Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Progress OpenEdge RDBMS

Progress Software | Progress OpenEdge RDBMS 12.3.0

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

31 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Logistics and Supply Chain

Frustratingly Robust; When the Sunk Cost Fallacy meets Customer Service

  • February 10, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The OpenEdge team tries it's damned hardest to stay relevant despite the product being both proprietary and relative nobodies. You have to love that kind of Moxie.
That said, they are very good at keeping up to date with the needs of the modern business.
What do you dislike?
There's nothing I dislike, per se. In fact, Progress OpenEdge has made it easy to use a very modern tech-stack, but the price definitely makes it a hard product to argue for with the management. Since ABL is proprietary, regardless of it's own strengths, you're naturally going to have programmers with zero experience, let alone awareness of the language. That's a LOT of barrier to entry.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Progress had previously been chosen partly because it was the tech-stack that built the accounting software our company chose. Aside from staying in the eco-system, the best benefit of ABL is simply having a language so close to the DB. And, though we're shifting our tech-stack now, we can't deny that it was also easier to share with Project Managers and have them understand it in it's "business logic turned programming language" way.


    Binod G.

Quick and easy to use

  • February 01, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
4GL query is the best part and other simple functions.
What do you dislike?
It is different from other programming languages so it's less likely helpful when you write a query in other languages.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm writing SOAP services and I needed an asynchronous method that returns a response immediately after receiving a request.


    Scott B.

Progress OpenEdge - a tried and true business application development environment

  • January 28, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have utilized the Progress OpenEdge platform within many large and medium size corporations over the past three decades and it has been, by far, the most robust, cost effective and enduring environments I have experienced. While other platforms require frequent (costly) migrations to stay abreast of their technologies, Progress Software has continued to deliver a consistent progressive software platform that retains backward compatibility while being able to take advantage of new innovations.
What do you dislike?
While the Progress OpenEdge environment is used worldwide, the size of the company compared to the Microsofts of the world sometimes makes it difficult for companies to "justify" its adoption.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When our consultancy delivers a Progress OpenEdge solution to our clients, we have the confidence in knowing that it will endure for years without any major rewrites required by the deprecation experienced in many other platforms. The robustness and productivity of the OpenEdge Advanced Business Logic (ABL) enables our developers to really focus on the the encapsulation of the required business rules as opposed to being caught up in coding lower level syntax. Additionally, the OpenEdge applications run under Windows, Unix and Linux environments with minimal development concerns.


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Progress OpenEdge has capabilities years ago which other platforms are catching up on

  • January 21, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to learn and very standardised. Not a lot of low-level coding required.
What do you dislike?
Not much to dislike, more about limitations. Multiple layers in the libraries can impact of processing speeds.

Not a lot of people know about Progress/OpenEdge, hence its strength is not well known. Hence becomes a niche skill.

Not easily enable transferring skills to a non-Progress platform, as the market lack understanding of one's Progress skillset
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Not currently working with Progress OpenEdge, due to lack of work available for this skill set
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great product to work with. Organisations considering OpenEdge will need to consider, how well the OpenEdge product will need to integrate with non-OpenEdge products.

Also, being aware of the lack of widely available resources with the skillset


    Outsourcing/Offshoring

Able to create an application of car management together with my team of four during the internship.

  • January 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What I like the most was the way you can develop code from database to the UI.
What do you dislike?
What I think it’s a downside of ProgressOpen Edge is the ugly UI.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The program shows a high capability of developing business apps.


    Auchitha K.

Suit for any env

  • January 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Database structure, brokers and performance
What do you dislike?
License model, pricing clustering and technical tips
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To achieve quick response and higher data writing
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It os good in replication mode, clustering on linux may the issue .


    Retail

Its quite easy technology to learn and use it . Also concepts are easy to understand .

  • January 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
its embedded database worlds wide. Also self tuning capabilities. Transparent data encryption.
What do you dislike?
Its duplication of indexes. Indexes can be slowdown the processes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Multiple scenarios like creating multi machine screens etc


    Daniel F.

It is a nice programming language, but it has some little flaws

  • January 14, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I liked a lot that the Database and the language coexist on the same IDE, you don't need to open third party IDE for Database and programming, also, as how it has evolved, it doesn't have anything to envy to the most used languages as java since it has been adding new features.
What do you dislike?
The graphic interface for the Database features, if I need to choose, I prefer using code than the graphic interface
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When I was working with it, it was like any other language, I consumes web services, and created enterprise software
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it a try, is something you need to try before you can make your mind to use it or not


    Internal Consultant in Automotive

Best productivity for business software

  • January 13, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenEdge has the good tools to be productive for developing business software. Its ascendant compatibility makes it good for durable software. It has also all the tools to develop modern software, a performant application server (Pacific) and integration with the latest technologies.
The RDBMS has nothing to envy to more known ones; furthermore it does not need a DBA constantly monitoring it. You can often forget the database for years without the need of one.
Also the ABL language (like stored procedures in SQL or the old SQL*Forms, but updated to more modern standards) is quite easy to learn for newcomers in the team, provided they are a bit curious. On the other side it allows for complex things, has (almost) all the modern object oriented support you need.
What do you dislike?
Being quite a little "niche", there is not the same amount of documentation, tutorials or feedback to be found on internet as some concurrent technologies have.
Nor are there many libraries you can choose from (apart some open source, and a few commercial solutions like pdfInclude - equivalent to iText for Java - to generate pdf files), not many pure ALB solutions are available, making the integration of 3rd party libraries sometimes cumbersome.
This makes the discovery of new functionality a bit difficult sometimes. But this is covered by a good technical support. Also the OpenEdge ABL virtual machine lacks the performance of some competitors, which only shows in algorithm intensive processes (the database having a very good performance).
Finally I find it a pity they have moved their GUI stuff to maintenance mode, which pushes us to the web or .Net frontends, thus making necessary to have more skills in the same team.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are maintaining some applications deployed worldwide, having a long history, and still on the edge to this day. We are also developing new ones, with the latest technologies.


    Paul R.

OpenEdge Review

  • January 13, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Openedge is a very friendly language, easy to follow and understand yet powerful with a fast and efficient 4GL database.
What do you dislike?
Since the release of classroom editions it has opened it's doors to a wider audience, it's a shame it took so long for this to happen but is a welcome addition to those wishing to learn the language. A more diverse training regime including more YouTube or social media outlets for learning would be a welcome addition.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Within the retail sector, we use OpenEdge to solve a wide and diverse range of problems, from simple reporting to more complex solutions to automate the business in the face of the Covid19 pandemic. OpenEdge has proved invaluable in facilitating this transition without too many hurdles, allowing us to react fast to resolve issues surrounding working from home and reporting by email.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try the classroom edition and speak with existing user in the OpenEdge community, always best to ask those that use the product.