Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Apache Web Server on Ubuntu 20.10

Arara Solutions | v0421

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

109 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Ramon V.

Essential web server

  • September 25, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Apache is a great service to publish websites, together with ISS and Nginx, which are the alternatives. But Apache is much faster than the others, according to some synthetic tests, up to twice as fast
What do you dislike?
The worst thing about Apache is undoubtedly how complicated it is to configure it, since it requires some good prior knowledge to have it configured correctly
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it for all the servers of my company, it is the best option to run web pages on linux servers. It allows me to have different websites on the same server and use it with certificates and SSL protection
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Apache is the most powerful option to have your own web server. It is a bit complicated to configure but once it is operational it has a multitude of options.


    Koldo I.

the web server by excellence

  • September 12, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache is the service for publishing web pages on virtually all Unix servers, with the exception of Tomcat and some other minority.
It allows to mount different web pages on the same server and secure everything with the SSL protocol
What do you dislike?
the only drawback of Apache is that it is not simple to configure everything, and normally you have to have previous experience to obtain a stable service
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use apache to publish the web pages of some services that we offer to other companies.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The best application to publish websites. Worldwide used with enormous recognition


    Miguel J.

Excelent web server for Linux

  • September 12, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The first thing that you realize about apache, is that it's available in all distribution already packages and maybe installed. After that you can start the service and you have a simple website working locally, and after some work, you can get your server publishing a website to the net.Te
What do you dislike?
The negative point of Apache is that there are options that are not easy to find and configure, and normally there are too much information, not always sorted.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use apache in my personal computer of the work to publishing some internal websites or applications that runs over apache, like Phppgadmin for example.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Apache is the principal software to publishing websites. It's designed for production environments with much websites in same server. It's very stable and reliable.


    Eduardo G.

Currently the best web server

  • September 10, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache web server it's a cross-platform application that gives you hundreds of options to configure it. To get it up, it's easy but there are lots of properties that you can define to get your services totally customized and secure. For example, you can define rules to set witch files will be accessible from the web and witch no, define witch users can see some pages or have multiple websites running in the same server, each one with a totally differenced options.
What do you dislike?
Apache has so many options that to configure everything is very complicated, and sometimes you need to spend much ours to get it good configured. Other handicap of apache at different of other web servers, is that there aren't available a control panel to deal with the numerous options
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use apache2 to get publish a lot of websites that I use in my company in internal way. Majority of them are applications that we develop or from third-party but where the administration is done by a website.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's the best alternative and it's used by the majority of web servers. It's free and customizable.


    Pilar M.

The web service by excellence

  • September 09, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache server it's the web server used by the 95% of administrators over the world, because it's the best in different aspects: First, it's available and compiled for the principal operatives systems that runs in servers, second because it's stable and runs very fast. And third, because it's maintained by the community, and this with thousands of users becomes in very tested and verified product.
What do you dislike?
It's a product for advanced administrators, comes with a basic configuration that is not recommendable for use in production because isn't safe enough.If you want to tune it to production, with the configuration of certificates and with the SSL enabled you need to work in that a few days.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's our web server in all servers that we have, in the internal servers we use to publish some web applications that we use, like inventory databases and some internal applications. Also we use externally to publish some websites to Internet
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Apache it's the best option to publish a website. It's fast and secure if it's configured right.


    Ramon G.

The default web server

  • September 07, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache server it's the web server that everybody use as default, because it's the best option that there are in Linux. It's easy to install, since it is available for all environments, and once it's installed it weak up automatic. Once you have it installed just you needs to put the HTML files to the correct directory and you have a website running. It's really easy.
What do you dislike?
The advanced configurations are not so easy to configure, mainly the security options, the certificates configurations or for example get different webs in the same server, but anyway there are lots of manuals on the net to configure apache, so there are the MAN pages that also includes the information to configure.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Basically we use to publish locally some websites for internal usage or for develop. Normally our computers has Apache2 installed and we can watch whatever we are developing in real time without connect to other computers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Apache server it's the web server used by more than 90% of the system administrators because it's simple the best. The alternatives in Linux are not interesting, and in Windows the main alternative is the Microsoft Internet Server, and they are like night and day


    Rosendo M.

The main HTTP server

  • September 05, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache it's the default web server in all Unix servers. It's available packaged in almost all distributions, with the different packages that you can need, SSL support, PHP7 support, etc.
Apache has much configurations related with security and with have more than one website in one server
What do you dislike?
The amount of configurations, makes difficult to find the correct configuration that you need in each moment. The manuals are really big and old fashioned.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use as internal web server for different applications that we use in our company.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's fast and reliable. Works perfect in all environments. Can be used with SSL and certificates.


    Pepe B.

Apache, the web server of reference

  • September 03, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Apache it's a Unix software that permits create a web server without much difficulty.
It's available for all distributions, and after install it from the repository it's working immediately.
There are hundreds of configurations available and there are a big manual to deal with them
What do you dislike?
In general nothing. Maybe it's a bit hard to get it configured with SSL and signed certificates.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it to publish some internal and external websites of my company.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's the best web server, much better than ISS of Microsoft and Java alternatives.


    Jose H.

A multiplatform server, free, robust with great security and performance

  • August 08, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This software is a multi-platform, free and robust web server that has a great variety of functionalities. First of all it allows efficiently manage a large number of requests made via http, controlling the delivery or denial of service according to the security policies that are established, in a second place, it allows configuring access restrictions to the files to prevent unauthorized access to them, thirdly, allows users to show some predetermined web pages or information in general when there is an error in accessing a server resource, fourth, allows efficient management of logs with requests received and the errors produced in the server, in order to generate access statistics, and finally, the apache server also allows us to configure virtual hosts with encryption of type https.
What do you dislike?
Extensive knowledge and experience is required to achieve a great performance of the web server and optimal security settings, therefore, installing the web server and making it work in a production environment would be fatal because it only has the default basic configurations, therefore under these conditions the server would have great vulnerability and low performance, on the other hand, there is no configuration panel that can facilitate the administration of the web server.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Es un software que fácilmente puede ser implementado para alojar muchos proyectos web, así como también permite ahorrar costos porque es gratuito y además, se puede instalar en una variedad de sistemas operativos porque es multiplataforma, asi que con una configuración óptima del servidor web se puede tener un software potente para la gestión de servicios vía http.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If this web server will be used in a production environment, make sure you never leave the settings that the software comes by default, because it would be a very high security risk. In this sense, it is required to make an optimal configuration at security level, and an optimal configuration to have the best performance considering also the technical characteristics of the hardware on which the web server will be implemented.


    Higher Education

Apache Server

  • August 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use, performance, great documentation, lots of help/info on use.
What do you dislike?
I'd like a config GUI for our non-technical users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Anything that requires a web server. We use it everywhere.