Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Cisco Catalyst 8000V Edge Software - PAYG - DNA Advantage

Cisco | 17.09.01a

Linux/Unix, Other Cisco IOS XE - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

139 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Anonymous

Solid Performer for Corporate IDF's

  • May 11, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
port density, cost, options all help make this switch a must have for your IDF closet
What do you dislike?
do not really have any dislikes with this switch
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
no problems being solved, just needed a lot of ports and power for VOIP phones and desktops
Recommendations to others considering the product:
put them in your IDF's and just patch them yearly.


    Anonymous

Cisco Catalys nunca falta en tu empresa

  • May 08, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Las empresas que eligen Cisco saben que la inversión inicial de costes puede parecer
engañosa. Es fácil de olvidar que el coste de la compra inicial de su red asciende
tipicamente al 20 por ciento de los costes totales de propiedad. A menudo, el 80 por
ciento restante procede de los gastos de costes operacionales, mantenimiento y soporte.
Sin embargo, con Cisco el coste total de propiedad desciende, debido a la reducción de
costes operacionales durante la vida del producto.
Las empresas que compran únicamente un switch por precio (por ejemplo, escogiendo un
producto de consumo, en vez de uno diseñado específicamente para empresas), no
suelen tener en cuenta el impacto de su decisión. Generalmente, no tienen en cuenta la
importancia de considerar factores tales como la escalabilidad, si la empresa creciera, y la
fiabilidad. Esto resulta a menudo en costes ocultos tales como caídas de red y pérdida de
productividad.
El soporte técnico y las opciones de financiación de Cisco ofrecen a las empresas soporte
continuo, ayudando a superar muchos de estos problemas y añadir valor al dinero a largo
plazo.
Incluso porque la tecnología de Cisco es de la más alta calidad, y está diseñada para ser
fácil de gestionar, el coste total de propiedad es generalmente más bajo que los
productos de la competencia.
What do you dislike?
No me disgusta ningún aspecto, lo único que todos sabemos es que el precio de los equipos Cisco es un poco alto, con lo cual se hace difícil en ciertas situaciones la compra del mismo equipo.

Ventajas en contra del precio

Fiabilidad (simplemente no pueden afrontar los costes debidos a la inactividad del
sistema).
Seguridad avanzada (protegiendo los activos de sus datos y por consiguiente la
integridad y continuidad de su negocio).
Tecnología que pueda crecer con su negocio (para que puedan capitalizar el potencial
de la tecnología y aplicaciones, tales como VoIP y tecnología inalámbrica).
Garantía de Producto (de modo que sepan que la inversión de tecnología está
protegida).
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ninguno, se esta usando la configuración básica y funcionan perfectamente.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Excelente producto


    Jose Antonio A.

Solutions for a new era of intent-based networking

  • May 01, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
One network, one OS, wired and wireless. The convergence is seamless with the Cisco Catalyst 9000 portfolio. Policies are applied consistently for security, automation, and assurance, while segmentation separates devices and users to help reduce the attack surface.They support the industry’s highest density 802.11ac Wave 2 deployments with Cisco Multigigabit Technology
What do you dislike?
It lacks a controller with integrated visibility between Cisco DNA and Cisco ACI. They can be expensive for certain customers. The installed base is still not very high.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using them as access switches for branch and campus environments. They give us better experience provisioning and managing our network at an affordable price. The Catalyst 9000 family provides enterprise-level resiliency to keep our business up and running seamlessly. They give access to Cisco’s best in class security portfolio anchored by Talos, Encrypted Traffic Analytics, Trustworthy Solutions, MACsec encryption and segmentation. This product family provides advanced security features that protect the integrity of the hardware as well as the software and all data that flows through the switch and the network.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You can obtain a Return on Investment:
* We obtained twice the port density at a lower cost.
* Reduce our operating costs via accelerating changes with programmability.
* Cisco DNA Premier, Advantage and Essentials subscription-based software licensing lets us purchase the features and capabilities we need.


