Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Apache ServiceMix on CentOS 8 by Neodoo

Neodoo Microsystems | centos_8_servicemix_7.0.1_v1.1.0

Linux/Unix, CentOS 8 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

12 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Carlos D.

Quite complete and opensource. Good for running tests

  • January 07, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache ServiceMix is quite the complete package. It's very lightweight and open source, good API connections, good customer support. Routes in Camel and ActiveMQ are very powerful and easy to set up
What do you dislike?
It's a bit obsolete. Docker and Kubernetes are all the rage now (Rightfully so), and give you a bit more control.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We mainly use it for testing web applications because of the good API and ease of setup. The team is used to the software


    Information Technology and Services

Review of Apache ServiceMix

  • January 03, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best part is that I can test my applications locally after installing it. This gives me a good idea of how my application will look after getting deployed.
What do you dislike?
The only issue is the lack of proper documentation. Else everything is excellent.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used to use apache camel through it using which I used to integrate different systems using the same API.


    Abhishek C.

Open source integration solution for your enterprise

  • December 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is bundled with reliable messaging using ActiveMQ, routing and integration engine using Camel and great support for web services using CXF
What do you dislike?
Changing default ports may be difficult at times when using other services such as MySQL, Oracle database and apache service mix is also running it's db service
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Leveraging it to integrate client applications with internal and external partners using various transport protocols such as Active MQ, Rest, SOAP, database etc.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Flexible and open source integration solution for your ESB and API needs. Require minimal setup and light weight container for hosting your middleware apps


    Thomas A. D.

review about apache serviceMix

  • December 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
simple to set and begin control. Coordination support is awesome. It very well may be worked either on Java SE or Java EE. Effective customer API given.
What do you dislike?
I can't find any bugs or any problems when I use Apache ServiceMix.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The apache administration blend permits me to utilize their runtime administration to empower a virtual server climate for web improvement projects. It's a lot simpler to do as such on localhost than to remotely set it up.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
yeah, I recommend Apache ServiceMix to everyone.


    Dinesh S.

Best for distributed web services

  • December 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is open source. It provides version control, which helps a lot.
What do you dislike?
The documentation doesn't cover all the possible scenarios and cases
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Increasing development speed with easier deployments


    Muhammad Jahanzeb S.

Apache for web development

  • November 09, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I enjoy the fact that the apache server, once downloaded, makes it easy to connect to a localhost and test out my website designs when programming or running tests.
What do you dislike?
I find that setting ports for my servers can be very difficult and at times I cannot even change them from the default value. This makes it difficult when, I use MySQL for example and the apache service is also running its sql service.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The apache service mix allows me to use their runtime service to enable a virtual server environment for web development projects. It's much easier to do so on a localhost than to externally set it up.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I'd suggest first get used to running the Apache servers through apps like XAMPP like I did, once you get the hang of that then go the service mix download to launch it through your command prompt.


    Raúl G.

The most complete platform for distributed web services

  • October 06, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
As you can check, we have a lot of tools contained in a single component. This tool is fantastic because we have the versions we require to work (we can see this as a coupled system) and don't need to worry about the versioning.
What do you dislike?
Even if we have the documentation, sometimes we require specific cases or scenarios that are not covered. So I need to check external references or tutorials.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am working with the features and functionality of Apache ActiveMQ because we need to queue some messages and send them to Azure or another platform. So it is straightforward to do that using ServiceMix. We also use Apache Camel as a framework to make integrating systems simple and easy (API topics).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider tutorials or extra references for specific scenarios.


    Diego G.

Easy lightweight and open-source platform.

  • August 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to set and start manipulation.

Integration support is the best.

It can be operated either on Java SE and Java EE.

Effective client API provided.
What do you dislike?
No problem seen on the Apache ServiceMIX to say. The starting was simple taking a very short learning curve to become a Pro on the platform.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Excellent and amazing integrated solution.

Application and server management.

Data connecting.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy solution to intuitive and understand the functionalities on its straightforward interface, great integrated solution that provides amazing quality services.


    Retail

ServiceMix w/ Karaf & Camel is the best obsolete legacy stack until you migrate to Docker + Kafka

  • November 29, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
In a previous gig, I was able to use ServiceMix to *vastly* simplify the back-end Java architecture of my company by with ServiceMix, with the following benefits:

1) Multiple individual Tomcat and Jboss instances were replaced with a ServiceMix cluster
2) Complex IPC chains that were a mix of SOAP & REST services calling each other could be *mostly* replaced with routes in Camel & ActiveMQ that allowed you to actually understand the workflows.
3) Built applications as OSGi modules & hot-deployed them with limited to no downtime on Karaf instead of the complex 3-legged dance that my peers did with Tomcat & apache.

I was able to do all of the above bc I was a .NET developer moving to Java, with a team & manager that were free of the enterprise-y IBM ideation, and put their faith in me to innovate. We were able to build a quick PoC, and eventually win converts in other parts of the company.
What do you dislike?
ServiceMix was an awesome stack maybe 4-5 years ago, when there were few ways to do immutable hot deploys, and OSGi leaned towards the simpler end of the Java stack.

However, it's nearly 2020, and this is a Docker & Microservices world now. Since I'd worked with OSGi & ServiceMix, the Java community came out with awesome micro-frameworks like Dropwizard & Spark. After using Kafka, ActiveMQ seems clunky and complicated, and Kafka Streams/KSQL make Camel look "legacy".

As awesome as ServiceMix seemed years ago, I would much rather run microservices in Docker containers on Kubernetes now. Kubernetes gives you way more control over container lifecycles, load balancers, and is much less work to maintain than ServiceMix.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1) High scalability with ServiceMix clustering. *DO NOT* run in Master/Slave mode; ServiceMix clusters running hot-hot actually provide better fault-tolerance than the alleged "HA" mode.
2) Able to develop faster with a simpler framework (OSGi)
3) Hot deploys with Karaf allowing for simple limited-downtime deploys
4) Optics & control over workflows with Camel.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you have legacy applications to support, or have no in-house devops capability, go with ServiceMix and ditch bigger Java application servers.

If you have a more evolved devops capability, stick with lighter stacks like Dropwizard and run on Docker/Kubernetes.


    Naveen R.

I may on ServiceMix for 8 years now with various components , it's has pretty much good EIP patterns

  • October 31, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
EIP patterns, and various routing patterns, rich endpoints can connect to different systems on the fly, and OSGI module
What do you dislike?
Loading lot of dependency jars, we need to manually set all the different jar versions in the pom files
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
File transformations , inbuilt cxf components for rest services. and activeMQ, ESB for message