Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

75 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Vlad P.

Flexible monitoring and reasonable pricing

  • December 21, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Instana offers a large variety of features at a simple, fixed pricing model. Besides the usual distributed tracing and error logging, Instana offers infrastructure monitoring, StatsD collection, web and mobile monitoring, as well as highly customizable views and alerts. Setting up an Instana agent was extremely easy (we used the Ruby on Rails / Kubernetes integration). The logging is unsampled and customizable.
What do you dislike?
The UI has a steep learning curve if you're used to other APM software. Expect to learn a lot of new terminology and configuration options before you can set up a usable dashboard. Unlike other APM providers, Instana gives you a great deal of flexibility in how data is presented -- which is great for expert users, but novices will almost certainly be lost.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Instana to monitor our infrastructure, keep track of errors, and analyze calls to identify performance bottlenecks. After just a few days of using Instana, we identified several load-balancing issues with our setup as well as multiple N+1 problems in our database queries.


    Ashwin S.

Monitoring and Observability with Instana

  • December 20, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of Usage is very simple and the co-relation of alerts with downstream services which helps us to reduce the MTTR and improve MTTI. Also, they have a very nice managed documentation which makes the integration very easy. They have the best Automatic Root Cause Analysis of Microservices to give us a deeper insight into a complex environment that we have.
What do you dislike?
We were surprised to see the dashboarding capabilities tool provides, I am sure they are will build a better solution as they did for observability
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Faster MTTR​
Uptime Reporting - SRE Based​
Predicting Problems earlier​
Operational Efficiency​
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If your organisation is choosing to migrate to microservices and you want to build a robust observability tool for the complex infrastructure this is the tool.


    Michael B.

Great Product And Team That Allows My Platform To Thrive

  • December 17, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The Account Manager and Product Managers are very available and easy to work with. They are eager to help and hear us for any questions, concerns, or feature requests my team has. Aside from their amazing team, the Instana product itself is great and has proven to be a critical part of our platform. The ability to debug issues and find the root causes is critical to preventing those issues in the future.
What do you dislike?
Initially the product was difficult to navigate as there are so many features and services it provides. But documentation has since gotten much better and the Account Managers are always willing to jump on a call and help out with any questions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Instana for many different purposes. Firstly, we use it reactively when issues or bugs arise and we need to find the source. We also use it as a monitoring and alerting service so we know when our platform is having performance issues. It's vital in our platform remaining performant and available to our users.


    Education Management

Amazing features

  • December 05, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to get started with, great documentation, amazing features, prompt support.
What do you dislike?
More integration features to be developed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Release Management, SLI/SLO Tracking.


    Human Resources

Easy to use

  • December 04, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Instana is really a turnkey product and easy to use
What do you dislike?
Instana is pretty young and unknown in the IT world
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Errors, improving performances like time response, number of internal calls, etc.


    Financial Services

Detect and react to performance issues in real time

  • December 04, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- GUI is intuitive and easy to navigate

- Automatic discovery, just install the agents and start monitoring

- A bird's eye view to Kubernetes cluster

- Several available notification channel types e.g. Slack, Teams, Email

- Helpful and friendly people

- Continuous updates and new features are released often
What do you dislike?
- Sometimes it has taken very long to get a reply when submitting a support case through customer portal
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Finding the root cause of problems is much faster now

- Get insights into how your app performs and detect problems before your users do


    Florian G.

Instana - Great solution for infrastructure monitoring and APM

  • December 04, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We moved from Zabbix to Instana. With the rollout of the Instana agents on our servers we more or less out of the box got much better insights into our system landscape and application performance:
- Easy to setup
- Automated discovery
- Coverage of supported technologies
- Detailed infrastructure monitoring
- Flexible configuration of applications used for APM - great for monitoring micro services

Support from Instana is great. Usually you get very fast response on your questions.
When features are not supported by the existing supported technologies there is a good chance to get them implemented or find an alternative solution using generic metric reporters like statsd. Already looking forward for release 191 to get MySQL replication status support.

Special thanks to our Customer Success Manager Zeynep. You are doing a great job and helped us a lot whenever needed.
What do you dislike?
We are using a lot custom metrics. Configuring events for them is limited. Instana itself is more powerful. The built-in events use more sophisticated rules like changes over a period of time. However they are not available for custom metrics.

Analytics on infrastructure metrics. The comparison tables provided by Instana do not support all metrics. This is a limitation for us.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using Instana for both infrastructure monitoring and APM. We run multiple environments of our cloud platform in different data centers including AWS. Instana helped us to get detailed insights into infrastructure metrics with a high resolution. This helped us to better identify infrastructure related issues. The APM capabilities helped us to identify performance issues in production and to improve on a continuous base.
I implemented a provider for terraform based on Instanas Web REST API (https://github.com/gessnerfl/terraform-provider-instana). This allows us to rollout our monitoring configurations together with the infrastructure code and during application rollouts. With this we achieved a consistent monitoring setup across multiple stages and regions.


    Grégory S.

Just a must have

  • December 04, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
* Customer success management, just perfect, you're really treated as a customer should be (thanks Z. Y.)
* Highly reactive and skilled support and engineers, any tickets is always quickly and properly handled
* Very interactive development, improvements are very regular, Feature Request taken into account, Instana listens to their customers
* Transparent company, they don't try to hide things, everyone is honest and fair
What do you dislike?
* Incident / Alerting could be improved, with better scoping
* Not something I literally dislike, but as a quite small customer, I'm worried by the IBM acquisition
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
All kind of issues related to infrastructure and application:
* Performance
* Incidents analysis
* Keeping KPI under control
* Releases follow-up
* Kubernetes management
* Debugging (Tracing / Profiling)
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use it, every day, push your team to use it. As any new tool, you need to push yourself to use it to really get the most of its value.
Don't hesitate to give feedback to Instana, via support or via your Customer Success Manager, they are really open to that.


    Leisure, Travel & Tourism

Excelente ferramenta!

  • December 03, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Fácil usabilidade e configuração, é uma ferramenta bem completa
What do you dislike?
Aspectos de infraestrutura podem ser melhorados
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Tenho uma plataforma centralizadas para analisar traces e auxiliar no entendimento de problemas ocorridos


    Fagner L.

Melhor APM do mercado. Implantação transparente e entrega valor muito rápidamente.

  • December 03, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Trabalho atualmente conectado o dia todo no Instana e também usei nos meus 3 ultimos trabalhos.

A implantação é muito simples e o tempo para começar a entregar valor é muito rápido.

As demais ferramentas do mercado são muito complexas comparadas ao Instana.

Nosso processo de treinamento e rollout do conhecimento é muito rápido pois a ferramenta é bem intuitiva.
What do you dislike?
Só tive problemas no passado com implantação em .net muito antigo, mas com PHP e linguagens atualizadas é tudo bem simples.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
O Instana resolve diversos problemas no meu dia a dia.

Utilizo muito para dar visibilidade para os desenvolvedores e corrigir problemas antes do cliente final alarmar.

O Instana exibe as informações de uma forma muito simples e acessivel para qualquer nivel de desenvolvedor.

Tenho um trace completo das request, sem precisar fazer nenhuma manipulação na aplicação.

O processo de IA e identicação de desvios é muito legal e automático.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Utilizei a maioria das ferramentas do mercado.

Gosto muito do Instana, pois é focada em APM e tem um processo de implantação muito simples.

A entrega de valor é momentanea.