Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu Pro FIPS 18.04 LTS

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu FIPS 18.04 - 20210726

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,180 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Benjamín W.

Linux has come a long way

  • March 30, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use, attractive UI, very user friendly experience. You don't have to be a tech saavy to use a Linux distro anymore. This is as close as Windows and Mac as you can get for free.
What do you dislike?
Unity. I like my old school task bar at the bottom of the screen and windows with borders and fixed action bars. Unity forces you to a Mac like experience which I, after 2 years of use, still don't feel comfortable with.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use Ubuntu to code.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take the jump, it´s a really good alternative to Windows and Mac. Unity is a little bit obnoxious, if you´re a Mac user you´ll get used to it fast.


    Eduardo T.

Really good OS for software development (and many other tasks)

  • March 29, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its freedom to use it the way you want..
What do you dislike?
Sometimes, software packages are not in the repositories, or these don't work.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is free to use, and it is compatible with any tool or framework needed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't let the terminal intimidate you: it is your friend! (And a very powerful one)


    Austin C.

Better with Gnome

  • March 22, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The GNOME desktop environment makes Ubuntu extensible and less intrusive. The release cycle of Ubuntu is dependable and releases are easy to upgrade to. Ubuntu is stable and makes a great bootable flash drive. APT is a great package manager as well. I have had a great time using Ubuntu as a headless server as well, as it is a very stable and well-documented platform, and has many options on services like AWS.
What do you dislike?
The Unity Desktop is atrocious (and previously invasive). The only downside to APT is that Canonical is slow with updating the main package repository, which means that there is a longer wait for updates from many of the standard software packages, as opposed to a constant release like Arch.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Developing on one of the most common systems to deploy on makes it easier for teams to test software locally without the need to upload to a continuous integration service. This helps finding platform specific bugs as soon as possible.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ubuntu has one of the best communities in the Linux world and is also easier to switch to from Mac OS or Windows than some of the other distributions. Finding help for problems is easy and the software is mature + well maintained. The Unity Desktop environment is much worse than the GNOME shell environment.


    Internet

Powerful, fast and LTS provides useful longevity for business desktop usage

  • March 07, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
UI is easy for new users to adapt to, nice selection of packages
What do you dislike?
Installing some 3rd party packages like nomachine takes some effort
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Performance focused workstation for production-like environment for developers and wide array of libraries and software for the platform


    Alexander G.

Ubuntu remains a solid platform for development and servers.

  • March 01, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is incredibly flexible. I've used it personally for many years, so using it for work is great. I am a fan of the "apt" package manager and bash, so Ubuntu is my distribution of choice. CoreOS is also a great system.
What do you dislike?
The distro upgrade path is still a little complicated if a user doesn't know specifically what to do.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
A free, open-source server OS lets us save money, while Ubuntu has a broad user base and is a stable, supported distribution.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There are many distributions of Linux, but Ubuntu remains one of the most user-friendly, stable, well-documented versions.


    Waqar H.

A beginner friendly distribution

  • February 02, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is the most beginner friendly distribution I have come across. You won't need to install drivers, in most cases, for anything. If anything goes wrong, you'll find its solution in no-time. It has a very friendly community which don't hesitate to help.
What do you dislike?
When it is newly installed, system is very fast and responsive. But as the time passes, it gets slower and starts lagging. I faced issues with display as it becomes laggy. One thing I disliked most is lack of support for graphics card drivers.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am developer and most of the tools I use performs very well on Linux OS. I've tried various Linux distributions but I got stuck with ubuntu because it doesn't require setup for everything. And it has an awesome community, so if I face an issue, I can find it's solution in very short span of time.


    Information Technology and Services

Great for dev

  • February 01, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to install, easy to manage, its linux.
What do you dislike?
Unity requires too many resources on the desktop
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Developing, running servers


    Paloma D.

Great software for Linux for an ISO File

  • January 28, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the friendly user interface and the functionality, as well as the way I can import ISO files. It is relatively user friendly.
What do you dislike?
I dislike the limitations and the fact that it is slow for upgrades. It is not supported as much as some of the other environments. Limited software and lack of customization is also a drawback.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use Ubuntu to run a virtual machine or a dual boot operating system.


    Logistics and Supply Chain

Great linux version

  • January 26, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Open source with good documentation and lots of users to ask question online
What do you dislike?
Currently I have not run into any items i dislike
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
OS for an application. Cost savings and consistency
Recommendations to others considering the product:
very stable and easy to use and set up version of linux


    Heather W.

I love the simplicity

  • January 23, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love the clean, simple user interface. I also like the simple user tutorials on their website.
What do you dislike?
There isn't anything about Ubuntu I dislike - just general challenges of learning something new.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I work in recruiting and our applicant tracking systems all work better on my computer that runs Ubuntu than on my Windows computer.