Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu Pro FIPS 18.04 LTS

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu FIPS 18.04 - 20210726

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,171 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Veronica A.

Not what i think it was going to be

  • December 31, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its a free, light operation system. Easy of installing and running.
The interface was very nice and friendly.
What do you dislike?
If you want to download any program, you have to know how to use the terminal, you need programming knowledge.
I couldnt use Netflix! For using popular software like the desktop version of spotify, you have to do a tutorial.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Security networks testing
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You will need a lot of time to adapt yourself to this kind of software. Take your time, and please do not erase your windows partition. You can keep your windows and still use Ubuntu in another "place".


    Computer Software

You know you ubuntu

  • December 29, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how Windows like Ubuntu is while still sticking to its linux roots - it's the perfect entryway into Linux for a Windows user. As someone who finally gets how powerful UNIX commands are as well as the demands for UNIX in enterprise settings, I like that they tried to make things easy to find and tamed down the no frill Linux experience into something that has pretty graphics, icons and a cool looking GUI to boot.
What do you dislike?
Having to manually install updates like the latest proprietary graphics drivers to get GPU applications to load faster. Linux in general isn't great for gaming either, but that's a minor flaw to be fixed with a decent emulator.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Not having to pay for Windows licenses. Speed for loading Linux servers versus Windows.


    Christian P.

The easier linux

  • December 20, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's now much easier to install and configure Linux
What do you dislike?
nothing for now.
I don't see for the moment.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using Ubuntu for GLPI Server


    Information Technology and Services

Ubuntu is the leading cloud OS

  • December 20, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
cloud optimized browser which encourages community and forward thinking approach
help can be found everywhere, with no shortage of support, despite the lack of paid model
What do you dislike?
systemd can be confusing at first, and many of the syntax is starkly different than Redhat/Fedora/Suse linux's
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
the OS is the core of any app, even when hosted on the cloud

Ubuntu is more forward thinking in terms of their drivers/features available

MaaS, yes please
Recommendations to others considering the product:
go for it, try in a container


    Higher Education

Open Source and Flexibility

  • December 08, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The fact that Linux is open-source makes it a very flexible system and ripe for experimentation. (I actually use Linux Mint, a Linux distribution derived from Debian and Ubuntu.)
What do you dislike?
I have occasionally experienced problems when running Ubuntu on certain hardware.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My job involves experimenting with many technologies and programming languages. Linux provides the flexibility I need to handle anything I get my hands on quickly and efficiently.


    Andrew D.

Easy to use Linux distribution

  • December 05, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how much it feels like Windows products and how easy it is to use and the amount of support backing this software.
What do you dislike?
There's not much I don't like. The only thing it could be faster at times.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
There are no business problems I solve with ubuntu. However the benefits are the cost of the program which is free.


    Ryan S.

Great solution for the desktop and server user alike

  • December 05, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is the most user friendly Linux platform that I have used. It really is geared toward the novice or new to Linux user but does not placate the advanced user either.
What do you dislike?
I am not a huge fan of the Debian based distributions but this is more of a religious conversation than anything wrong with Ubuntu. The platform is really without complaint.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This provides a Linux based platform that is free to use but has a very large community to seek assistance in. This has helped save dollars in doing deployments of desktops for users.


    Information Technology and Services

Ubuntu Review

  • December 01, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Free desktop replacement that can be used on many different types of hardware. I use an HDMI based Intel Stick.
What do you dislike?
A little esoteric for the casual person. Definetly a gateway to Linux. It has come leaps and bounds over its earlier versions but the installs are not as clean as a windows or MAC environment.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
None


    Internet

Frequent Ubuntu-er

  • November 30, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The blending of GUI and CMD line interfaces makes it easy to get things done.
What do you dislike?
The lack of full 32 bit color makes it less attractive than other OS choices.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The ubiquity of Ubuntu makes it easy to interface with others and not have OS barriers get in the way.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Get familiar with Ubuntu now because you will be seeing it more and more in the future.


    Rae T.

Easy to install

  • November 29, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
When I had been given a computer for free to mess around with, I had decided that I had wanted to install Ubuntu in order to just see if I could. I had set it up quite quickly (or as quickly as installs happen) and if I had any questions, Ubuntu had guided me to where I needed to go. It was definitely user friendly and that was what was important to me at the time.
What do you dislike?
I did not like that there were not enough programs that would work well with it. Sure, installing a windows emulator did help, however, it would have been nice to not have to have that extra step.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It was more for wanting to see if I could install an OS on an outdated machine that was donated. The benefits were that if I did not have an extra windows installer about, I would be able to use Ubuntu as a good alternative.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If one does not have the funding for a windows or apple OS and need to have an operating system, Ubuntu is a rather good one to have as it is easy to install and work with, especially with little training in the OS. I would suggest getting the emulators that are also rather easy to install (or at least the windows one was) to go with as it would make things easier on the person using it.