Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu Pro FIPS 18.04 LTS

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu Pro FIPS 18.04 20221117

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - Bionic - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,212 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Higher Education

My experience with Ubuntu

  • October 12, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's fast, simple, Robust and it is free
What do you dislike?
Little to no hardware support.The installation process is daunting.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I used it for coding (Java). NetBeans was run on it. The speed when compared to MS products and the reliability, quick startup, the simple interface were the positives. To the point simply put.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be prepared to do things by yourself (with help from Google)! Little to no support and not popular with common users. The initial few days of my experience with Ubuntu was full of trying to learn the basic stuff. One needs some time getting into the groove. Google was my only savior as most people go with the MS products. Once I got a grip on it, it was really an amazing experience. Definitely, has its advantages though, which is vast!


    Israel L.

Perfect for user linux

  • October 12, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
user interfaces and easy to use for inexperienced users
What do you dislike?
the installation of server applications is complex for inexperienced users
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Company servers
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Perfect SO for ne user linux


    Aeron J.

Reliable and durable

  • October 12, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the graphical configuration interface.
What do you dislike?
I dislike the implementation of the cd player feature.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It's the core operating system for our product. It provides a reliable and easily customizable Linux environment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use package installers whenevr possible.


    Justin M.

Very good to use and best of all, free!

  • October 12, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like most that it is a free and easy to set up. Definitely a great value!
What do you dislike?
The only thing that I didn't like is sometimes it can be confusing which version of Ubuntu you want to download programs for. There is different Linux versions so you have to be careful with that one.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We used Ubuntu for our cloud server and for our API. It was super easy to configure for the cloud server and actually compared to CentOS it was a piece of cake to use with Owncloud and Nextcloud.


    Heidi Elaine D.

The best operating system

  • October 12, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It mimics Apple's OS in look and feel, but without all of the related issues.
What do you dislike?
You definitely need to have a solid understanding of filesystems and how to locate things - that was the largest barrier to entry for me. Once you develop this knowledge and learn to work a little at the command line, you're good.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
For digital forensics work, I use Ubuntu to run a bunch of open source software. Ubuntu definitely makes it easier to access and use these tools. I also used Ubuntu in my previous job to connect into the server in order to deposit files there for long-term storage. Ubuntu offers better security than other OSs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Learn some basic commands and get comfortable moving around the computer in a new way. User forums for Ubuntu are a *major* help whenever you're stuck, so just grab error messages and put them into Google and you should find a solution pretty quickly. Listservs and dedicated groups have also been a help when using specific tools - depends on your use case, but there are a lot of people in the open source community who are eager to help.


    Rachmad Andre V P.

hands down the best linux distro for linux-newbies and the most user friendly linux distro available

  • October 11, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
its simplicity and it's easy to learn and to get used to
What do you dislike?
the fact that it is constantly updated defines that ubuntu is not a stable distro (it is good for everyday use), but i'd rather use other distros such as centOS for servers
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
ubuntu provides an open source operating system for its users to use, therefore allowing its users to change the OS based on their needs, without worrying about legal actions


    Michael M.

Ubuntu, it works kinda.

  • October 11, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's open source and free. Which means you can do limitless things
What do you dislike?
It's open source and free. Which means no support and figuring things out on your own.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu allows me not to pay for windows licenses and have certain things work.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do your homework before using.


    Hospital & Health Care

Maximum control of the OS experience with a great base GUI

  • October 11, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
No lag operation. Quick start up. Open source.
What do you dislike?
Lack of program support outside of open source.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Compatibility with robotics applications.


    Tarun G.

One OS that works everywhere without any issue

  • October 10, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu’s intuitive interface is Fast, secure and with thousands of apps to choose from — for everything you want to do, Ubuntu has what you need.
There are lot to write about what I like the best, let me quote in points
1. FREE - Always remain free
2. NO Malware
3. Control over everything you can think of
4. Easily available
5. Works everything you needed
6. Quick updates as the community is very strong
7. Easy to customize
8. UI is extremely good (In case you are using it for your desktop)
9. A whole world of apps (Chromium, Gimp, LibreOffice etc)
10.Smarter searching
What do you dislike?
There are few things that I don't like about ubuntu
1. After installing the OS, you need to update all the packages which take a lot of bandwidth
2. If crashes, difficult to recover the data
3. Few packages are not supported on my DELL Studio 1450
4. Frequent Updates needs more bandwidth
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use this for my personal machine for development, and for AWS EC2 instance for Server, this has made my life easier as the community is very strong and you get help very easily.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its a good to have OS as its free and with a strong community, which helps a lot


    oren m.

Ubuntu is the best first linux OS

  • October 10, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Customize options are great, the fact that I can choose between KDE, gnome, mate, etc.. Gives the user freedom and convenient, also there are lot's of free apps to install from the store or from apt-get.
My favorite thing about ubuntu is it's hardware compatibility out of the box
What do you dislike?
If you don't know linux it may be hard to get use to
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Most our servers are linux based running on ubuntu, it's easy to install and easy to maintain and troubleshoot.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
depends what are your needs, if you comfortable ubuntu is great as a desktop OS and as a server