Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Mariadb on Ubuntu 20.04

Cognosys Inc Hardened Images | 22.07.2200

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 22.07.2200 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

181 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Diego H.

MariaDB is a completely free version of MySQL. Fast and easy to use

  • April 27, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What I like most about MariaDB is its similarity to MySQL, so if you previously worked with MySQL managing databases with MariaDB will be a simple task. Another feature that I like is that it is totally free. I also like the fact that migration can be carried out without inconvenience.
What do you dislike?
MariaDB is completely free and has an easy to manage GUI. Also, it shares the same source code as MySQL, so I don't have any negative comments about this software.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am currently using MariaDB in multiple development environments to run tests on different apps. Also, I have migrated various databases from MySQL to MariaDB easily and cleanly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
MariaDB is fast and completely free. In my opinion, it is an improved version of MySQL. Also, migration can be carried out easily. I recommend MariaDB.


    Claudia L.

MariaDB is a very useful database manager for local development and testing

  • March 16, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like MariaDB because it works under a relational scheme. It is possible to store, retrieve and manipulate data with ease. Another reason I like this software is that it has Aria as its storage engine, which allows complex queries to be made in short periods of time. Also, the data can be easily imported and exported.
What do you dislike?
I have not had any problems so far with MariaDB, even its performance is very good thanks to its cache in RAM.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
MariaDB's learning curve is very short and that's the biggest benefit, since it's basically a replacement for MySQL. With this database administrator I can create multiple databases to store a wide variety of data from the different applications that we have in the organization.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend using this database manager, especially for testing or local development. Also, if I previously work with MySQL it will work under the same scheme with MariaDB.


    Saverio F.

IL database opensource più usato.....

  • January 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Molto popolare, fork del progetto MySQL dopo l'acquisto di Oracle, con una enorme community a supporto per ogni problema o per migliorare i comportamenti del sistema.
Viene supportato su tutti i sistemi operativi. SPesso viene fornito in bundle con i vari Php e Apache (LAMP per Linux e WAMP per Windows) offrendo tutti gli strumenti per mettere su un server Web (Apache) e implementarne la logica (Php) utilizzando il DB.
What do you dislike?
Per avere un sistema performante con tanti dati c'è davvero bisogno di fare un tuning molto accurato per cui bisogna lavorarci davvero parecchio.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
L'utilizzo di un potente DBMS (DataBase Management System) ti aiuta a supportare le necessità della tua azienda senza spendere una barca di soldi ma con il supporto di una enorme community che ti aiuta a risolvere i problemi.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Da utilizzare senza problemi per progetti di piccole e medie dimensioni. Se hai bisogno di utilizzare grosse mole di dati, allora bisogna valutare molto bene le necessità.


    Education Management

how good is mariadb

  • December 10, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
is a database management system is not that it is the best but if it can be used for projects it does not weigh much but it complies with the normalities of creation of database indexation of the database modification of tables among others
What do you dislike?
This Database Management System arises as a result of the purchase of Sun Microsystems and that company was very good. I'm not against free software, but always try to broadcast to private
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is compatible with all versions of mysql, once you try it and very good indeed.

I solved some details that unlike mysql has some advantages direct replacement of InnoDB direct replacement of Federated and Removed by Oracle of MySQL 5.1.55 but is included in the code of MariaDB up to version 5.5
Recommendations to others considering the product:
continue to improve but need more publicity is good but basic there are applications that in my case I do not need but I recommend to people who are starting in the world of programming they will work


    Henry W.

Using MariaDB to manage data on distributed systems

  • December 03, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
MariaDB allows us to deploy several database server instances for each location where we have a point of data generation. This is a distributed system architecture to implement using MariaDB.
What do you dislike?
We have to invest additional effort and time to ensure the database services and to tune the synchronization processes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
To deploy a distributed system architecture considering the cost of licensing of operating systems and database server licensing.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Define your system architecture.
Test the proposed system architecture before the deployment.
Make a data sizing analyze to set the final data storage.
Use a monitoring solution to ensure the health of the system.


    Information Technology and Services

Great free MySQL alternative

  • November 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
MariaDB is a free professional alternative to MySQL and they
What do you dislike?
There is nothing I can say that I don't like about MariaDB right now
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using MariaDB as a MySQL alternative for my software projects


    Giuseppe T.

Fast Opensource Database

  • November 06, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very popular with a huge community that can support you with every problem or tuning request.
Work on almost all Operative Systems its supported often with Php and Apache for both Linux and WIndows systems (LAMP, WMP).
What do you dislike?
You have to made a deep tuning to gather full performance with huge data.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Use of a poweful DBMS to solve your Company needs without spending money and with a support of a big community to deals with probems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use it for sure for medium/small projects. If you need to move to huge data, you have to eval and make a good project before choose wich DBMS to use.


    Computer & Network Security

Inexpensive and reliable database for projects

  • October 10, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is open source and reliable enough for my projects
What do you dislike?
I like everything. So far it is perfect for me.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Application server needs a database to store data. It can run on RHEL and inexpensive.


    Edward C.

A great tool with high integration

  • September 03, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The tool comes with an excellent user interface, is easy to set up and use, and is very effective when it comes to database administration. What I highlight most are the Alert Table queries, as in MariaDB you can check progress on a list of processes, so you can always keep a visual track on the progress
What do you dislike?
Lack of personal support community approach Lacks GUI interface as far as I know to install in the Linux desktop environment. I've had some problems with scalability, but that's a small database and centralized data The migration is not the easiest to use, compared to other applications I've used in the past.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
This information helps when informing our customers, besides maintaining some metadata for analytical purposes is too powerful and increases the speed of data synchronization of our software Mysqltuner is an incredible program to help you adjust the settings The migration has never been so easy and generally has a good performance
Recommendations to others considering the product:
A tool with good integration with others, to work comfortable and very functional.


    Daniel J.

MariaDB experience

  • August 17, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenSource environment and Replication options. There is a very good community based around this product and finding answers online is relatively painless.
What do you dislike?
Lack of enterprise support in a corporate environment. I wish there was more adoption which would lend to more support providers
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Master and Master replication clusters with SQL Proxy to break up to more servers
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Need to have experience with MySQL and enterprise database experience a plus