Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu Desktop 20.10 - GUI Gnome with VNC and RDP

Arara Solutions | v1021

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

3 AWS reviews

External reviews

94 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    suraj k.

If you are a developer it's really easy fast to develop with Ubuntu

  • December 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Comman line is very good (cli)
Its really fast as compared to other os for development
What do you dislike?
UI is not that much familiar especially for non tech guys
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Web and app development. I can easily do everything by CLI without opening multiple tabs


    Aviation & Aerospace

User friendly

  • December 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Straightforward coding. Easy to customize. Tons of options.
What do you dislike?
People coding with different commands...
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use them to create Gotland runners for our environment.


    Computer & Network Security

Ubuntu can be a little bit hard to get used to but once you do it's the best operating system

  • December 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is a freeware, it's fully customisable according to your needs, it's more secure and Ubuntu desktop is open source, Ubuntu allows smooth updates with little down time.
What do you dislike?
Well Ubuntu desktop doesn't have a good support for games, the repository system could be a little bit better many software's aren't available for installation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
You don’t need to wait through a whole installation process because you can run Ubuntu as Live directly from a pen drive. Business performance has increased majorly.


    Onkar S.

Not better than Windows but it's there.

  • December 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu-desktop version supports all the usual / day-to-day software which usually run on windows, such as firefox, chrome, VLC, etc. Ubuntu desktop does not require high-end system specification like the latest versions of Windows and macOS.
What do you dislike?
Ubuntu-desktop does not support some of the hardware components, and software applications do not match the standard provided by Windows OS. It also does not support popular applications such as Photoshop, Premiere Pro or MS office.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The app store includes a vast selection of apps such as Mozilla Firefox, Chromium, Google Chrome, Opera browser, Slack, Skype, VLC Player, and Spotify, etc. These applications are very useful for daily users.


    Igal M.

Pretty easy to use, but has a lot of extras that make it too overwhelming to use

  • December 16, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
That is an excellent and classical Linux distributive. It performs well on lower spec computers and provides a lot of flexibility with a large amount of additional software available in the store. Overall, it has notable features, good built-in software for day-to-day tasks, and an easy way to start using the OS. Installing the OS does not require any additional knowledge.
What do you dislike?
Many features either did not work well or were too overwhelming to use. System updates are slow. A lot of regular devices do not have drivers for this OS (printers, scaners etc). Some internal hardware is not supported by Ubuntu as well.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu desktop was the primary operating system for some laptops and computers, where we did not need any special software and could use only the web browser. We used to host a web server and support a database as well.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look at other distros, as many are similar to Ubuntu Desktop but not as condescending. Even though overall Ubuntu is an excellent operating system, it may give a lot of issues when trying to use with some specialized software from the Unix world, as well as does not provide good enough support for other types of applications.


    Md Rafiqul I.

Very First and clean. Open source OS.

  • December 10, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The customizations of the system and Free software
What do you dislike?
Sometimes grab menu do not work. Then need to edit before boot.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It’s run docker and other application smoothly. And I can handle user permission to access files. That's really awesome.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend to all to use ubuntu and discover the power of OS.


    Computer Software

Ubuntu desktop experience

  • December 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
* It has a clean and straightforward UI
* we can do everything from terminal
* easy to install software like vscode, docker npm
* it is fast compared to windows
* frequent updates and minor bugs
What do you dislike?
* sometimes issues in boot
* shortcuts are tricky like for paste shift+insert
* there is not many games
* Some software is not available for the ubuntu-desktop like adobe xd or any other adobe products
* not much customization available
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
* I was ubuntu as my primary os
* watching videos and entertainment
* For coding and mobile apps development
* I was more productive
* Easily done basic tasks like web browsing.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For coding and development purposes, ubuntu is one of the best. Just go for it


    Craig A.

A versatile desktop for more common computing tasks

  • November 30, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The UI has come along way to help the migration of Windows centric users feel at home on a non windows OS. The productivity applications are getting comprehensive too.
What do you dislike?
The patching process can still be cumbersome to automate and control to the same level as Windows Operating Systems. Antivirus offerings can also be more limited than Windows or Mac offerings.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We quickly needed to redeploy our backlog of older laptops with a standardized and supported Operating System at the start of 2020 to some of our employees. The organization required this in response to the Covid 19 lockdowns and many users not having suitable hardware in their homes. It is important to note most of our business and productivity apps are SaaS-delivered, so we had limited to no issues with application compatibility.


    Primary/Secondary Education

You can' t go wrong with this Beauty

  • November 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
In recent Ubuntus, the UI has become much better again. I like the colors and the software of the the normal desktop install. It' s NOT cluttered, there is easy scaling for any laptop and it works well in a VM.
What do you dislike?
Still a bit heavy. I'd like the topbar to have an easy scaling method. For all the rest, wow, Open Source has proven it's here to stay. Xubuntu and some other derivatives are speedier.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's a free system. I can use it in VMs on a powerful Chromebook; this gives me programs I can not load in Crostini and need for my job as a linguist, really!!


    Nelson T.

Ununtu, 5 years+ using it!

  • November 23, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ease to update; no cost for the company; massive amount of software; easy to add app repositories.
What do you dislike?
Not that easy to work it on new computers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is all about costs and security. Ubuntu is user-friendly and reliable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
One significant advantage of using Linux is customization. Test the different flavors of Ubuntu, and you will find one suitable for your needs without a doubt.