Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu Pro FIPS 18.04 LTS

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu Pro FIPS 18.04 20221117

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - Bionic - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,214 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Kim H.

I couldn't get my computere`wd1 to turn off

  • November 19, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Open Source is always a good thing. I default to Open Source when I have the chance.
What do you dislike?
My computer, literally, would not turn off when this was a part of the action.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
My problems are fewer now that I don't use Ubuntu
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure it is compatible with your needs. And that your computer will turn off.


    Plastics

Solid operating system without the costs

  • November 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Over the 25+ years I have worked in the Information Technology field, I have worked with a lot of server and desktop operating systems, including the server and desktop versions of Ubuntu. It is a well made operating system. It is very stable and it is free. For someone who likes to have lots of control over there environment, Ubuntu offers lots of opportunities to customize it to meet your preferences. There are also lots of great free applications for Ubuntu that you can run. If you want to use it to make a media center computer, you can do that. If you want to setup a desktop for running business applications, you can do it. If you want setup a home server, you can do it. If you want to setup a server for running business class platforms (such as a database, web server, or file server), you can do it. It is super versatile.
What do you dislike?
The learning curve is definitely steeper than what you would experience with Windows and Mac environments. This is a especially true if you want to do a fair amount of customization of the environment. The desktop version is much better than it used to be in this area, with access to more of the settings being accessible in the graphical user interface. But it you ever decide to get into the terminal command line interface, it is far more difficult and less intuitive than the more common desktop operating systems.

If you are running the server version, it is all command line driven so the learning curve can be a challenge.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In my current work environment, we run quite a few Ubuntu servers. Some are database servers (running Postgres), some are web hosts, and others are running custom software written for our business. Ubuntu has been a rock solid platform. Servers go for a very long time between reboots. And we have saved money by not having to purchase operating system software for quite a few servers.

We are a manufacturing company and we also run the Ubuntu desktop operating system on many of our production line computers. These systems run a browser-based application that the end users interact with to update details in our production systems, make inventory updates, shipping updates, and print labels. By using Ubuntu, we have saved significant money by not having to buy desktop operating systems for these computers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ubuntu is rock solid software. There are lots of places on the Internet to find "how to" directions. If you have worked with other versions of Linux you will have no problem transitioning to Ubuntu. If you are new to Ubuntu, setup a test machine and get a good book to become more competent in how to use it.


    Vaibhav K.

Best OS for Software Development

  • November 14, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love that it is simple to use but very versatile at the same time. You have full control of each and every program or application you have on your computer.

Installation of Ubuntu, particularly Ubuntu, is much easier than Windows and Mac OSX. The installation client is as simple as installing Firefox or Chrome on your everyday computer. If you want more advanced settings there is a more customizable setup option for that as well. Along with installation, upgrading the operating system and all the application can be done with one single command which is a huge advantage over other operating systems where either updates are forced or you have to go through the hassle of upgrading each application when an update is released.
You have the freedom to use Ubuntu for any purpose. You can freely study the code and change it on your command. You can compile the operating system and share it with your friends or your team. This makes it easy because you and your team are able to work in the same environment, allowing all your files to be compatible with one another. Ubuntu systems now have to ability to run .NET applications. Businesses that rely on .NET web technology can now use Ubuntu.
What do you dislike?
One of the largest disadvantages of Ubuntu is that some of the hardware does not work properly or it is not compatible. There is a steeper learning curve for users who want to start using Ubuntu based operating systems. This is because a lot of times when you have to accomplish something, you have to use Terminal which the average user may not be comfortable with.

A lot of software is also not available for operating systems such as Ubuntu. If you are a gamer, you would probably stick to Windows as most game developers develop games for Windows rather than OSX or Ubuntu. There are also productivity software such as Microsoft Office which would not be available for Ubuntu as Microsoft does not want Ubuntu to take over their market share.

Lastly, there is no official support offered by Ubuntu. If you have a problem, you can probably find the solution through googling and browsing various forums. This can be time taking and may not be your cup of tea.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
A lot of business applications are made available on Ubuntu such as active directories. Ubuntu is one of the most secure operating systems out there. Although nothing can be fully secure and virus free, Ubuntu does a great job at keeping hackers and viruses away from your machine. It even encrypts all of your home directories. For business use, one advantage is that a lot of games do not run on Ubuntu. This cuts down the risk of your employees downloading games and other software which degrades productivity. Thus, using Ubuntu could possibly lead to more productivity. Last but not least, Ubuntu is free. Windows costs money for both personal and commercial use of their operating system.

We use Ubuntu to develop cyber security software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Keep working on releasing frequent upgrade which enhances software development.


