Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Snowflake Data Cloud

Snowflake | 1

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

368 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    David W.

High-powered, feature rich, cloud data warehouse enabling all kinds of new possibilities

  • February 12, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the power and capability of Snowflake, as well as its aesthetic user interface. It's not only a database - with SQL and all you'd expect there - but it also provides tremendous functionality for sharing and controlling access. We've made row-access policies, for instance, to even let clients into their data and only their data. I like the concept of roles which allow us to easily specific access levels to specific pieces of data, I like how we can visualise items from a query within the console, and many, many other things. In short, working in Snowflake is quite pleasant and enjoyable with a great user interface.
What do you dislike?
I wish the worksheet editor allowed us to search and replace - it seems a little basic this is missing.

I also wish the product would make warehouse recommendations - for clarity, Snowflake pricing is based on the warehouse you use for your work, with a warehouse essentially being CPU, RAM, etc. So, an extra small warehouse is the lowest amount of compute power and, correspondingly, the lowest price. Yet, it's possible for some newcomers to inadvertently run their work in (say) a large warehouse when this costs more money. Or, conversely, maybe we're too worried about cost and we're causing a complex query to take excessive time to run. It'd be nice if Snowflake itself gave some advice around queries - e.g. you run it, and it says "hey, if you did this on a small warehouse it would have taken only 0.2ms longer but would have been cheaper" or "this query took 25s to run. If you used an XL warehouse it would have completed in under 2s" or something like that.

It'd also be nice if Snowflake SQL supported string concatenation with the + symbol like T-SQL.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We're using Snowflake as a cloud-based data warehouse to aggregate data across all our many diverse databases and products. We have applications using AWS and Azure, with databases in SQL Server, MySQL, and others, and with some apps using multi-tenanted databases and others using one database-per customer. We have thousands of databases across products and clouds and DBMS engines - so ingesting all our relevant data (for reporting purposes) into Snowflake allows us to make awesome reports in one place, for all customers, across all products.


    Todd G.

Snowflake or Nothing

  • January 26, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It could churn through data so fast, which is nice in a data warehouse tool. I wasn't the only one either in our company there were probably 20 analysts or more doing simlar things to what I was doing and it rarely missed a beat.
What do you dislike?
The thing that I didn't like about it was the fact that the only interface that we had to interact with it with was online. There were other ways but they were build directly from snowflake.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Being able to pull a ton of data, and check results so that we can publish the data to our BI Tool. This is used for reporting purposes to see how the company was doing.


    Financial Services

Data Analyst

  • January 19, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I enjoy how easy it is to search up different tabs that I'm working on. Another feature I find helpful is Snowflake highlighting the specific syntax or part of the query causing the query to run unsuccessfully.
What do you dislike?
Snowflake's documentation on its syntax and the examples provided can be confusing and hard to follow. I want Snowflake to provide more detailed and broken-down SQL queries with the matching results for more complicated functions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using Snowflake, I've run a distribution analysis and set target goals for an incentive program rolling out for the company's Customer Service representatives.


    Dr Bradley I.

Snowflake comes to New Zealand-a while back

  • January 18, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It turns lots of source data into SSoT and feeds many data consumption tools, and potentially shares data with many other New Zealand Government organizations in a copy-less clone.
What do you dislike?
I am looking forward to unstructured data capability as it is restricted to structured and semi-structured data.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
SF is SaaS, so we spend more time on data loading than managing the tech. True SSoT allows many users to access the same SSoT data to form MVoT info.


    Arpan s.

How snowflake become leader of the cloud storage in current situation.

  • January 14, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing i like about the snowflake is its supports both share disk and share nothing architecture.it is a centralised based storing cloud database and its support all the new cloud services like AWS,Azure,GCP.
What do you dislike?
Its not cost effective as it is charge the money for the duration that a warehouse is on and how much time you use the warehouse for analysis or any purpose.
So its not good for taking snowflakes clouds storage for a small projects.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Best benefits of snowflakes I would say the caching part.in snowflakes it provides two levle of caching one is the Result caching and another is the meta data caching. Due to this caching its avoid the unwanted use of any warehouse.


    Srinivas P.

Fast and efficient data warehouse tool

  • January 13, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Easy to set up and use
- Easy to scale with virtual warehouses
- Storage and compute resources are separated
- Supports structured and semi-structured data such as JSON and Avro
- Easy to write queries as it follows the SQL dialect
What do you dislike?
- No support for local development testing, hard to implement unit tests to validate application functionality that integrates with snowflake
- Switching warehouses is confusing
- SQL editor should support auto-complete and highlight features
- Compilation times for complex queries are high; analysts need to have some basic idea of partitioning data.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using Snowflake as our data warehouse. Data is loaded to snowflake as part of scheduled ETL process. Data Analysts connect to snowflake using BI tool (Looker) for anlysis and building reports.


    Computer Software

Snowflake Data Warehouse

  • January 07, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The separation of compute and storage and the flexibility in being able to control costs. Snowflake role hierarchy is also a very nice feature that allows for a flexible yet robust privilege hierarchy.
What do you dislike?
It would be nice if Snowflake offered a cost breakdown per user. Having the resource monitors is nice, but having the ability to see who is utilizing compute would make cost management a lot nice.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are solving the problem of concurrency. Our current solution is not a highly concurrent system, and a couple of big queries can impact the rest of the users in the system. Snowflake does an excellent job of isolating the problematic compute areas.


    John H.

Snowflake

  • January 06, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Excess of warehouse data/metrics that can be used internally
What do you dislike?
Customer service is not the best and can be slow
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Warehouse capacity and efficientness
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure to research all their plans and technologies before selecting a plan


    Information Services

Best Saas for dwh solutions

  • January 05, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Time travelling and fail safe, good ui,IAM service
What do you dislike?
Can't search text and do operation on it (like edit) in a query available on snowflake.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Snowflake reduces the cost of operation, by MPP structure and many other features like time travel.


    Larry G.

Snowflake is an excellent database

  • January 05, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very scalable and easy to integrate with my pipelines and visualization tools. Also very robust functions and functionality
What do you dislike?
User and profile management can be be a pain
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Held our data for internal and external reporting