Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Analytics Tools for PostgreSQL with updates (EuroDB) on CentOS 7

EuroLinux | 12.4-1

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

474 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Sagar D.

Great scalable db for small and large project

  • June 21, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how this database could handle extensive data and small data. I have been using it for lots of small projects as well as for large project that handles data processing and event-driven projects. It's good to see such flexibility in heavily read-write processes.
What do you dislike?
What I dislike about it is the GUI to handle all the operations are not that user-friendly compared to what mongo DB or MySQL has. I wonder if the Postgres team gets to have some good UI UX for postgres as well.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using PostgresSQL on heavy read write application, and analytics project for huge data. Along with that working on projects for small scale project general management project.
The main benefit that I saw with using PostgreSQL is that its good for small and large project. I could use the same db server for large project while development and also small projects as well without having to thinking much on performance changes for small and large project.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
GUI for managing Postgres is a bit complicated, and you should continue considering that you might have some bad experience with Postgres. Other than that, Postgres is excellent if you have huge read and write operations.


    Retail

Great for Multithreaded applications

  • June 21, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The great performance on top of the traditional DB ability to have a json data type really helps keep within the realm of SQL while creating a solid backend for microservices.
What do you dislike?
It has a little bit of learning curve but not necessarily anything bad I would say about postgresql
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Using as backend for application specific data, with a lot of the data being stored as json in order to interact with apis
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are not ready to go towards nosql but want the flexibility of it while maintaining traditional SQL, then postgresql is the way to go!


    Himanshu A.

Data base

  • June 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Postgre SQL is easy to use.
If you know the SQL it's super easy to learn the Postgre SQL.
It's also a fast way to store the data and fetching from the database.
we can use the Postgre SQL in any project./
It's very popular so if you learn it, it's will definitely benefit your professional life.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing to dislike for postpre Sql just if required some time to learn it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
you can use it in any of your projects for storing, fetching data from the database.
It gives you easy access to data.
I myself use this in many of the projects.


    Kishan K.

Best Relational Database

  • June 17, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
1) It is a free and open-source database system.
2) It is secure and robust compared to other relational database systems.
3) Easy to store large amount of structured data in the database system.
4) Querying time is super fast and quick.
5) Frequent updates from time to time.
What do you dislike?
1) It is a bit confusing compared to other database systems.
2) Sometimes slow with big queries.
3) Apart from these cons, it's a great relational database system.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1) Free SQL Database system
2) History of queries
3) Data analysis
4) Temporary tables querying


    Vishal A.

Quite easy to use and user friendly

  • May 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
easy and smooth workflow, handy and amateur level tool
What do you dislike?
certain restrictions towards handling of data
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I usually use it for data analytics projects which is why valuable to retrieve, update and analyze data, and problems may vary according to the client requirement. However, the best benefit to use PostgreSQL is that you could use easy layman words as crucial commands which are easy to remember.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Instead of other complex query language platforms like Microsoft SQL Server or BigQuery, I would recommend PostgreSQL more.


    Mohit M.

Fast and reliable Database

  • May 07, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Postgres is easy to learn as it is similar to SQL server which we have been using for a long time.
It is fast and reliable and being free of cost is a cost-effective solution for many applications
What do you dislike?
Postgres can be hard for beginners to understand and use
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use postgres to handle database for radiology data sent via various protocols like Dicom and hl7
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Postgre is an cost-effective solution for expensive databases


    Swagato M.

Pretty awesome and well covered in terms of daily challenges

  • May 06, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best feature I see is storing (also searching, etc.) data as advanced DS(s) such as JSON, Lists, etc.
What do you dislike?
I didn't have any such challenge exclusively for PostgreSQL. Hence the challenges (if any) would be similar to the regular SQL DB(s).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use PostgreSQL to store the user data in multiple forms (JSON, Lists, etc.).
Benefits: The ability to store the information received from request directly in the same form instead of extra processing like other DB(s) is the best advantage.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
In case you're searching for a DB with advanced use-cases, PostgreSQL has it covered mostly.


    Financial Services

Best relational database system choice for new app developers

  • May 05, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The performance of the database is topnotch relating to transactions, concurrency and schema controls
What do you dislike?
It is diffcult to resolve issues/errors as a lot of documentation is not available around this
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We tried to find a low cost alternative db system for a client. So we moved from Oracle to prostgreSQL. This brought the cost down substantially
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There are a lot of tools for coverting other SQL scripts to prostgreSQL scripts. So if you are looking to switch it's not that diffcult. Also it will significantly reduce your cost


    Animesh K.

PostgreSQL - Advanced open source database

  • April 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy Installation and Configuration, supports multi-platforms like Windows, macOS, Linux, use existing applications.
Highly reliable open source RDBMS.
Lots of features compared to its competitors.
What do you dislike?
Lacks schema versioning, Parallel data query, Feels lacking in performance compared to competitors especially in writing to the database. Postgre upgrade from 9 to 10 was not that great, there was a lot of downtime. Lacks in-memory modes.
Less documentation which may be impediment to new users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I work as a consultant and we work on providing technical solution to our clients. We suggested PostgreSQL to one small company we were working with.
I believe PostgreSQL is best suited for smaller and medium sized development project. Since this is open source, it has all the features which are needed for smaller and medium development project. This is also easy to administrate. Postgres has an incredibly flexible and simple-to-use user/role management system.

Postgres usage is increasing in the industry and I believe its market share has increaed to 6% lately. It is really easy to integrate PostgreSQL into our stack. Because of high adoption rate, hiring a developer to implement or service Postgres is easy. Most of the major database libraries of common web frameworks are out there like Rails - ActiveRecord, Spring-Hibernate, Play Scala-Slick. These libraries have out of the box Postgres support, thus no extra configuration is needed for our web applications to read or write to PostgresSQL.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
PostgreSQL is best suited for small and medium development projects. While there is a bit of a learning curve compared to MySQL and SQL server, which may be an issue for the beginner but if you are an experienced software developer or database admin, it is almost perfect for you.
It provides broad feature sets, which are handy for incremental development.
The best part is it's free, so it is a cheap and almost equal alternative to SQL Server since you need to pay a lot for licensing costs of SQL Server for businesses and enterprises.


    Education Management

PostgreSQL

  • March 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The cost point on PostgreSQL is significantly better than the big guns like Oracle.
What do you dislike?
I don't think this is as redundant a solution or as high capacity as other databases.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I wouldn't say that we're solving problems with it, but it met our need for a database at reduced cost.