Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Netspectrum's Ubuntu Desktop 20.04 LTS (x86_64)

Netspectrum Inc. | x86_64-20.04lts-210511-210515

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews

External reviews

30 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Retail

OS for developers

  • November 14, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is linux based operating system with clean & simple design and powerfyterminal
Being a developer i can find each and every software, tool, editor etc for ubuntu(linux).
The RAM management in ubuntu is superb, for example android studio in windows 10 with sane configuration do not run smoothly but works well in it
For initial ubuntu user i recommend person to use gnome tweek tool to add some windows like feature
What do you dislike?
Settings is not that simple.
Specially settings environment variables through.bashrc file
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Resource management - ubuntu uses very less resources which allows application to run smoothly
2. Terminal - in windows we need different terminal for each like git bash, node cmd etc but in ubuntu single terminal is capable of doing everything
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have newly started using ubuntu then install gnome tweek for getting windows like feature


    Pratham V.

Faster than windows but difficult to manipulate.

  • November 13, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Fast and ease of Installing software's.Also we can manipulate anything as it is open source.It also posses large variety of open source software and it's freely available.Making it available for people's even with budget problems.
What do you dislike?
Difficult to manipulate sometimes due to variety of different errors as everything is controlled by user.Also it is strictly for bussiness purposes and can't play or test games in this.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use it to for development purposes using node js.It is easier to manipulate and faster working than windows for development.Also it provides much larger variety of development tools.It also has better and freely available tools.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use it if you require more control and try to understand the system.There can be errors but try to learn about it.


    Mahesh K.

user friendly and open source

  • November 11, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love the gui which which comes along with ubuntu desktop version. Its user friendly and very easy to work with. Installation can be done very fast and its open source to use. I have worked with both ubuntu 14 and ubuntu 16 versions. Though it does not require antivirus we use Mcafee to protect the system. you also get community support for the issues.
What do you dislike?
Since it is a open source getting support for application compatibility and other stuff is difficult. Some softwares are not compatible with ubuntu and we dont get required drivers. GUI has to be improved more.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I regularly work with ubuntu and interact with users when they face any kind of issues which are related to application which they are running on ubuntu. I mostly solve issues related to ssl on ubuntu and disk related issues. Also issues related to deployment from vrealize automation.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy to use and its open source. GUI is good and it has to be improved. I will definitely recommend to use and experience the ubuntu desktop version.


    Anjali P.

Ubuntu Desktop Review

  • November 06, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Virus Free, More secure
- No blue screen of death, no random reboots
- Easy to maintain and update
- Doing things on terminal is way faster than doing it with a Graphical User Interface
- Amazing for developers who want to go straight to development
- Easy to use for developers who are adept with command line
- Heavily supported by a wide users of Ubuntu Community
- Ubuntu is preferred for wide variety of emerging technologies like Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning
- Makes it easy for the developers to develop things locally and later deploy it globally
- You can always use ubuntu with windows and Mac by using a virtual machine or dual boot it with the existing OS
What do you dislike?
- Might not be handy for users who are not developers and cannot find their way through the command line
- Might have to use Vim editor for coding (not an ideal option for people who are not developers)
- For easier use, some amount of technical expertise is required.
- Technical expertise is required for adding ubuntu with the existing operating system
- Not user friendly for people who are not having a programming experience, specially if they are transitioning from Mac or Windows
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Software Programming and Development
- Virus Free, More secure
- No blue screen of death, no random reboots
- Easy to maintain and update
- Doing things on terminal is way faster than doing it with a Graphical User Interface
- Amazing for developers who want to go straight to development
- Easy to use for developers who are adept with command line
- Heavily supported by a wide users of Ubuntu Community
- Ubuntu is preferred for wide variety of emerging technologies like Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning
- Makes it easy for the developers to develop things locally and later deploy it globally
Recommendations to others considering the product:
- Any questions related to ubuntu can be easily found on Stack Overflow and Ubuntu Community


    mohamed a.

