Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

31 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Yiorgos [George] A.

Use terraform

  • January 11, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Declarative style for describing infrastructures.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes after application resources need to be recreated while in fact this is not really necessary. The good thing is, as versions progress, this happens less often.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Making infrastructure reviewable, auditable and immutable.


    Information Technology and Services

Automated Deployments to Cloud Easily

  • November 18, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to deploy the same infrastructure across many accounts
Easy to write syntax and understand
What do you dislike?
The documentation is a bit poor. This could be improved with viable options for parameters
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Deploying infrastructure automatically across multiple accounts, not having to manually click and worrying about human error when deploying


    Sarthak T.

Great

  • September 24, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Terraform gives you the ability to create your infrastructure. I have used terraform for creating infrastructure on AWS.
What do you dislike?
I haven't faced any specific issues, as of now.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It allows to write the script with inbuilt modules to create components, taking an example of AWS
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to secure your infrastructure without allowing changes from user interface that are more vulnerable and can affect the whole infra, instead go for a terraform that can plan your needs , apply them potentially


    Ranjith S.

Best Infra as a code service/solution

  • July 31, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Currently automating aws infra with the help of terraform. This has made deployment of environments a breeze. The structure of terraform files are easy to understand and modify. This makes it very easy to code with fewer lines of code. Though it has a bit of initial learning curve, once you understand how to use it its very easy to manage and update.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the deployment takes long, mostly due to a dependency while modifying. The enterprise version is very costly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Automating AWS infrastructure creation / maintenance
- Migration from one cloud vendor to another


    Thati S.

Terraform the great IAAC tool

  • July 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
First of all i would like to thank hashi corp for the getting this tool in to the market
The reason for this statement is
I really like the tool the way it organised in terms of setting up the infrastructure
I am part of the multiple projects were we use aws and gcp cloud provides for my projects.
Initially we use the AWS cloud formation in the aws cloud and similarly deployment manager in the gcp, were i could find very difficult using those, it has the different interface and the usage is completely different, Were when i start using the terraform i really loved it the way it works and the options it has i.e. providers, resources and etc and it is easy to write and understanding it uses the HCL(Hashi corp configuration Language)

Here are the below attracts more
1) Mentioning the Resources and providers
2) We can Destroy the infrastructure at a ease way
3) Liked the Desired state and the current state, i.e. when any manual changes happen in the console level and when we check using terraform refresh it updates in the tfstate file, this is basically the current state and easily know what are the changes it was done
4) As per the experience i have and faced in providing the version number while implementing the terraform,
Example : when we are setting the dev env the provider version is different and when setting up the production the provider version is different so it might break the chain and some resources might have the higher update.
5) It gives us the option to check even in the 3 rd party types and HCl is verifying those too.
6) were we used the from a file concept i.e. we use main.tf, variables.tf and dev.tfars similarlly qa.tfvars and etc.
7) We use to enable the logs for tracking purpose
8) Using terraform we can taint the resources and unwanted things can be easily destroyed.
9) It has the good feature of lock state
10) We can add the new resources in the middle of the working env were it does not effect the present infrastructure
What do you dislike?
Only one thing in terms of dis like is the concept called import
Eg : if any one set up the any resources and if we want the same in terms of the HCL we have to write by checking the resources and it is tricky and not a good practice too. i feel there is a next release i.e. terraform 0.13 which is releasing on Aug 12th 2020
Expecting that this new feature should automate like entering terraform import should get the existing resources or infrastructure.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As i said Initially i was using the aws cloud formation for setting up the infrastructure in AWS, Similarly using deployment manager in GCP, So it avoids using the multiple tools and made it easy with the HCL.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Folks, If you want to set up the infrastructure then think Terraform, it really reduce our effort in lots and ease of setting up the things and exposure also great once the engineer habituate with this tool def. it solves many issues and made it simple.
I really thank full to hashi corp for getting this kind of tool in the market and made is success.


    Computer Software

Best and user friendly

  • July 20, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's very easy to use and learn. Useful across all cloud platform.
What do you dislike?
Documentation can be modified a bit. This will help to beginners.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am able to deploy VMs very consistent manner.


    Vinayak S.

Versioning your infrastructure

  • July 05, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
You can version you infrastructure along with your code. So rollbacks are easy.
What do you dislike?
There terraform files Aren't programmatic and are based on desired state. Them being programmatic can help add additional functionality.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Automating acquiring of resources and their management at one single place along with added benefits


    Siddhartha K.

My experience with terraform has been pretty good so far

  • July 03, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Shorter learning curve, if you are already familiar similar stuff like CloudFormation.
What do you dislike?
I think more and better quality tutorial and courses would definitely help
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Automate my deployments on AWS
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would highly recommend using Terraform for all cloud computing professionals. Although I use it only for AWS right now, but, I believe it will be much easier to switch to any other cloud provider with help of Terraform


    Anandprakash T.

Great infrastructure provison and management tool

  • July 03, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Integration with packer and ansible is good.
What do you dislike?
HCl script language can be more easy to write.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Deploying and managing infrastructure on cloud. Easy to understand.


    Vivek T.

create cloud Infrastructure in minimum time

  • June 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1) Infrastructure as a code.
2) Easy templates and module.
3) Time saving in creating multiple infrastructure over supported cloud platform.
4) Template logic and code is user-friendly an easy to understand.
5) Best use cases can be obtain with AWS cloud.
What do you dislike?
None as per now. Feature releases could be less frequent so that end client could do required version based changes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1) Automation of cloud based infrastructure.
2) Cloud resources creation in less time by using variables and data within workspaces.
3) Single template can be used in multiple environments.
4) Manual intervention over cloud become less.
5) Integrate your terraform template and code with repository system so that user activity over resource creation and update can be easily track .
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to save time in cloud based infrastructure and resource automation then should try Terraform. Easy to implement and use.