Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

94 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Internet

Very good product, developers and customer support are fast to help, deep and helpful functions

  • June 23, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Many and very good monitoring functions!
Insights are given about cetain changes
Easy to setup, easy to use
What do you dislike?
Some small functions are missing (e.g. Usermanagement for different tenants), but are well accepted if complained and reviewed/patched!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Productive outages of our enviroments, user joures and how to make them better. Faster way of finding bugs and errors without have to access the hosts themselfs


    Retail

There are lot's of APM tools around, but I like the way Instana is working with the customer

  • June 23, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- customer feedback really matters
- quick and fast support team
- technical problems are verified and checked really in detail with the customer (whether on Instana side or customer side)
- often new features
- good and frequent contact between Instana and the customer
What do you dislike?
- using Instana for a classic 24/7 On Call Duty isn't the best way. They're doing very well, but it's still an APM tool. You can do it, but it's not the best way for classic infrastructures.
- long time of stability and reliability issues, but they're gone (it has been really worked hard on it)
- sometimes old features get less attention and fail in work during updates of new ones
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Instana is a good tool to find problems, before your complete application goes down
- find performance issues like slow response times even quicker
- better insights in the application for the development to find issues during development and not ont finally on production


    Logistics and Supply Chain

my review

  • June 22, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
encouraged Support, easy usage. very helpful people. Open for feature requests.
What do you dislike?
infrastructure of Instana still not settled. Many errors in the logs, difficult to decide what is important and what not. difficult to manage
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Application performance monitoring
Recommendations to others considering the product:
no


    aaron w.

a flashlight in the dark

  • June 09, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
distributed tracing shows the volume and type of traffic between application components as well as how long each call within a trace takes.
follow-your-nose breadcrumb paradigm: everything is clickable, link-able, and related
monitoring and alerting capabilities
intuitive design and easy to understand ui
instrumentation of almost any technology
super easy installation for any type of environment, whether k8s, bare-metal, or containerized
low-configuration
What do you dislike?
nothing too mentionable really. the only thing that could be better right now is creating alerts based off of information in the ui and perhaps better or more flexible visualization in-product.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
initially, we got instana for root cause analyses of production incidents. we use instana for end user monitoring, rcas/iras, performance testing, monitoring of services, infrastructure, etc., alerting, and so much more. our application is java/scala, and has very large heaps (>200g), so we used instana heavily during the tuning of heaps and garbage collection.

we also ue the tracing quite a bit to understand what code is being invoked, how many times, and in what context. this insight led us to identifying hundreds of instances of unintentional queries, requests for unused information, and unexpected code paths. within the first three months of using instana, we created hundreds of jiras for developers to enhance and refactor code.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
their product is not up to par with the legacy players in the field, like appdynamics, new relic, and dynatrace - instana blows em out of the water! their product is easier to install, maintain, and use. it's significantly more cost-effective, especially for containerized environments. the ability to correlate disparate components' performance and load with other components is invaluable and has saved thousands of man hours over the years within my company. i truly cannot overstate the value of this product. on top of that, this is the only vendor in my decade and a half of being in this career, that feels like working with co-workers. they are proactive in our success, they are communicative, responsible, and accountable, and they are invested in our use-cases and needs. this is not just a good company with a great product, this is a group of people with integrity, humour, knowledge, and domain expertise.


    Thiago F.

Powerful and easy to get it working with AWS and Kubernetes support.

  • June 03, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the simplicity and the flexibility in to deploy the Instana and make it works.

The support provided by their Team is awesome, they accept suggestion and provided the proper training for our development teams.
What do you dislike?
I don't have any point related with the cons.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We want to have our entire infra, based on the AWS cloud monitored also we have multiple Kubernetes clusters that needs to be monitored.
The developers want to know how much resource they are using, not just the AWS components but the Kubernetes namespaces and by using the Instana they have this insights without need to asking to the SRE team.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure that you're using their support and if you have suggestion tell them, they would love to know about.


    Jean-Bastien K.

Instana is the tool you need in a constantly changing world

  • May 29, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The one agent installation and autotracing of all our technologies and the one at our clients. They are really close of the clients in order to take back their feedbacks and implement them in the new releases.
What do you dislike?
The lack of some connections with alerting tools.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Being able to solve my new releases bugs really fast and avoiding war rooms. Stop guessing.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are searching for a product that is up to date to the market needs with a really simple pricing model. You have found your product.


    Leonardo M.

Instana is what you need to monitor your infrastructure/container/app

  • May 27, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Instana allow us to troubleshoot issues easily. But Instana really shines to bring up problems and warnings before it becomes an issue by monitoring the system as a whole.

The capacity of deep-dive from an AWS host with issues into the container into the application is amazing and makes our lives much easier.

The support team was always fast to reply and solve issues together - also to provide way to improve the integration and monitoring.

It allows to create alarms to notify about issues is great too.
What do you dislike?
To be honest no one likes to know that your application has issues - the Instana discover them all. Most importantly they are reported in an easy way to triage and give them priority to be fixed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We had memory leaks, application performance, multiple connections that were done serialized instead of taking advantage of concurrency, low performance SQL and MongoDB. Instana allow us to spot the issues, confirm that changes address them and measure the improvements.

Memory leaks are hard to track and having a tool that help to find out this one is causing it makes a huge different - by spending less time and confirming that the changes where effective.

Application performance are complex to nail down the culprit and having a way to quickly weed out the modules that are working makes it easier. Tracing down the calls from one API to another is huge. It was very interesting to note patterns of the connection.

Some applications were not optimized when calling other services - doing one at the time. Using Instana presented it visually and it was an super easy performance improvement to be implemented and having the same functionality using much less time was great.

We had SQL queries that were causing APIs to have low performance. This was pretty fast to identify the issue, add indexes to the database and seeing the improvement is great.

MongoDB also had issues that were quickly addressed and fixed timely.

I personally really enjoy how fast is to troubleshoot, identify points of failures and after applying the fix, find that it worked without guessing.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a tool to help your environment as a whole - from AWS hosts, to docker swarm, to containers and applications, Instana is invaluable. I strongly recommend Instana.


    Retail

Instana Review

  • May 22, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
support and the time Instana is investing in gathering feedback from their customers
What do you dislike?
major issues from time to time, beside that nothing special
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Application monitoring of microservices
Recommendations to others considering the product:
use the API to define your custom events


    Information Technology and Services

Excellent APM tool

  • May 20, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Instana is tracking both tradition and new apps and provides details insight into application performance
What do you dislike?
Lacking Dashboarding functionality but i heard that they are releasing soon.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we are using instana to solve our day to day app performance issue.


    Education Management

Instana Experience

  • May 19, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Quick and easy dashboard. Support for Kubernetes and Openshift. The Node.js Collector is very comprehensive and is kept up-to-date with frequent updates. Nice selection of charts and graphs and most queries are very responsive. I also love that you can bookmark any page and share it or return to it later.
What do you dislike?
GUI changes often and sometimes significantly making navigation difficult because it constantly changes. Sometimes there are too many updates to the instana collector so I find us releasing new versions to constantly stay current.

I also wish there was more long term trending. After 1 month, all data is "estimated" and I find that it becomes pretty worthless because it's so inaccurate.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Bottlenecks in software deployments. Refining logging by using the logging summary pages.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best instrumentation software out there based on features and price.