    Higher Education

Ubuntu Linux operating system

  • November 12, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
No frills, stable operating system. Reliable.
What do you dislike?
Hard to get drivers for some devices / peripherals
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Faster than Windows


    Law Practice

Good software if Linux is your thing

  • November 09, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
You can use a bookable USB to access hard drives which Windows might not be able to
What do you dislike?
Not found any fault with it yet. Does what I need
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use bookable Ubuntu on laptops that have faulty hard drives and our clients need data off it. We found that Ubuntu will allow to see what files are on the hard drive with a simple user interface.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't be put off with it being Linux. It has a very nice user interface.


    Adam J.

Ubuntu an easy to use OS

  • November 05, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love how easy it is to develop whatever you want on Ubuntu. I guess the ease of use for that comes from the fact that you have bash and can do anything from the command line. You literally do not need any GUI what-so-ever. Ubuntu has a special place on my harddrive as a secondary OS to boot to for development on coding projects
What do you dislike?
There is not a lot to dislike, sometimes weird drivers don't want to work on some machines, but that is the nature of the OS Ubuntu.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We needed a platform for our coders to code on, Ubuntu was the best solution we came up with as a standard across all our company machines.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend using Ubuntu if you are new to the linux OS then after you use it for a while find a new flavor you like Ubuntu still today is a daily driver for my machine.


    Research

Ubuntu in Virtual Box

  • November 03, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to operate. Has the option of a server download or a desktop download.
What do you dislike?
Have to run it in virtual box and it is difficult to toggle between windows and ubuntu with documents
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Data analysis for next generation DNA sequencing
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great for anyone needing a linux based OS.


    Tran P.

A state-of-the-art Linux distro that I usually use in my Linux-based projects

  • October 31, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Very easy yet powerfull linux distro comparing to other Linux derivations.
- Lightweight, very least of resource consumption. It can be run even from a small USB stick
- The population. It is supported by many other software solutions
- Software package installation and configuration is quite simple
- The Logical Volume Manager (LVM) is quite simple to manage and we can easily extend storage space. It's especially useful when we deploy virtual machine in test environment and then raise it up to production
What do you dislike?
- Just like other Linux distros, it's GUI interface is not a full feature one and thus it is not a system for office users
- Its office utilities such as word processor, speadsheet, etc... is not as powerful as Microsoft-bases systems
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
- Working in a small business organisation, researching and developing open source solutions is a high demand to survive against luxury commercial solutions. And Linux operating systems, including Ubuntu, is a good place to build them up and go to market
Recommendations to others considering the product:
- This is a great platform to get starting with open source world as well as Linux. From a very newbie user with a USB stick, to a software developer that need a LAMP application platform, all the way up to a system administrator that need a platform to run their utilities, Ubuntu is a good choice


    Anshul J.

An amazing desktop OS which can also be used in servers

  • October 29, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It works out of the box and many popular applications provide their executable for the Ubuntu OS making it compatible with large number of applications. Many distros are derived out of Ubuntu which are good too based on personal preference. Overall, the ease of use it brought to Linux is unmatched.
What do you dislike?
Although, it is great desktop OS, it should provide some options to use other desktop environment. Many people are not comfortable with Unity and would like traditional desktop. For this they have to switch to unofficial Ubuntu flavours which are not recommended for production systems.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using it on the production machine to develop software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a great desktop OS. A good alternative to paid operating systems. Ubuntu has made the Linux experience really easy. So, now anyone can use it. Ubuntu server is great too for production deployments.


    Scott M.

Best Linux Distro when you want it to just work

  • October 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that Canonical stopped doing everything the Dev community wanted and instead started focusing on usability for regular people. By doing this, they have created a Linux distribution that is more approachable and easier to use, with less tinkering, than nearly any other distribution. This is the Linux distro you can give to your mom or your tech-averse friends, and the distro you can work on without having to tweak a bunch of system settings. It has sane defaults and gets out of your way to let you get work done.

It's also incredibly good as a server OS, especially if you are running Docker.
What do you dislike?
Unfortunately Linux still doesn't have perfect driver support, especially with Graphics cards and Mac hardware. The fact that that is still the case in 2016 bugs the hell out of me, but it's the inescapable truth for now.

Canonical could also take better care of their official application repos. For example you can't get Java 8 from the official repos in Ubuntu 14.04
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Use it for software development as most of the tools I use are native to Linux and Ubuntu allows me to use them without having to tweak stuff at the system level.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
When considering Ubuntu and other distributions, consider which package manager you prefer to use, as well as which Desktop Environment (if any). If you are doing development, look into whether Snappy packages are useful to you.