Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Cisco Catalyst 8000V Edge Software - PAYG - DNA Advantage

Cisco | 17.08.01a

Linux/Unix, Other Cisco IOS XE - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

139 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Financial Services

Using for Cores

  • June 19, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Stable switch with very few bugs. Our switches currently have an up time of 2 years.
What do you dislike?
Not much to dislike. High volume of traffic with few bugs or issues.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Needed a robust core for a decent cost. Using the 6880-X was a perfect solution for us.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a switch that can scale to your requirements but don't want to spend the required amount for a Nexus, this is the switch for you.


    Computer Networking

3850

  • June 19, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I work with a lot of different switches but the 3850 offers a lot of features and I feel comfortable configuring them.
What do you dislike?
They are really heavy with 2 power supplies and the power supplies make the length of the switch a bit long.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
My company is installing a bunch of them for a large enterprise business and they always work and are dependable.


    Retail

Cisco Classic!

  • June 19, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It certianly gets the frames where they need to go efficantly!
What do you dislike?
I have yet to find a call out for this particular device.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use these switches at our stores throughout the USA. They allow us to have connectivity and conduct our business!


    David E.

Cisco provides a great catalyst for success

  • June 17, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Catalyst switches just work. We only use Cisco catalyst switches because we can set and forget them until new needs require changes in their configuration.
What do you dislike?
We have had some issues with fans going bad soon after deployment. Cisco replaced them immediately.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
All stores use catalyst switches for regular connectivity as well as switching between primary and secondary WAN connections. We also use VLANs to segregate our store networks into general and high Security networks. Lastly, we use them as edge switches for our corporate networks.


    Utilities

3850 switches

  • June 16, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The 3850 switches work great in the access or distribution layers. With full layer three capabilities they are a cost affective switch router. That can be used as a core switch for small branch offices as well.
What do you dislike?
The stacking cables on the switches are short.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Great branch office core switch


    Hospital & Health Care

Double dose of cats

  • June 15, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
High throughput on these switches is great, all the best features from previous generation products. The quality of the c3850 is above par for cisco quality products i forsee these switches running for a long time with excellent support.
What do you dislike?
It always comes down to something little and or petty, such as price. I dont have much room to complain though as the ROI for most cisco products, this one included is well worth it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Mainly having throughput availability for demanding power end users, making sure they are able to get what is needed when its needed without any bottlenecks. These switches do that and way more, an incredibly valuable product to have.


    Christopher H.

3650’s are the most versatile switch you can buy

  • June 15, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We use the 3650 in a variety of situations from collapsed core in midsize user deployment to top of rack in a data c
What do you dislike?
They can get expensive if you do not actually need the horsepower. There are cheaper alternatives if you don’t need the options and sp
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We needed a switch that could be a workhorse and keep going under tuff cond


    Government Administration

Stable SMB core router

  • June 15, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its fast and have good crypto. Very stable and wires peed L2 crypto
What do you dislike?
I stil haven't found anything I don't like about the product.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
we mainly use it as core router connecting 2 data enters with macsec crypto


    Hawkinson, J.

"Bulletproof Switch"

  • June 15, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The Catalyst 3850 Series switch has given us a flexible, reliable and secure access layer that is able to provide us the ability to be proactive and prepared for what the business units can throw at us.
What do you dislike?
The Catalyst 3850 creates a lot more Sound than the previous series of switches. Luckily we have network closets that aren't close to office areas. You might have to invest in sound reducing rack enclosures if you plan to install them close to users.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The Cisco Catalyst 3850 is our current standard Access Layer switch. With it's implementation we are now moving into deploying VOIP across our Enterprise along with an Enterprise managed wireless solution.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I you are thinking about 802.11ac V2 the Catalyst 3850 line has a model that has 10G ethernet ports on the last 12 ports of the switch to connect you AP's.