Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

36 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Prinka J.

Best available tool for infrastructure provisioning.

  • September 16, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Terraform language is easy to learn that i learned it within weeks. It's concept is easy to implement and we can provision infrastructure that too of organisation level.
What do you dislike?
If in case we loose the state file then we need to either manually manage the resources or import all the resources back into the terraform.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It ease to manage the infrastructure provisioning and all the infrastructure resources can be created on hitting few commands. It does help in code reusability and working in a team for creating huge infrastructure with automation.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Please select backend wisely as you may compromise with sensitive data or keys.


    Information Services

Excellent tool for cloud resource provisioning and versioning

  • September 02, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Terraform is the central management repository of your cloud resources, separation of resources according to teams' needs, and ability to automate provisioning.
What do you dislike?
It could take several minutes to run a plan for a slight change if you have thousands of resources in your project.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Automate cloud resources provisioning, change tracking, and versioning. Terraform enables devops and IaS.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Review the list of supported cloud providers as well as services that Terraform versions supports.


    Saqib M.

Great tool for centrally managing Cloud resources

  • August 23, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Terraform allowed us to bring DevOps practices to managing the cloud infrastructure as Infrastructure-as -Code. We have solutions spanning across multiple providers and we employ Terraform to centrally manage our resources. We maintain a codebase for Infrastructure-as-Code on our enterprise git. We have create a DevOps cycles using Jenkins automation server.

Our infrastructure engineering team has implemented the DevOps process to maintaining the Infrastructure-as-Code to provision cloud resource. This brings us to enforcing company-wide governance and compliance policies.

Reusabilty is another aspect I like about Terraform. We create modules for our small solutions then we usethose modules in our other complex solutions. We create module so that we do not have to implement compliance and least-privileges security every time in our solutions architecture. Reusing prebuilt modules help us focus on the overall architecture than worrying about compliance or security of resources provisioned by the module, since they already passed the compliance and security threshold.

We can quickly provision resources to various providers using Terraform. This further allows us to make small changes quickly to our existing infrastructure provisioned via Terraform. In other words, it provides ease of provisioning and managing the resources on different providers.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes, we are stuck with some issues and could not get around as those are the known issues. It's an open-source project, so we can expect to have such discrepancies.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We implemented the DevOps process in the provisioning and management of our cloud infrastructure. We maintain a repo of infrastructure as code with Pipelines created in Jenkins that provisions and manages the cloud infrastructure in dev and prod environments.

We create reusable modules that could be referred to in complex architectures later on.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For your cloud infrastructure management, I recommend using Terraform. Terraform allows the central management of all infrastructure in any supported cloud provider. Terraform is a way to implement the DevOps process in infrastructure management, which could greatly simplify the coding, testing, provisioning, and improvement cycles for infrastructure management


    ANurag T.

Leading Infrastructure As Code management tool

  • July 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Hashicorp made it opensource so we're free to write our own providers.
It has large community and a huge set of providers which contains ton of modules.
What do you dislike?
Functionality gets changed in every version of Terraform, If you've written IaC in version x than there are higher chances that IaC won't work in the newer versions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In my org there was a challenge to write IaC for the existing deployed infrastructure and terraform helped us, it's very easy to write IaC for an existing infrastructure using Terraform.

Using terraform now it's very easy to figure out the bugs in infrastructure configuration.


    Thati S.

