Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu Desktop 20.10 - GUI Gnome with VNC and RDP

Arara Solutions | v0421

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

3 AWS reviews

External reviews

51 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

Ubuntu Desktop

  • August 13, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu Desktop is secure and has an in-built firewall which makes it different from other desktop. It is built on the foundation of Debian's architecture and infrastructure
What do you dislike?
Nothing as such is there to disklike in Ubuntu Desktop
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Security and devs who are not good with Linux cli can quickly learn and grow their skills using Ubuntu Desktop.


    Mohit B.

Entry Level OS with GUI Interface

  • August 04, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
First thing is, it's opensource free OS which easily work on basic system configuration without hanging or consuming the system resources. Due to command based system Linux was not so popular in end users but this is good option with very less commands and user interface is also very simple. Some of the applications are already preinstalled in this system which fulfillls the basic needs like browsing.This option is very economical option in the operating systems.Security is better as regular updates are there to upgrade the system ans security.
What do you dislike?
Difficult to adapt for existing user of Windows as the commands are completely changed and after replacing with this OS user may getting irretated due to flexibility. This is the best options for developers but not for the general users thoug multiple general usage applications are preinstalled in it but mostly persons are habitual to MS Windows OS. The major challenge to adapt this OS is "People are already adicted to Wondows OS and they dont want to adapt new system".The another reason for this is the flexibility as its very less flexible than windows.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Security is fas better in this as compare to windows and so issue in terms of support. As it's free to use so no impact on the budget and with regular updates, new application will work properly like after closing support of WindowsXP the browsers are not working and people are facing lots of issues even in internet surfing, such issues are not there with this operating system. open office is easily available to replace office as all basic functionalities are already there.


    Mohit A.

Best linux based OS ever!

  • August 01, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
UI is very simple , fast and responsive . It is open source , stable and virus free OS. It offers long term support . Connectivity is very good. Also we can run windows apps on Ubuntu using wine . It has own App Store . And maximum application runs on Ubuntu very easily.
What do you dislike?
It is not good for gaming purpose except this really best OS for developers and ethical hackers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using this OS for coding purpose and also runs perfect on old specification hardware very smoothly. It is very secure and fast OS.


    Kyle T.

Ubuntu should be market leader!

  • July 27, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love the ease and simplicity of ubuntu-desktop; it can take some getting used to due to the main differences between Ubuntu and other operating systems you may be more familiar with. Ubuntu makes the learning process pretty easy, and it's a very intuitive operating system. Throughout my time (2-3 years) using Ubuntu, I have found it to be a very stable OS. Most importantly, Ubuntu is FREE!
What do you dislike?
As mentioned, making the switch from other more popular OS's, does result in somewhat of a learning curve due to the open-source nature of the OS being so different from what we are used to. I have found a few hardware compatibility issues while using ubuntu that always seem to crop up out of nowhere, when least expected, which can be a bit frustrating, more so for home/non-technical users. But these issues do seem few and far between, for me at least.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu predominantly solves the problems surrounding costs. Being a free OS has saved my employer 1000's due to never needing to purchase any licenses for new versions.


    Jaswinder S.

Great OS for all of your needs

  • May 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I loved that it's opensource & have all the power of sudo that we need.
What do you dislike?
GUI still can be better but the community is already working on it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use ubuntu for my day to operations, mostly linux servers.


    rwxrob

Tricky login screen but okay after that

  • May 18, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The initial login screen doesn't have an option for the port. Selecting a different option from the first dropdown, I could change the port then went back to the first option and filled the username password and got in.


    Sana R.

Ubuntu Desktop Review

  • May 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The most helpful thing about ubuntu is its command-line accessibility and usability. Terminal commands make the workload especially os related very easier.
What do you dislike?
There is not anything in particular that I dislike. However, the most occurring and frustrating problem that I usually face is the frozen screen. when the main memory fills to its limit, the screen alongside the keyboard and mouse freezes out of sudden. there is no escape other than the reboot using REISUB combination or manually switch, which results in the loss of the unsaved work
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use ubuntu on daily basis for software development and programming. I myself explicitly program in python and ubuntu makes setting up the python environment and install the dependent packages and libraries very easy. moreover setting up docker system and containers for black-box or unit testing etc is also very easy on Linux environment as compare to windows systems, in my opinion
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend to look and explore for the common terminal commands for daily use. the terminal access to the system makes the work more easier and usable. Secondly, using the shell scripts to automate the process that are redundant and repetitive or that are used on a frequent basis makes the life easy.


    Education Management

Ubuntu

  • May 10, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The universality is what I like the most, Most of the benefits of Ubuntu is that it is a free and open-source operating system. In other words, unlike Microsoft Windows and Apple's macOS, individuals and companies can own and retain functioning machines without the need for software licenses or the purchase of specialized hardware. Building and managing an information technology system are also costly endeavors. Aside from the hardware, they need a functional operating system. Even so, both individuals and companies will benefit from reduced costs associated with free operating systems and open source software apps. The operating system can be mounted on a variety of machines, including Windows and Mac computers. It also operates on network servers, IoT computers, even robots, both in configured or virtual machines ( vms computing )systems through the use of a virtual environment or containers.
What do you dislike?
One of Ubuntu's biggest drawbacks is the small number of applications available. While the operating system is open, and a range of applications are also available for free download, equivalents in Windows and macOS are much superior. Major developers also tend to work on projects for Microsoft Corporation and Apple Inc. because their customer bases are broader. I've also reported driver problems or incompatibility between the operating system and their computers' hardware requirements. There have been isolated reports of wireless card drivers failing to function or printers failing to link to computers due to an unexplained hardware problem.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Ubuntu for coding and many other functions which makes it versatile


    Mateo

Password doesn't work.

  • March 10, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

After following these usage instructions for RDP with the first 8 digits of my instance id as a password it didn't work at all. Looking for a different solution in Arara Solutions I notice that guides folder is empty (http://arara.solutions/guides).

This the only message that I get through GUI.

Connecting to sesman IP 127.0.0.1 port 3350
sesman connect ok
sending login info to session manager, please wait...
login failed for display 0


    Computer & Network Security

descriptive review on Ubuntu

  • January 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
There are many things which I personally like about the product, here are few to glance

1. well designed GUI
2. stable kernel
3. Complete stack support for all softwares
What do you dislike?
Only few dislikes compared to the quantum of likes
1. compatability of drivers is the main challenge
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The main usage is to replace traditional Windows end-user environment, its reasonably affordable and uses full potential of the underlying hardware.