Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Snowflake Data Cloud

Snowflake | 1

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

367 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Wholesale

Snowflake Review

  • December 29, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Snowflake has a very clean UI, and it is simple to use. After about a week of playing around, I understood how most of the functionality worked in the tool which saved me so much time.
What do you dislike?
The biggest issue I ran into so far is that Snowflake doesn't have the capabilty to automatically refresh data in a maternalized view, so the table I created can't be refreshed unless it is a manual process or set up outside of Snowflake.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We now have a warehouse that centralizes all of our data, which we never had before. This is great for security reasons, as we all as organization.


    Information Technology and Services

Reliable data warehouse

  • December 24, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Snowflake is reliable, and pretty fast for most workloads. The best feature is you can save some money by using only the amount of computer that is needed.
What do you dislike?
Occasionally Snowflake takes a poor query optimization path. This is not unique to Snowflake though.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Data analtics, dashboards, training ML and evaluating ML quality.


    Bhagyalakshmi L.

Snowflake as tool to fuel Marketing, Sales and Success Metrics

  • December 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Lot of success in storing large amounts of structured data and managing compute for fast queries across the data lake. As of today, we currently have ~50TB of data in Snowflake and hundreds of tables. Snowflake handles storage and compute efficiently. Snowflake can work well with large amounts of data with auto micro partitions of your data and you can also add clustering to improve usage.
What do you dislike?
Large amounts of data might not work well if it’s not partitioned and regularly pruned out. We are considering other options for real-time use cases.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
A good go to tool for large amount of structured data. Like I said before you can clustering to improve usage. Very easy to use. A little SQL knowledge goes a long way.


    Financial Services

Snowflake Engineer

  • December 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Friendly GUI, Powerful cloud Cababilities
What do you dislike?
pricing sometimes is high for small cmopanies
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Building a cloud data warehouse. Easy to access by all users types.


    Sanjana P.

No data silos with snowflakes

  • December 16, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
With snowflakes there's always encryption-on with data in rest and days in transit. It is one of the best platforms to ensure data security while aiding unification of data from data warehouses and data lakes.
What do you dislike?
Higher costs when compared to its competitors. Also, the performance optimization alerts and notifications are way lesser compared to other cloud data warehouses.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our data team uses snowflake platform for offloading ETL. We are using it to store unstructed data. Snowflake offers high speed querying which is the best advantage of the platform.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Go with it because it is far better than the other in-built warehousing services the cloud providers offer.


    Mikayla S.

Better than Sift app

  • December 15, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how detailed oriented and easier it is to be able to look more into customer's information when it comes to verifying information traces of customers using DoorDash.
What do you dislike?
I didn't have access for a while until now. There isn't anything to dislike about snowflake yet, since it's a new program that I'm using.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm able to trace a deeper information on customers for multiple accounts, how much refund/credits they received in the entire time using DoorDash, and if they have multiple accounts.


    Giridhar P.

Snowflake is an amazing serverless tool for Datalake creation and analytics.

  • December 08, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Snowflake access is an easy process overall. The objects/tables creation DDL is much similar to a SQL server/MySQL syntax. Any number of tables with any number of elements could be created in your snowflake workspace. The analytical queries could be executed on top of the snowflake in a very efficient and smooth fashion with tremendous performance throughput. The flexibility of datatypes and having the string representation of any type of element is the most conducive flexibility of snowflake.
What do you dislike?
Snowflake queries and structure need some training to get acquainted with. The extract process has special syntax that needs separate skill.
Some of the table constructs in snowflake could be complex in nature. Different role exerts different restrictions on the table objects and not every user will have access to all the tables in snowflake.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Snowflake enabled my organization to create several tables under several subject areas. The tables created are interlinked with many common elements and act as a chained data lake. The series of objects on a holistic basis represent the business entities associated with the lake.

Any new and subsequently identified objects are easily appended to the snowflake workspace. The population of these tables could be accomplished easily via multiple data load strategies. Different types of file format like json, csv and many others are supported for data load within snowflake. The file to be loaded could be either uncompressed or compressed.

The schema definition classifies the list of objects in a subject area. Role definition and grants assigned to the role provide the necessary security needed for the table's accesses and unauthorized restrictions. The user needs to necessarily specify the schema along with the table name in order to access and query a table successfully.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good serveless datalake tool to consider for your bigdata/DBMS needed.


    Internet

Super fast and easy

  • December 02, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
i like snowflake sql syntaxes (10x better than MYSQL) and the query speed. Storage is also super cheap since they charge by compute usage like a utility bill. Its not laggy and i can share my sql sheets easily with others
What do you dislike?
I do not like the UI experience for users, I end up using pycharm or dbeaver and connect to snowflake to write my sql queries. yes, the new snowsights is better than the classic console, but it also took away some of the things I enjoy about classic console. I like the ability to access the accounts (admin related stuff) / datawarehouses pages on the same sql page
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
query speed. customers are happy with the results returned compared to some competitor tools...


    Shiv Dutt S.

Cloud based data warehousing tool with Analytics services

  • November 30, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Performance of the tool, you can perform complex logic calculations on huge volume of data very quickly. At any point of time, you can add/remove servers to increase the performance. Easy to learn and deployment of code.
What do you dislike?
We have not encountered any drawbacks so far with this tool. The only challenge that we see is direct connectivity with the sources. For example, to pull data from SAP, you need to use a replication tool.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are building a centralized database in our organization for reporting purposes. As of now, we have multiple systems which are not synched with each other. We are bringing data from all of them in snowflake then transforming data as per business need for reporting.


    Insurance

The Ultimate Data Warehouse

  • November 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Storage and compute power are separated so you can scale and manage performance levels as necessary. Integrates well with Tableau and Matillion ETL to form a robust software stack.
What do you dislike?
Whilst the different user roles help control permissions, it is easy to accidentally run an operation with the wrong one. New features are incrementally rolled out but would be nice to see the time-travel feature work over longer periods.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We wanted to build a data warehouse in the cloud but outside of the company's network. This solution allows us to easily open up our data to clients as well as access external data sources.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Would highly recommend going on the paid courses before setting anything up. These will prove invaluable in avoiding costly errors on setup and longer term.