Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Apache Web Server on Ubuntu 20.10

Arara Solutions | v0421

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

112 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    albert l.

APACHE SERVER my super server

  • April 24, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is an excellent server, to use a language that is used mainly on the web that is PHP, is an HTTP server allows me to connect with databases such as MySQL and MariaDB. It is also an open source software, which can be monitored for security flaws, we can also say that it is a software that I consider very safe and is always in constant update and improvement. The costs of the Apache servers are free, we must know how to configure in a way that is quite easy to install on Windows, Macintosh and Linux. I have used it in the Windows and Linux server models, the experience in these two environments has been very good for me.
What do you dislike?
I could say that some versions do not have a visually friendly presentation for its configuration, since this must be done by means of a console. For the person who is starting or not conosca can be something a bit cumbersome, but we can not ignore that is the most effective way to make such configurations.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In the company we use the apache servers because they are very reliable for us and our clients their security systems that implement and update continuously gives us that confidence, our clients feel very happy with this service they provide.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I consider the apache servers that offer trust, quality and service aspect that is always looked for in the search of servers and it is free you must risk to work with them you will not regret it.


    Security and Investigations

The Gold Standard In HTTP Servers

  • December 06, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache is venerable, stable, and well-known by everyone and anyone who runs webservers for a living. You're going to be hard pressed to find someone who knows webservers and doesn't know Apache.
What do you dislike?
The config file isn't easily machine readable and configurable. It's not as fast as some other servers such as Nginx.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Apache handles all of our rewriting and redirection needs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Apache, although it is not known as the most performant web server daemon, is the safe choice and will generally meet your needs unless they're specialized.


    Nacho G.

The most complete web server

  • October 06, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Apache Server is an application to publish websites on your own server in an agile and powerful way. It is really complete and has many options, for example recently it has allowed me to configure two different web pages in two different domains on the same server, with SSL enabled and with different certificates for each one, definitively it's the most complete service.
What do you dislike?
Being so powerful, has a drawback, it is very complicated to configure it safely. Only with installing the service you have an operative web page, but once you want to deepen you have to dedicate many hours.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Apache Server to publish different websites that we create for our clients. We usually use external hosting services, but in many cases we use our own servers with Apache Server
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Apache is simply the best service to publish secure web pages on linux servers, for that reason it is the most used software for that purpose.


    Ramon V.

Essential web server

  • September 25, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Apache is a great service to publish websites, together with ISS and Nginx, which are the alternatives. But Apache is much faster than the others, according to some synthetic tests, up to twice as fast
What do you dislike?
The worst thing about Apache is undoubtedly how complicated it is to configure it, since it requires some good prior knowledge to have it configured correctly
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it for all the servers of my company, it is the best option to run web pages on linux servers. It allows me to have different websites on the same server and use it with certificates and SSL protection
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Apache is the most powerful option to have your own web server. It is a bit complicated to configure but once it is operational it has a multitude of options.


    Koldo I.

the web server by excellence

  • September 12, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache is the service for publishing web pages on virtually all Unix servers, with the exception of Tomcat and some other minority.
It allows to mount different web pages on the same server and secure everything with the SSL protocol
What do you dislike?
the only drawback of Apache is that it is not simple to configure everything, and normally you have to have previous experience to obtain a stable service
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use apache to publish the web pages of some services that we offer to other companies.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The best application to publish websites. Worldwide used with enormous recognition


    Miguel J.

Excelent web server for Linux

  • September 12, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The first thing that you realize about apache, is that it's available in all distribution already packages and maybe installed. After that you can start the service and you have a simple website working locally, and after some work, you can get your server publishing a website to the net.Te
What do you dislike?
The negative point of Apache is that there are options that are not easy to find and configure, and normally there are too much information, not always sorted.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use apache in my personal computer of the work to publishing some internal websites or applications that runs over apache, like Phppgadmin for example.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Apache is the principal software to publishing websites. It's designed for production environments with much websites in same server. It's very stable and reliable.


    Eduardo G.

Currently the best web server

  • September 10, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache web server it's a cross-platform application that gives you hundreds of options to configure it. To get it up, it's easy but there are lots of properties that you can define to get your services totally customized and secure. For example, you can define rules to set witch files will be accessible from the web and witch no, define witch users can see some pages or have multiple websites running in the same server, each one with a totally differenced options.
What do you dislike?
Apache has so many options that to configure everything is very complicated, and sometimes you need to spend much ours to get it good configured. Other handicap of apache at different of other web servers, is that there aren't available a control panel to deal with the numerous options
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use apache2 to get publish a lot of websites that I use in my company in internal way. Majority of them are applications that we develop or from third-party but where the administration is done by a website.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's the best alternative and it's used by the majority of web servers. It's free and customizable.


    Pilar M.

The web service by excellence

  • September 09, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache server it's the web server used by the 95% of administrators over the world, because it's the best in different aspects: First, it's available and compiled for the principal operatives systems that runs in servers, second because it's stable and runs very fast. And third, because it's maintained by the community, and this with thousands of users becomes in very tested and verified product.
What do you dislike?
It's a product for advanced administrators, comes with a basic configuration that is not recommendable for use in production because isn't safe enough.If you want to tune it to production, with the configuration of certificates and with the SSL enabled you need to work in that a few days.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's our web server in all servers that we have, in the internal servers we use to publish some web applications that we use, like inventory databases and some internal applications. Also we use externally to publish some websites to Internet
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Apache it's the best option to publish a website. It's fast and secure if it's configured right.


    Ramon G.

The default web server

  • September 07, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache server it's the web server that everybody use as default, because it's the best option that there are in Linux. It's easy to install, since it is available for all environments, and once it's installed it weak up automatic. Once you have it installed just you needs to put the HTML files to the correct directory and you have a website running. It's really easy.
What do you dislike?
The advanced configurations are not so easy to configure, mainly the security options, the certificates configurations or for example get different webs in the same server, but anyway there are lots of manuals on the net to configure apache, so there are the MAN pages that also includes the information to configure.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Basically we use to publish locally some websites for internal usage or for develop. Normally our computers has Apache2 installed and we can watch whatever we are developing in real time without connect to other computers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Apache server it's the web server used by more than 90% of the system administrators because it's simple the best. The alternatives in Linux are not interesting, and in Windows the main alternative is the Microsoft Internet Server, and they are like night and day


    Rosendo M.

The main HTTP server

  • September 05, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache it's the default web server in all Unix servers. It's available packaged in almost all distributions, with the different packages that you can need, SSL support, PHP7 support, etc.
Apache has much configurations related with security and with have more than one website in one server
What do you dislike?
The amount of configurations, makes difficult to find the correct configuration that you need in each moment. The manuals are really big and old fashioned.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use as internal web server for different applications that we use in our company.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's fast and reliable. Works perfect in all environments. Can be used with SSL and certificates.