10
Integrate and has driver with PHP5, PHP7
What do you dislike?
Need improve speed at startup, indexing and querying.
Implement cache for query better.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Relation Database Management System
Develop by community
Compatibility with old code for MySQL
Easy for study
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use mariadb instead of mysql


    Gustavo V.

Why MariaDB

  • November 13, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
MariaDB has inherited one of the features of MySQL I liked most: speed. I have tested both MariaDB and PostgreSQL and I have always found MariaDB to be faster. Besides it it has a very complete featureset for a relational database.
What do you dislike?
Even with the pass of time and even the fork that sprang MariaDB from MySQL, I have not witnessed substancial advancements in the replication scheme of this database.
Concurrent operations might cause trouble in MariaDB, because at this time, concurrency it is not well handled by this RDBMS.
Full Text search might be another area where you can find MariaDB short suport.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our website is a data driven web site, since most of it contents are loaded through templates and data that is read dinamically from a MariaDB databases. That let us make changes to the content of the website very fast and above all, the person in charge of doing this changes is not required to be a web developer. We also use MariaDB for other internal web apps.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
MariaDB is definitely one of the best options you have when developing web application, due to its simplicity and speed. However, there are another issues that have to be considered, specially if the web site has a lot of traffic, like concurrency, because in this area MariaDB is still not performing very well and you might get a bottleneck in your apps.


    Alternative Medicine

its very similar to mysql and works great

  • November 12, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Works very similiar to mysql and syntax is exactly same plus its very fast.
What do you dislike?
Everything works really well. didnt find anything bad.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
i am creating a portal for client which uses mariadb


    Accounting

mariaDB

  • November 09, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
mariDB does the query execution faster than other dbs
What do you dislike?
maria db does query execution faster but needs better user interface
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
speed


    Higher Education

Easy peesy

  • October 31, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Like the simplicity of understanding and working on it. Adding and deleting fields and data is just a click away.
What do you dislike?
The overall look does not seem like its usable in big companies environment.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is easy to connect to the maria DB and easy to manage data.


    Ben M.

A great alternative to MySQL!

  • October 31, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
MariaDB has feature congruency everywhere that it matters. If MySQL can do it, MariaDB can very likely do it the same way. Performance is better than MySQL almost across the board. Updates come frequently.
What do you dislike?
Usually, you can follow MySQL-based tutorials, but occasionally they will contain instructions that are different if you're using MariaDB so you must keep that in mind whenever performing DB operations.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We're hosting website databases on MariaDB instead of MySQL and have experienced lower resource usage and better performance.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's easy to drop in MariaDB as a replacement for MySQL, so give it a try!