Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Cisco Catalyst 8000V Edge Software - PAYG - DNA Advantage

Cisco | 17.08.01a

Linux/Unix, Other Cisco IOS XE - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

139 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Anonymous

Cisco Catalyst switches provides good performance and bandwidth

  • August 13, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is user friendly and easy to manage through CLI
What do you dislike?
it is more expensive in terms of cost compared to other products
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It provides the best performance due to which productivity increases autometically
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Choose this product if you are affordable with pricing so that it will work efficiently


    Lakshman K.

easy to configure and deploy

  • August 11, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Cisco's catalyst switch is very easy to use and configure and they are less noisy. In our organization, we are using Cisco Catalyst 2960 switch, which is very easy to configure. The commands to configure VLANs and Trunks are very easy. we are integrated cisco switch with other vendor switches and it does not give us any trouble. And it supports multiple networking protocols and security features like DHCP snooping and port security.
What do you dislike?
Nothing very much to dislike, if there is GUI provisioning in some catalyst switches, then that could be helpful for someone who doesn't know commands
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have mainly solved the big problem in networking..Looping!! The cisco switch worked very well to prevent looping and upon that it also helped regarding DHCP Snooping which is a great feature in cisco switches.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
recommended to others as it is very easy to configure and use


    Marina B.

working with Catalyst 2950, 3650 and 3850 series

  • July 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
They are straightforward to use and configure, and in an environment where all your devices are Cisco devices, it is better.
They are straightforward to troubleshoot, and the commands to use are easy to remember.
What do you dislike?
On the hardware side, I have had several problems as the PoE ports, and the power supply are easily damaged.
As for performance and functionality, I have no complaints.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Creating VLANs and troubleshooting if any VLAN is working correctly through the spanning tree is easy.
Besides, you can see the neighbor devices, execute commands to validate if the cabling is damaged on a port etc.


    Anonymous

Cisco Catalyst 2960-X/XR--a very secure and reliable product available in the market

  • April 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Secure
User friendly
Easy to troubleshoot
Controls the network broadcast
What do you dislike?
Price and Review of logs, but as far as my usage is concerned, I didn't find anything to dislike
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Cisco Catalyst Benefits
After Cisco Catalyst, 2960-X/XR Series Switches implementation, downtime for maintenance is almost resolved, and its reporting features help us plan and manage our environment without unnecessary downtime.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
A Cisco Catalyst Switch is a very secure device on networks where you can configure a
large number of VLANs or subnets--networks that are serving a large
number of users and that require daily or weekly changes. The CLI access will allow administrators familiar with
it to implement needed changes fast.


    Ramesh B.

Best Switch for Distribution layer

  • April 07, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Performance and easy to configure the protocols. They're that reliable and resilient. the main advantages of using a switch is to extend the network as well as reducing the broadcast domain. the switches are used to connect end devices. Supports VLAN's which can help in the Logical segmentation of ports[physical ports]. Splitting up the broadcast domain. Intelligent device[compared to Hub's] which can make use of CAM table for Port to MAC mapping. The cost to the number of ports ratio is best .. ie For a cheaper cost, you get switches with more number of ports available than Routers. Compared to Bridges, Switches are more H/w oriented therefore operations are less CPU intense[Basic operations].
What do you dislike?
it is expensive compare to other vendors. The user interface needs improvement. activating the licenses is difficult and we need to buy licenses for each and different feature. expensive for activating the license even for ports.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
easy to configure and solving the distribution layer headache, Switches used to reduces the collision.
If a switch needs to forward multiple frames out the same port, the switch buffers the frames in memory, sending them one at a time, thereby avoiding collisions. To designate specific end locations prevents Ethernet collisions from occurring. The switch is more secure, as it makes any port communicate directly with any other port. The cost to the number of ports ratio is best
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For best performance and easy to use and configure the any catalyst


    Lisbeth Rye S.

I just answer this in order to make an account!

  • March 06, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Long lasting - good working - but ekspensive!
What do you dislike?
I do not have 40 letters to give about that matter
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Network - computeres - accespoints - printers -photocopymashines


    Anonymous

For infra LAN and WAN connectivity

  • January 13, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
used for LAN and WAN connectivity. Can work as L2 and L3 switch
What do you dislike?
Nothing to dislike except the produc cost amd product support.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
L2 and L3 connectivity issue
Recommendations to others considering the product:
consider brand value and budget


    Marcel J.

Cisco Catalyst Switches -base for reliable network

  • December 29, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Cisco Catalyst Switches can work years without any interruption, that is their so-called biggest advantage. Because reliability is the most needed element in computer networks. Also based on my experiences cisco devices do not have any problems when working together with other vendors. When administrator knows the CLI , then almost everything is possible to configure and everything can be done in as shortest time as possible. Another best thing that Cisco is offering is the support. They are really eager to help you with any kind of problem you have with the device or service. I have only positive experiences when working with Cisco.
What do you dislike?
Cisco datacenter devices are bit noisy, but who cares when they are closed in rack in datacenter :). Also price is sometimes higher as the competitors, but you pay for quality.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We needed a core switch device, through which all our medium-size company traffic would be routed. Cisco were ideal candidate for it. It was capable to handle all traffic and divide network together with firewalls into more logical and smaller blocks (networks).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I can only recommend to buy Cisco device. Doesn't matter if cisco catalyst or Nexus. They are always stable and working flawlessly without issues. They are also always up to date, because Cisco Talos daily check for vulnerabilities and provides patches to keep them safe from attackers.


    Omkar k.

Next Generation Switch in the world of Docker & containers

  • July 16, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Cisco Catalyst switches are most reliable in terms of performance and customer satisfaction. they are easily integrated able with your network. All you need to design your network as per need. Cisco devices are always able to meet your requirement.
What do you dislike?
The price is the only downside of this product. The initial upfront cost is steep and then you have to license to renew every couple of years.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
To replace our old nexus N5k infrastructure getting to there end of life and needing to upgrade for better storage solution and we really needed the performance. We are changing the way we do things now. Wanted to start utilizing our 40gig port capability on our Nexus cores. So wanted more speed and design capabilities to configure. After our demo with were impressed so we moved forward with the purchase with no regrets. Best decision for our business and the price was right as well.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
When it comes to performance Cisco will always meet your demands. In terms of Price cisco might be little higher but in the end performance is something business demands. So Cisco is one leading brand in terms of performance and readability


    Komal N.

Cisco Catalyst 9000 Switches

  • July 10, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
cisco catalyst switches are very good performance and bandwidth capacity. cisco switches are easy to upgrade, configure and deploy without using any automated tools. They have been solid with no issue and the speed is incredible. And with cisco tac support if you need help which also awesome what more can you ask for. Supports most major routing protocols. IPV4 and 6. EIGRP. OSPF.
What do you dislike?
TIll now there is not found anything that I don't dislike we have had no issue with them since the deployments and so we even ordered a few more to replace some old infrastructure equipment as well.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In cisco catalyst switches there are advanced protocols for encryption and data security and access.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It gave us to give you more assurance on these switches. We currently use them for our storage and wireless networks and they have been awesome with no issues since deployments. So hopefully that may put your mind at ease.