Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Snowflake Data Cloud

Snowflake | 1

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

496 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Alexandre T.

The DB for bigdata!

  • March 19, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The Snowflake capacity to deal with a really large amount of data, usually faster but if not you can always bump the warehouse size and get results faster, and this all is done within a few clicks and smooth. Very well documented as well and quick support answers when needed.
What do you dislike about the product?
Lack of UI features for operations and debug. Not able to give hints to the compiler. Some updates that cause unexpected issues sometimes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Basic ETL queries over a huge amount of data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Talking about a software engineer view I definitely suggest you to give it a try. I'll be amazed by speed, features, and easy implementation, I can even run queries from my Sublime editor. The whole team is way more productive by not having to think about the db solution as much as before.


    Financial Services

Great value and functionality

  • March 19, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Performance and costs are configurable easily to your needs. Snowflake is also easily integrated with leading BI and ETL/ELT tools. Built-in tuning and optimization is very useful
What do you dislike about the product?
Admin panel could be a bit more comprehensive (user/role/group management), usage metrics
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Consolidated data warehouse and ability to handle data load, queries, and transactions simultaneously


    Computer Software

Bad UI

  • March 19, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Relatively quick for being in-browser, snappy design
What do you dislike about the product?
Bad UI, unintuitive, can't process info quickly, wish I could do more with the data for analyst use-cases
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Operational data warehouse


    Ricardo L.

Minimum overhead, good query performance

  • March 15, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Snowflake provides lots of features as auto-starting and auto-pausing virtual warehouses that turn the administration of the data warehouse much easier and cost efficient. The pricing model separating compute and storage is very useful in some cases and enables great cost allocation between departments with the concept of multiple virtual warehouses. Queries in Snowflake also run fast compared to other products like AWS Redshift.
What do you dislike about the product?
Even having JDBC and ODBC drivers, the ecosystem with native integration is still small compared to other more established products.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Data warehousing with good analytical query performance is what Snowflake delivers. Its technology makes data ingestion easy too. It also delivers great features for cost management.


    Financial Services

User Review for Snowflake

  • March 15, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Its pretty fast. Mush faster than contemporaries
What do you dislike about the product?
UI is not responsive and goes down quite a bit
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Creating a Datamart as centralised source of data.


    Computer Software

Snowflake makes building a data warehouse / data lake easy

  • March 14, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
* Ability to easily and quickly scale storage and compute independently. Lots of scaling options.
* Flexible data structure support (cluster keys, materialized views)
* Snowpipe feature makes it incredibly easy to ingest data from S3 automatically
* Excellent JSON support; can handle nested structures
* Integrates well with our Business Intelligence tooling. Lots of native integration support.
* Excellent community. Lots of events and resources for learning how to effectively use the product.
* Flexible role-based permissions model
* Slack support is responsive
What do you dislike about the product?
Not much to write about here -- this is a great service! :)

There are still a few technologies we've looked at that are in the early days of building a native integration with Snowflake.

In the past, I've needed to refresh schema role grants when adding new tables; it'd be convenient to express that I want those automatically included in the grant.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Snowflake's capable platform allows us to stitch together disparate data sets and build strategic insights. We've built analytics products that can pull from Product, CRM, and a multitude of Operational data sets. Some of our data sets are huge, but that's not been a problem for Snowflake.


    Financial Services

amazing tool

  • March 14, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
it is Fast and Robust and handles large amount of Data at ease
What do you dislike about the product?
its compatibility with other interfaces, it cannot be used with .Net Framework
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
we have a system which can generate about 20+ millions records a day and we need a system which will integrate with Tableau for reporting and Snowflake solved the purpose


    Robert B.

Powerful tool that offers impressive query performance against semi-structured data

  • March 14, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The feature that stands out most to us is the fact that we can send raw JSON into snowflake and each property is automatically indexed. This gives us the ability to operationalize our use of semi-structured data with minimal engineering overhead.
What do you dislike about the product?
Currently the only headache we're having is that it does not work to seamlessly integrate Azure Append Blobs into Snowflake. It still feels a bit like Microsoft Azure is a bit of a second class citizen.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We wanted to build a robust automated data pipeline that would ultimately result in a de-identified data warehouse that provided scalable reporting functionality across massive data sets. Using semi-structured data allowed us to create a relatively generic, performant pipeline for our big data to get ingested into Snowflake, and the tool's scalability allows us to query that data in an efficient manner regardless of how much data is utilized. Compared to our previous hadoop-based reporting functionality, the performance is not even comparable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're already using Amazon AWS, Snowflake will be very easy to utilize. If you're a Microsoft Azure shop, there will be a few additional hoops to jump through and some additional cost overhead, but it's still worth the headaches once that data is loaded into Snowflake, as the query performance and scalability really does seem to be the best of the tools we've evaluated.


    Hospital & Health Care

Fantastic platform for your big data needs

  • March 14, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Scalable, great user interface, familiar SQL language
What do you dislike about the product?
Nothing that I can think of that I dislike
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Data insights for the biopharma, life sciences markets


    Entertainment

Great cloud data warehouse!

  • March 14, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ability to add additional compute power (warehouses) to run SQL's. Also, each warehouse shows costs associated with running tasks.
What do you dislike about the product?
show commands. Lack of filtering and ordering results in a non-standard order.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Building Analytics Database for data scientists.