Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Cisco Meraki vMX

Cisco | 15.41.0

Linux/Unix, Other 15.41.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

83 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jonathan P.

Meraki makes network administration simple, no rocket science required.

  • December 28, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
First and foremost, Meraki is simple. There is no need to maintain a Cisco engineer on staff to manage a large and complicated network. Site to Site VPN, Hot Spares and a plethora of networking and other devices have made Meraki my go to network solution.
What do you dislike?
Meraki has made PCI compliance a little more difficult. Mainly because some of our equipment is old and not compatible with some of the newer encryptions and methods. With a regular Cisco network, the engineer can usually create a workaround to keep this older equipment properly protected. Without that deep level of control this can't be done.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The company has saved a large amount of money by moving our network to Meraki. Without the requirement of a Cisco engineer we've been able to begin investment in other important technology areas. Meraki also makes new VPN connections, expansion of WiFi and more so very simple and quick.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Meraki's licensing costs can seem high. This is not necessarily the product you want if you have a full time Cisco Engineer that you are planning to keep on staff. Those costs, however, are easily offset in maintenance and consultation if you don't have such a position.


    Restaurants

My product review

  • December 18, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the whole concept of being able to manage multiple mobile devices on different operating systems.
What do you dislike?
This product has been amazing and thus far I don’t have any dislikes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The ability to be able to keep track of numerous company devices.


    Paul T.

Single Pane of Glass is awesome!

  • December 18, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love the single pane of glass and how easy it is to use. It provides the data I need in an easy to understand format and easy to find. Also, when adding new devices, it is very intuitive.
What do you dislike?
Not much to dislike. Cisco has done a good job of leaving Meraki alone and letting them do their thing and not interfering.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Wifi management and now branching out for device management


    Research

One stop for managing networks

  • December 18, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Streamlines the problem of managing multiple networks in a company with many offices and buildings
What do you dislike?
Like a lot of technology that is offering solutions, it's quite expensive
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Less lag in internet connectivity, a single dashboard to manage all the networks


    Jonathan T.

I LOVE my Meraki products!

  • December 18, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love how simple they are to setup, simple to administer, and how comprehensive the capabilities are. We've had them for a couple years now, and I've never had a more solid setup and felt more comfortable making updates remotely and as required.
What do you dislike?
Nothing really, but if I'm forced to pick, they are more expensive than the ZyXell, SonicWall, Ubiquiti, etc networks we've used in the past.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We just want our internet to work and authenticated devices only on our network. We also wanted to connect remote offices and remote workers to a secure vpn. It seems subtle, but I also love having RADIUS tied into our JumpCloud solution for easy user administration and roll-out to new users.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just make the switch to Meraki. I guess I'm crossing into fanboy territory, but the system of products is rock solid and easy to administer while being secure.


    Financial Services

Cisco Meraki is a good access point for a business of any size

  • December 18, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
For companies needing a simple solution for wireless access, Cisco Meraki is a good solution. It can accommodate companies of any size but you will need to purchase the correct Meraki product for your particular size. Also you can manage the Meraki devices via Cisco's website. You can find who is connected and how much traffic passes through the Meraki device(s). Another great thing about the Meraki is that you can tell who is on your wireless, what they are doing, and who is hogging up your entire bandwidth.
What do you dislike?
I like the ability to manage my Meraki via Cisco site but I want to make it completely private. I want to make it entirely managed by me and not seen by Cisco. Also Cisco used to do a heatmap but now they don't.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
This is to allow wireless access for my employees and guests. And the best part is that the performance is not too bad when lots of employees are on it unlike other solutions.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is pretty easy to use and administer.


    Publishing

Great product - seems to work well

  • December 17, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We have used this for a few years. We had two other products where we had issue after issue. No issues after 3 years with Cisco. Like the cloud based threat systems and support was great the few times we needed it.
What do you dislike?
Compared to our other few units, this is a great product. No issues. A few false positives - but this is over 3 years so no big deal.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Firewall - security.


    Zach P.

Consistent and Stable

  • December 17, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The Meraki Go units themselves are small and unobtrusive, about the size of a tablet. They can attach directly onto the wall or ceiling. Look sleek and clean. Very easy set-up and implementation.

Easy to use and understand.
What do you dislike?
Nothing! Product had strong ease of use and as long as it functions- we'll keep using it to support our infrastructure needs.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Network is strong and strong support features. Price is good for SMB.


    Oscar Horacio.O Q.

cisco meraki switch

  • December 17, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love that the product is very modular, practical and very easy to install
What do you dislike?
that always have to be connected to the internet to make any device change
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
problem of wireless solving a whole building with network for all the equipment of the plant
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider that changes to the team can be made directly to the device if you do not have access to the internet, that the team has an individual portal.


    Education Management

Excellent Software, easy to use

  • December 17, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Thanks to Meraki I have to make less effort to remember things related to networks especially CCNA, with Meraki everything is easier. Allow and offer solutions for networks from wherever you are. It has an interface that is too pleasant, didactic and easy to use, thus facilitating the tasks to be carried out. What I love is that through meraki, setting up a VPN is supremely simple and easy
What do you dislike?
One of the things I do not like is that although they offer DHCP they do not offer DNS. In addition, DNS is quite standard in perimeter devices and can not think of any competitor who does not have it. Also some of the devices to be used lack some features. Try several times through the help of Support to solve some problems, but it is very poor and does not provide good help.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Many business problems I have managed to solve thanks to Meraki, these jobs have been related to remote offices. Easy to use so I prefer it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
improve characteristics of some devices