Terraform the great IAAC tool

  • July 13, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
First of all i would like to thank hashi corp for the getting this tool in to the market
The reason for this statement is
I really like the tool the way it organised in terms of setting up the infrastructure
I am part of the multiple projects were we use aws and gcp cloud provides for my projects.
Initially we use the AWS cloud formation in the aws cloud and similarly deployment manager in the gcp, were i could find very difficult using those, it has the different interface and the usage is completely different, Were when i start using the terraform i really loved it the way it works and the options it has i.e. providers, resources and etc and it is easy to write and understanding it uses the HCL(Hashi corp configuration Language)

Here are the below attracts more
1) Mentioning the Resources and providers
2) We can Destroy the infrastructure at a ease way
3) Liked the Desired state and the current state, i.e. when any manual changes happen in the console level and when we check using terraform refresh it updates in the tfstate file, this is basically the current state and easily know what are the changes it was done
4) As per the experience i have and faced in providing the version number while implementing the terraform,
Example : when we are setting the dev env the provider version is different and when setting up the production the provider version is different so it might break the chain and some resources might have the higher update.
5) It gives us the option to check even in the 3 rd party types and HCl is verifying those too.
6) were we used the from a file concept i.e. we use main.tf, variables.tf and dev.tfars similarlly qa.tfvars and etc.
7) We use to enable the logs for tracking purpose
8) Using terraform we can taint the resources and unwanted things can be easily destroyed.
9) It has the good feature of lock state
10) We can add the new resources in the middle of the working env were it does not effect the present infrastructure
What do you dislike?
Only one thing in terms of dis like is the concept called import
Eg : if any one set up the any resources and if we want the same in terms of the HCL we have to write by checking the resources and it is tricky and not a good practice too. i feel there is a next release i.e. terraform 0.13 which is releasing on Aug 12th 2020
Expecting that this new feature should automate like entering terraform import should get the existing resources or infrastructure.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As i said Initially i was using the aws cloud formation for setting up the infrastructure in AWS, Similarly using deployment manager in GCP, So it avoids using the multiple tools and made it easy with the HCL.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Folks, If you want to set up the infrastructure then think Terraform, it really reduce our effort in lots and ease of setting up the things and exposure also great once the engineer habituate with this tool def. it solves many issues and made it simple.
I really thank full to hashi corp for getting this kind of tool in the market and made is success.


    James M.

Infrastructure as code

  • June 18, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ability to deploy replicable infrastructure quickly and easily
documentation on there website for each provider also has examples which makes it a lot easier to learn
Can be used with a lot of different providers unlike somthing like cloudformation which can only be used with AWS
What do you dislike?
sometimes hard to get it to do exactly what you want it to do due to it being there own programming language
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using this to make sure that are environments are all the same. when we need to deploy a new environment using terraform saves us around 5 days of manual work and means that little things dont get forgotten about or missed
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend using terraform over somthing like cloudformation on AWS once you have learnt how it works you can use it with different providers


    Yiorgos [George] A.

Use terraform

  • January 11, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Declarative style for describing infrastructures.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes after application resources need to be recreated while in fact this is not really necessary. The good thing is, as versions progress, this happens less often.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Making infrastructure reviewable, auditable and immutable.


    Information Technology and Services

Automated Deployments to Cloud Easily

  • November 18, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to deploy the same infrastructure across many accounts
Easy to write syntax and understand
What do you dislike?
The documentation is a bit poor. This could be improved with viable options for parameters
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Deploying infrastructure automatically across multiple accounts, not having to manually click and worrying about human error when deploying


    Sarthak T.

Great

  • September 24, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Terraform gives you the ability to create your infrastructure. I have used terraform for creating infrastructure on AWS.
What do you dislike?
I haven't faced any specific issues, as of now.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It allows to write the script with inbuilt modules to create components, taking an example of AWS
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to secure your infrastructure without allowing changes from user interface that are more vulnerable and can affect the whole infra, instead go for a terraform that can plan your needs , apply them potentially


    Ranjith S.

Best Infra as a code service/solution

  • July 31, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Currently automating aws infra with the help of terraform. This has made deployment of environments a breeze. The structure of terraform files are easy to understand and modify. This makes it very easy to code with fewer lines of code. Though it has a bit of initial learning curve, once you understand how to use it its very easy to manage and update.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the deployment takes long, mostly due to a dependency while modifying. The enterprise version is very costly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Automating AWS infrastructure creation / maintenance
- Migration from one cloud vendor to another