Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Netspectrum's Ubuntu Desktop 20.04 LTS (arm64)

Netspectrum Inc. | arm64-20.04lts-211118-211122

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

68 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Craig A.

A versatile desktop for more common computing tasks

  • November 30, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The UI has come along way to help the migration of Windows centric users feel at home on a non windows OS. The productivity applications are getting comprehensive too.
What do you dislike?
The patching process can still be cumbersome to automate and control to the same level as Windows Operating Systems. Antivirus offerings can also be more limited than Windows or Mac offerings.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We quickly needed to redeploy our backlog of older laptops with a standardized and supported Operating System at the start of 2020 to some of our employees. The organization required this in response to the Covid 19 lockdowns and many users not having suitable hardware in their homes. It is important to note most of our business and productivity apps are SaaS-delivered, so we had limited to no issues with application compatibility.


    Primary/Secondary Education

You can' t go wrong with this Beauty

  • November 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
In recent Ubuntus, the UI has become much better again. I like the colors and the software of the the normal desktop install. It' s NOT cluttered, there is easy scaling for any laptop and it works well in a VM.
What do you dislike?
Still a bit heavy. I'd like the topbar to have an easy scaling method. For all the rest, wow, Open Source has proven it's here to stay. Xubuntu and some other derivatives are speedier.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's a free system. I can use it in VMs on a powerful Chromebook; this gives me programs I can not load in Crostini and need for my job as a linguist, really!!


    Nelson T.

Ununtu, 5 years+ using it!

  • November 23, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease to update; no cost for the company; massive amount of software; easy to add app repositories.
What do you dislike?
Not that easy to work it on new computers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is all about costs and security. Ubuntu is user-friendly and reliable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
One significant advantage of using Linux is customization. Test the different flavors of Ubuntu, and you will find one suitable for your needs without a doubt.


    Computer Hardware

How Easy It is to use Ubuntu

  • November 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Downloading and installing Ubuntu is free and costs only time to install it. One can download from the internet or create an ISO bootable disk, and after it, the environment is ready to launch. It is a beautiful desktop operating system, any computer user can use it. it boots faster than Windows, gets less infected, provides various free of cost IDEs.
What do you dislike?
Driver issues or compatibility between the operating system and the hardware specifications of computers. The wireless card drivers is not working and a printer not connecting to the computer due to an unidentified hardware problem.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use ubuntu to code web applications because of available support. I can find the features of the Ubuntu operating system for stability, continuous updates, and security.


    Yiorgos [George] A.

prolong the life of your old computer

  • November 14, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I have an 2010 27" iMac. Running MacOS X on this machine (no SSD) became unbearably slow. And then when I installed Ubuntu on it, life returned to the machine. You could browse with as many tabs as you liked and I even run Windows 10 Home on a VirtualBox inside it without issues. It sure gave the machine two more years of use.
What do you dislike?
Bluetooth support is awful. I cannot begin to describe how much. As a result I was using a USB Apple keyboard and a wireless mouse with a USB dongle. Also, every time I've tried to use Bluetooth headphones the result was disappointing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It allows me to keep a perfectly functioning machine in use for longer. It allows me to run Linux on a good hardware without the fuss of searching and / or configuring drivers. It is a viable third alternative to Windows and MacOS X, if you want to do web browsing, word processing (Libreoffice and Google docs are good alternatives) and ssh. I can also run docker containers and microk8s at ease.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're an IT professional, give it a shot. If you have children, let them try this. They will teach you how to use it after.


    Mandar P.

One of the Pioneers of the Open Source Community

  • November 12, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
- A Free alternative to Windows Operating System.
-One of the best option for beginners who wants to understand Linux.
- Clutter-free and can run on older computers
What do you dislike?
- UI is still in nascent stage.
- Poor support for graphic drivers.
- Some apps like MS office are still not available after this many years.
- Not many games to play from
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- Powerful command-line tools, vast support for development tools can be utilized to design & develop a variety of web & desktop applications, such as applications for another operating system such as Android.


    Mushtaq A.

One of the Best Debian based Open-source Unix operating system

  • November 11, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is Open source and understandable to anyone who is switching from windows.
It works both with UI operations and command operations.
Clean UI and smooth performance with no bloatware.
What do you dislike?
Nothing much, But better to have more options to customize desktop UI
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am learning Unix commands and daily driver for me.


    Civic & Social Organization

One of the best OS for linux starter

  • November 09, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Certain things makes ubuntu ahead of other operating systems out there, such as
1. Easy to use GUI for people getting started in Linux
2. Easier to customize
What do you dislike?
Since, ubuntu offers great start for people with no experience in Linux yet, it still doesnot give the complete control over the hardware which other OS such as arch linux offers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. Development becomes easier while working on Ubuntu rather than other OS out there
2. GUI offered by the OS is pretty good


    Consumer Services

Recommended Desktop for people who love command based interface

  • November 05, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Most trusted, fast, lightweight, command-based desktop. I have a repetitive strain injury & this desktop is perfect for me as I could use less mouse and more commands.
What do you dislike?
I loved this desktop a lot. Nothing I can think.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I mainly was doing software development using Java, Android, Python, and also building and deploying the code as SDK.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For people who love the command-based interface, this is the best desktop as it is secure, reliable, open-source compared to other desktops. Most tools are downloadable from the Ubuntu Software Center for project management or personal use free of cost.


    Information Technology and Services

Best Distro Ever, From Home To Enterprise Cloud Vendors

  • November 04, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
one of the best distros, I've been using it for more than 4 years now, as a DevOps engineer in each and every move I take ubuntu as my base image, the one and only reason for that is, is its simplicity, stability, community support and open-source! I never had complaints about it.
What do you dislike?
If I have to complain I would say compatibility for games and graphics cards support but hey if we compare in the previous year every release it is improving a lot so not many complaints I have about it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I needed a distro that is supportive in every way in every step of my moves and it must be smooth to use, and as a DevOps engineer, it is more than enough for me to use it in every way it supports me from building applications to using webs, basic utilities etc.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're worried to try it out directly, you can try it in a virtual box and decide but I would say at least give it a shot, it won't let you down.