Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Progress OpenEdge RDBMS

Progress Software | Progress OpenEdge RDBMS 12.2.12 (May 2023)

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

47 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Hospital & Health Care

effortless application development

  • June 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Smart objects and appserver concept i liked most.
What do you dislike about the product?
should giving the exact error message when we have 3 tier application architature .
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We used to implement new requirements, business logic. Easy to understand the complex code.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Develop the application effortlessly.


    Farhan A.

Progress 4gl/OpenEdge Developer have more than 6 years of experience

  • June 12, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It supports both procedural-oriented and Object-oriented programming styles, which makes it to use for modern applications and the support of the legacy application. It also provides to build web-based application using web speed and stand alone apllication using GUI. Its support both Linux and Windows operating System.
What do you dislike about the product?
Not much help or documentation available as compare to others programming languages.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am working for IFDS as an application develper. We build CHUI and batch programs using progress code.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is an incredible development language with various features which will suit your requirements.


    Mallikarjuna P.

OpenEdge has own platforms to build Business Applications

  • June 11, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Progress OpenEdge is easy to understand and build applications.
What do you dislike about the product?
Job oppurtunities are very less.
As this is to build business applications.
This technology also should have customers with front end technologies like reactjs,angularjs.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Building automation process which will take very less time than manual process.


    Soumya R M.

It's easy to learn and is a nice platform to work on!!

  • June 11, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
1. Progress openedge is stable, secured and trust worthy platform.
2. Its powerful engine is capable of handling huge volume of data.
3. It's pretty easy.
4. Syntax is simple and easy to read.
5. Easy set up and configuration.
6. Niche skill in market. So developers get better salary hike.
What do you dislike about the product?
- Lack of popularity
- Less opportunities for developers
- Lack of web reference resources
- Still a niche skill in market as compared to oracle.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
1. Progress version migration.

2. Automation of business problems.

3. Low code programming with 4th generation language.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good to learn and implement


    Dushan B.

I am working on Progress 4GL for the past 9 years. It’s a very good platform to work on

  • June 09, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Security, less complecated and redundant
What do you dislike about the product?
I feel it is a bit more costlier than other DB technologies
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Less problematic, secured data ma
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is a secured platform


    Logistics and Supply Chain

Frustratingly Robust; When the Sunk Cost Fallacy meets Customer Service

  • February 10, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The OpenEdge team tries it's damned hardest to stay relevant despite the product being both proprietary and relative nobodies. You have to love that kind of Moxie.
That said, they are very good at keeping up to date with the needs of the modern business.
What do you dislike about the product?
There's nothing I dislike, per se. In fact, Progress OpenEdge has made it easy to use a very modern tech-stack, but the price definitely makes it a hard product to argue for with the management. Since ABL is proprietary, regardless of it's own strengths, you're naturally going to have programmers with zero experience, let alone awareness of the language. That's a LOT of barrier to entry.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Progress had previously been chosen partly because it was the tech-stack that built the accounting software our company chose. Aside from staying in the eco-system, the best benefit of ABL is simply having a language so close to the DB. And, though we're shifting our tech-stack now, we can't deny that it was also easier to share with Project Managers and have them understand it in it's "business logic turned programming language" way.


    Binod G.

Quick and easy to use

  • February 01, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
4GL query is the best part and other simple functions.
What do you dislike about the product?
It is different from other programming languages so it's less likely helpful when you write a query in other languages.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm writing SOAP services and I needed an asynchronous method that returns a response immediately after receiving a request.


    Scott B.

Progress OpenEdge - a tried and true business application development environment

  • January 28, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I have utilized the Progress OpenEdge platform within many large and medium size corporations over the past three decades and it has been, by far, the most robust, cost effective and enduring environments I have experienced. While other platforms require frequent (costly) migrations to stay abreast of their technologies, Progress Software has continued to deliver a consistent progressive software platform that retains backward compatibility while being able to take advantage of new innovations.
What do you dislike about the product?
While the Progress OpenEdge environment is used worldwide, the size of the company compared to the Microsofts of the world sometimes makes it difficult for companies to "justify" its adoption.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
When our consultancy delivers a Progress OpenEdge solution to our clients, we have the confidence in knowing that it will endure for years without any major rewrites required by the deprecation experienced in many other platforms. The robustness and productivity of the OpenEdge Advanced Business Logic (ABL) enables our developers to really focus on the the encapsulation of the required business rules as opposed to being caught up in coding lower level syntax. Additionally, the OpenEdge applications run under Windows, Unix and Linux environments with minimal development concerns.


    Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Progress OpenEdge has capabilities years ago which other platforms are catching up on

  • January 21, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Easy to learn and very standardised. Not a lot of low-level coding required.
What do you dislike about the product?
Not much to dislike, more about limitations. Multiple layers in the libraries can impact of processing speeds.

Not a lot of people know about Progress/OpenEdge, hence its strength is not well known. Hence becomes a niche skill.

Not easily enable transferring skills to a non-Progress platform, as the market lack understanding of one's Progress skillset
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Not currently working with Progress OpenEdge, due to lack of work available for this skill set
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great product to work with. Organisations considering OpenEdge will need to consider, how well the OpenEdge product will need to integrate with non-OpenEdge products.

Also, being aware of the lack of widely available resources with the skillset


    Outsourcing/Offshoring

Able to create an application of car management together with my team of four during the internship.

  • January 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
What I like the most was the way you can develop code from database to the UI.
What do you dislike about the product?
What I think it’s a downside of ProgressOpen Edge is the ugly UI.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The program shows a high capability of developing business apps.