Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu Pro FIPS 18.04 LTS

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu FIPS 18.04 - 20210726

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,183 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Alexander G.

Ubuntu remains a solid platform for development and servers.

  • March 02, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is incredibly flexible. I've used it personally for many years, so using it for work is great. I am a fan of the "apt" package manager and bash, so Ubuntu is my distribution of choice. CoreOS is also a great system.
What do you dislike?
The distro upgrade path is still a little complicated if a user doesn't know specifically what to do.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
A free, open-source server OS lets us save money, while Ubuntu has a broad user base and is a stable, supported distribution.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There are many distributions of Linux, but Ubuntu remains one of the most user-friendly, stable, well-documented versions.


    Waqar H.

A beginner friendly distribution

  • February 02, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is the most beginner friendly distribution I have come across. You won't need to install drivers, in most cases, for anything. If anything goes wrong, you'll find its solution in no-time. It has a very friendly community which don't hesitate to help.
What do you dislike?
When it is newly installed, system is very fast and responsive. But as the time passes, it gets slower and starts lagging. I faced issues with display as it becomes laggy. One thing I disliked most is lack of support for graphics card drivers.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am developer and most of the tools I use performs very well on Linux OS. I've tried various Linux distributions but I got stuck with ubuntu because it doesn't require setup for everything. And it has an awesome community, so if I face an issue, I can find it's solution in very short span of time.


    Information Technology and Services

Great for dev

  • February 01, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to install, easy to manage, its linux.
What do you dislike?
Unity requires too many resources on the desktop
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Developing, running servers


    Paloma D.

Great software for Linux for an ISO File

  • January 29, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the friendly user interface and the functionality, as well as the way I can import ISO files. It is relatively user friendly.
What do you dislike?
I dislike the limitations and the fact that it is slow for upgrades. It is not supported as much as some of the other environments. Limited software and lack of customization is also a drawback.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use Ubuntu to run a virtual machine or a dual boot operating system.


    Heather W.

I love the simplicity

  • January 28, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love the clean, simple user interface. I also like the simple user tutorials on their website.
What do you dislike?
There isn't anything about Ubuntu I dislike - just general challenges of learning something new.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I work in recruiting and our applicant tracking systems all work better on my computer that runs Ubuntu than on my Windows computer.


    Logistics and Supply Chain

Great linux version

  • January 27, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Open source with good documentation and lots of users to ask question online
What do you dislike?
Currently I have not run into any items i dislike
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
OS for an application. Cost savings and consistency
Recommendations to others considering the product:
very stable and easy to use and set up version of linux


    Financial Services

Ubuntu 16.04 LTS

  • January 14, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the hardware support introduced in version 16.04, other than that the operating system has the same great capabilities as 14.04.
What do you dislike?
Not that it is a big deal to switch the desktop environment but I would have liked to have seen something other than Unity as the default windowing environment.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use Ubuntu primarily for data science work, it is nearly impossible to run many of the applications and packages out there on Windows.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ubuntu is a great operating system as it is simple to use, easy to install software and it is compatible with nearly everything.


    Amol B.

Ubuntu: Making Linux obtainable to the masses!

  • January 14, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is a super easy Linux based OS to use. With minutes, a normal user is able to setup a stand alone desktop configuration. From a server point of view, setting up and configuring Tomcat, Postgre or anything else you need for development is pretty much a breeze. I highly suggest it for anybody who wants to learn more about Linux or even a Linux veteran. Give it a shot, heck, you can even run it off a USB stick.
What do you dislike?
Nothing at this moment in time, I have been using Ubuntu for a decade now and still recommend it to friends.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
My work involves the Healthcare IT domain, so anything from database design to full blown EHR implementations.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The Ubuntu Forums are amazing for users who are learning or trying to configure the product. If it is not there, they are plenty of bloggers who utilize the OS.


    Higher Education

Ubuntu Experience for a Researcher

  • January 14, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a good platform for my research needs as
- it supports a good number of 3rd party packages
- very stable and customization friendly
- ease of use in terms of its GUI capabilities
- a lot of references are available in case I need help
- open source
What do you dislike?
- No support of MS Office (the only reason I need windows)
- I found it to be not very efficient in terms of notebook battery life management
- complication recovery mechanism for broken package recovery.
- less user friendly recovery and backup mechanisms compared to Windows
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
- Autonomous vehicle control
- Computer Vision processing

Ubuntu can provide a a reliable real-time kernel support via RTAI or Xenomai
Recommendations to others considering the product:
- Use Ubuntu as a prototyping platform
- Ubuntu support and help is sparsely available so familiarization is necessary before using it as a primary system.


    Computer Software

i am using Ubuntu since 8 years

  • January 14, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like about about ubuntu is
- Free to use
- Its an open source
- Its secure
- Its fast compare to window because it doesn't require antivirus which consume RAM.
- There are lot of content/community on web which provide solution

What do you dislike?
- Sometime it doesn't support any specific hardware. Once I was using lenova laptop. Its wifi was not supporting but with the help of ubuntu community I overcome from the problems.

- Adobe photoshop's linux version not available, Web designer need to use either gimp or can switch to window.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In office I used ubuntu as operating system. Its reduce cost of infrastructure. I worked on LAMP(Linux, Apache, MySQL & PHP). I found ubuntu very suitable for this.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ubuntu is open-source, so you can access and personalize its source code. That's why most programmers (unless they code in .NET or other Windows proprietary languages) prefer Ubuntu. They're more free to customize their code.