Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Mariadb on Ubuntu 20.04

Cognosys Inc Hardened Images | 22.10.1400

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 22.10.1400 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

184 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Dan O.

Solid open source database option!

  • October 30, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Surprisingly stable and scalable for an open source database. The price tag for it is a NULL value as well :)
What do you dislike?
Unlike it's MySQL counterpart, you can't get an enterprise support contract for it from Oracle. That said, depending on your past experiences with Oracle, that might be a positive.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I've built several data warehouses with MariaDB, some of them fairly large.


    Mike G.

MariaDB Works

  • October 18, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
MariaDB is easy to install, maintain, and is high performing.
What do you dislike?
MariaDB can be a little tricky to connect a lower-privileged User to the Navicat IDE across a network. That said, with a little “googling” one can quickly learn how to do it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
MariaDB is my go-to database of choice for my web applications and desktop applications. Leveraging PHP and PDO, MariaDB works very well to support the data requirements.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend MariaDB as a database.


    Sean L.

Use Amazon Aurora - Amazon continues to deliver.

  • July 21, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The marketing and sales pitch. If you read the marketing material, it looks like Clustrix is a great product. The reviews of the performance (by the CEO of Clustrix).
What do you dislike?
The actual product performance. There is a significant gap between what is in the marketing material/sales pitch and the actual performance. After a lot of money and a lot of time, it became clear the product does not match the promise. The company was very keen to take our money, not so keen on delivering a solution.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Database performance is critical to our SAAS product. We are always looking for new technology to help drive performance the ActiveDEMAND marketing automation platform. We have realized no benefit whatsoever from our experience with Clustrix.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would say do not give this company money until after you have proven the software will meet your requirements. It may be the case that this small company's product will fit your need. Find out first. We made the mistake of paying first, testing second. The company was very quick to state that, even though their product would never meet our requirements, the contract is signed and they expected us to continue paying. This was a major mistake we made, do not follow our footsteps.


    Matt F.

More stable drop-in replacement for MySQL

  • June 13, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like best that this is Open Source software that was created by a group that originally developed MySQL.
What do you dislike?
Not much to dislike. This project is managed well and the software is very stable.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We switched to MariaDB due to performance and stability issues with MySQL starting in version 5.5. We were experiencing query locks that didn't happen under older versions of MySQL, and once we switched we learned about the great additional features that MariaDB has, like the Aria engine and the client features that show query progress.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it a try, it won't cost you anything to test it out, and it is a drop-in replacement for MySQL.


    Internet

Open-Source RDBMS, but almost gives you an Enterprise Performance

  • March 18, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
You have everything that you need in order to have a very well performance.
What do you dislike?
Some bugs, that hits and basically give us some issue.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Basically, a lot of different business, I'm solving and solved using this, so basically or mostly E commerce. As I've mentioned you have same like an enterprise MySQL server.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is from my personal experience, if you are using MySQL Database Server, that is limiting you to tweak and perform a performance tuning and optimization, then this is the time for you to maximize everything and to have you a very well promising performance, by tweaking and tuning your database to the highest maximum limit. So, what you are waiting for, try and make a development testing or POC for your company to switch using this MySQL like Database Server,


    Information Technology and Services

After a couple of years using Maria DB

  • February 01, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Fully compliance with mysql, always updated, well documenti and easy to install.
What do you dislike?
Really nothing, as a relational dbms it handles anything is needed for common web development tasks.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Web application, web application scaling, high traffic management. Scaling, redundance and replication.


    Marketing and Advertising

What can I see that hasn't been said

  • September 23, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simple, secure, reliable and scalable database. Cheaper than Oracle.
What do you dislike?
Nothing really. It's simple to acquire and easy to licence.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Err, it's a database.


    Fawzi B.

the new standard

  • August 13, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
who doesnt use mysql? now mariadb is the new standard in centos. it is seemly and i never utilized any of its advanced features but works great
What do you dislike?
many changes to my perl scripts to better automate backup process
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Scalability


    Scott K.

MySQL server flavor MariaDB

  • July 30, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
For the most part, MariaDB is a binary drop in replacement for MySQL where you should be able to just fire up MariaDB from standard MySQL database already in production. You'll want to reference their site for any changes to be aware of (as there's even configuration settings and syntax differences between versions), but in general if you're running somewhat of a modern version of MySQL (5.1+), MariaDB 10.x (based on MySQL 5.6+), you shouldn't experience any problems after mysql upgrading the system tables.

In comparison to standard MySQL, there's a number of improvements (Percona also has many of the same and is very good too), including but not limited to:

- several other storage engines can be used
- significant speed improvements such as subqueries and joins with the optimizer
- faster and safer replication
- parallel replication
- innodb specific tunings (mostly related for speed)
- indexes for the memory(heap) engine considerably faster
- thread pools as of mariadb 5.1, even better in 5.5+
- gtid and multi-source replication
- fulltext searching support with InnoDB!
- table elimination
- microseconds implementation
- much better user stats and progress reporting when altering tables, loading data from infile, etc.

- truly open source!
What do you dislike?
I can't say there isn't anything that I really dislike about MariaDB. In the newer versions, InnoDB supports fulltext searching (implemented as of MySQL 5.6) which makes converting table engines lucrative to avoid table locks for the most part that couldn't be done before since FULLTEXT was strictly MyISAM. They can still happen in certain cases, although will generally release pretty fast depending on the queries, system resources and the amount of load the system is under.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Improved speed with queries, replication, the ability to convert MyISAM tables to InnoDB now that it supports FULLTEXT searching and eliminates table locks that MyISAM would impose based on how the storage engine works (table based locking with MyISAM vs row based locking with InnoDB).

The progress reporting via the MySQL CLI is rather useful for knowing the percentage amount done from an executed command, along with indicating how long it will take (per stage).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The amount of improvements / features MariaDB has only enhances standard MySQL to be better and is practically a drop-in replacement over standard MySQL.

I would highly recommend giving it a try if you're looking for performance increases and enhancements/features that are available.


    Information Technology and Services

A great MySQL Drop in replacement

  • July 27, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
MariaDB has all the strengths of MySQL with a faster development cycle and more reliable releases. Works great in place of any MySQL needs, the commands are even the same.
What do you dislike?
I think that getting newer releases of the project (like MariaDB 10+) can be difficult on some enterprise distros, so I wish that official releases were more readily available in an RPM format.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Any database that used to require MySQL we have moved over to MariaDB. We find it to be higher performance, more reliable, and A+ software.