ubntu vs windows for me

  • November 05, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
the GUI and the Desktop appearance and its easy to use like windows but its more faster and stable than it and its fast on startup and shutdown the GUI and the Desktop appearance and its easy to use like windows but its more faster and stable than it and its fast on startup and shutdown and i can recommend it to my customer the GUI and the Desktop appearance and its easy to use like windows but its more faster and stable than it and its fast on startup and shutdown the GUI and the Desktop appearance and its easy to use like windows but its more faster and stable than it and its fast on startup and shutdown and i can recommend it to my customer
What do you dislike?
the coding in anything u want to do or install anything because sometimes not all peoloe have langue pregaming and didn't coding or love to dcode we need something easy and i dislike also i can't start games on it i need market place like windows on it to can installed app on it or buying app from it the GUI and the Desktop appearance and its easy to use like windows but its more faster and stable than it and its fast on startup and shutdown the GUI and the Desktop appearance and its easy to use like windows but its more faster and stable than it and its fast on startup and shutdown
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
scalability and ratability and its fast more than windows an stable and i installed software on it and it working fine and i can't open in in windows the GUI and the Desktop appearance and its easy to use like windows but its more faster and stable than it and its fast on startup and shutdown the GUI and the Desktop appearance and its easy to use like windows but its more faster and stable than it and its fast on startup and shutdown
Recommendations to others considering the product:
the GUI and the Desktop appearance and its easy to use like windows but its more faster and stable than it and its fast on startup and shutdown the GUI and the Desktop appearance and its easy to use like windows but its more faster and stable than it and its fast on startup and shutdown the GUI and the Desktop appearance and its easy to use like windows but its more faster and stable than it and its fast on startup and shutdown and i can recommend it to my customer


    Computer Software

Very user-friendly and Linux beginner-friendly.

  • October 31, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The operating system offers a very easy first step into the world of Linux without too many hoops to jump through and without a huge learning curve.
What do you dislike?
The operating system is slowly being bloated.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Coding and security duties. The operating system is very configurable yet intuitive and easy to use.


    Scott B.

Ubiquitous for a reason

  • October 30, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The nearly endless customization options that exist for Linux distros in general is just mind-blowing. Coming from Windows, it was very much like switching from an iPhone to Android. Similar but not at all the same.
What do you dislike?
I do wish that it were easier to set up things to run automatically, you're in full control of your system (which is amazing), but at the same time...YOU are in full control (meaning you have to do everything). I also wish it were possible to dial back on the security and incessant password entering and re-entering. Most people are using Ubuntu as a single user on a personal computer, so all the levels of user permissions and whatnot are just unnecessary.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I switched to Ubuntu from a lifetime on Windows mainly to see what all the fuss was about. People either love linux, or they hate it, and I just wanted to give it a go. I still haven't switched back to windows, and I've learned SO MUCH about how computers and software work just by hacking away and tweaking my system to my liking.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be ready to dig in to obscure forum posts and spending many many hours googling solutions to your problems or questions. Good news is that there are a million resources out there to help. Bad news is...that also means that there are a million different answers to the same problem, and none of them are wrong.


    User in Information Technology and Services

That's best OS for IT engineer.

  • October 29, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I use it for my Linux subsystem in windows. It was a great solution to combine Linux and windows on one laptop. It fulfills so many of my needs. Ubuntu is the best desktop Unix OS.
What do you dislike?
I don't know any major problems with ubuntu. Maybe I wish there were more apps for ubuntu but it also not an ubuntu problem
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Ubuntu at my work for managing Unix servers. Automating my daily tasks.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great OS. just go for it. You will not regret it.


    Jacob M.

Ubuntu Desktop : The simplest user friendly open source pack

  • October 17, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
free downloads of apps like spotify,vlc,slack,even telegram.
What do you dislike?
a bit more graphics can be added.
like we can give a little more customizations for themes and backgrounds
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As this is an open source tool we use it for most of our devices.price comparing to other os is 0%.
ubuntu has all the features just similar to other paid operating systems.budget friendly secure,user friendly platform,easy to use.can be trained for students as they have both user friendly gui and terminal(command line) services.it comes with pre installed games and applications.even the ubuntu software centre(which is the market to download applications or games consist of large amount of open source tools which can be hepful for let it be organization or personal use of schools).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
if you are looking for a budget friendly operating system consider ubuntu.
it has around 50 languages support. I checked many os for review as i need to select one of the best OS for my entreprise. compared ubuntu with other operating systems and found ubuntu is the best.


    Developersvault

Terrible - can not even log in

  • October 05, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Despite their simple instructions and me doing a couple of hours of research, there is no way to log into this machine using VNC. Don't waste your time on this one. I feel like I just made a donation to the cause from my wallet today.