    Alexandre F.

Catalyst Review

  • April 28, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Inexpensive and easy to use, still supported til 2019 if you have a contract or warranty.
What do you dislike?
No longer fully supported for vulnerabilities.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The small branch-office networks were simplified, the migration from non-intelligent hubs and unmanaged switches to a fully scalable managed network was easy.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is a truly simple to install and a great product that will serve basic minimum functionality especially in a small environment.


    Computer Networking

Cisco Catalyst one of many solutions to Switch to

  • April 28, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The Cisco Catalyst switches are great because of all of the 10 gig capability and Wireless controller management built in to one system. On top of that they are stackable and can be configured together as one management plane.
What do you dislike?
Soon after we received the 3850s it was time to move on to the 9300 series. Both products are great it was just the quick life cycle that created turn around for more work since we purchased the 3850s later and closer to its projected EOL date.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In particular we tested and used a 3850 to migrate core routing via VRRP from one building to another because of the current fiber design. It was very helpful and kept up with the load surprisingly.


    Shashiteja C.

Experts

  • April 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The Cisco Professional are the experts having a detailed understanding of various technologies in the field of modern telecommunications.
What do you dislike?
leading the networking industry in in-depth technical networking knowledge
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The Cisco professionals are focused on designing, building, implementing, maintaining or troubleshooting complex organizational networking infrastructures.


    Miguel S.

My experience with Switch Cisco range Catalyst

  • March 31, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
One of the things that I like this sw range is its easy configuration at the VLAN level and port mode assignment, this catalyst range offers giga speed ports, thanks to this it improves the sending of packages in each of its ports. It also offers the security part with the port-security protocol, which helps us to have greater security in our infra-structure.
What do you dislike?
I do not like the sw of this range in several of the protocols of layer 2 are exclusive of cisco, and when we have an infrestrutura of direfente manufacturers is useless many of the commands. It would be very useful to standardize the protocols so that all manufacturers use it and get more out of this equipment.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
thanks to the sw catalyst my network works at gigabit speeds, I also have them configured in stack mode to use two sw as if they were one in my access layer, to have more access ports for end users.


    Alberto J.

Using catalyst cisco of the catalyst series.

  • February 28, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The handling of these devices is very practical, the catalys series in one of the most complete series of switches that are on the market, since it has many security features and very useful protocols developed by Cisco. Personally, it is the most complete team since at the configuration level, having the basic knowledge of Cisco networks, you can implement it in your internal network without any problem.
What do you dislike?
One of the failures that I find to the catalyst series is the capacity of momoria that manages, the problems that occur are a little serious since it does not allow the access to manage the equipment and slowness in the process of the packages in the network.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Thanks to the cisco catalyst switch I manage the packages in layer two. The spanningtree protocol is one of the ones I like the most at the distribution layer level, to avoid endless packet loops. the creation of VLANS, to segment the network are some of the functions that I use with the switches of the Catalyst series.


    Angel C.

cisco switches business solution

  • February 06, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
catalyst switches are excellent switches that help a small or medium company in the solution of scalability, they are switches that adapt to the environment that each company has. It has very solid solutions, such as portsecurity, segmentation of networks (VLANS). This is one of the functions that I like most about switches because it is very easy to do and configure it, compared to other competitors.
What do you dislike?
what disgusts me about this product are its high cost, because being one of the most recognized brands and used in the world of networks is put as first place and with a high price but for a good solution offering good features and services .
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have used this product to be able to segment the network also scalability since we had a switch that had been left with few available ports and the growth of the network was considerable, it was decided to acquire a 48-port switch catalyst to be able to give supply the necessary requirements, apart from having a better administration.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend this product completely if you require a small or medium business solution, it is adaptable and scalable, you must study the configurations very well since it is handled by terminal.


    Anonymous

The go-to enterprise switch

  • February 01, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Everyone knows how to run them and they’re stable.
What do you dislike?
I don’t think I’ve had any problems with them in recent years.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Reliable LAN switching