Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Apache Web Server on Ubuntu 20.10

Arara Solutions | v0421

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

114 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    carl s.

APACHE SERVER the best server on the market

  • May 14, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is in my opinion an excellent web page server that allows you to use it in the PHP, Python and Java language, the most common are also handled by others, you can use this in different databases such as MySQL, in another aspect how adaptable it is to working in the windows and unix environments makes it very attractive.
I can say that I keep control of access or restrictions by the security policies that I can implement, and give predetermined access to different pages.
The use of open source software which allows me to see if there is a security failure gives me a reliability and the best e are in continuous updates, its cost is free, its work by module makes it easy to configure and I practice even if you are starting to work on it. Apache is not a new server but it has earned its place in the market.
What do you dislike?
I have no complaints of Apache has been very good for what I have needed, what can be is that if you are newbie it will not be very practical and you will have to invest time in learning to use but the Good is so you have to dedicate your weather.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Apache is the best thing that the company has had in terms of servers referred by the security systems that presents its customization is formidable to perform the configurations.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
All companies wishing to use Apache servers is the best option and on all the support of SSL and TLS certificates and the great support that you have in the community that works with this server is unique and reassuring.


    Marketing and Advertising

The classic web server

  • April 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the simplicity of use and the amount of libraries and modules available to use. You can easily enable and disable them and it works like a charm. It is also really easy to go from development to proudction.
What do you dislike?
It can be a little complex to configure, especially when you are new to it, but once you get the hang of the configuration files and the way it works, you can get it to work really good.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Development of web pages
Testing of web development tools
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Before you start using Apache you should definitely read the configuration files first and then go testing around. Even though installing it manually is more complex than installing premade packages like Xampp or Wampp, you get much more control over configuration and usage.


    albert l.

APACHE SERVER my super server

  • April 24, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is an excellent server, to use a language that is used mainly on the web that is PHP, is an HTTP server allows me to connect with databases such as MySQL and MariaDB. It is also an open source software, which can be monitored for security flaws, we can also say that it is a software that I consider very safe and is always in constant update and improvement. The costs of the Apache servers are free, we must know how to configure in a way that is quite easy to install on Windows, Macintosh and Linux. I have used it in the Windows and Linux server models, the experience in these two environments has been very good for me.
What do you dislike?
I could say that some versions do not have a visually friendly presentation for its configuration, since this must be done by means of a console. For the person who is starting or not conosca can be something a bit cumbersome, but we can not ignore that is the most effective way to make such configurations.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In the company we use the apache servers because they are very reliable for us and our clients their security systems that implement and update continuously gives us that confidence, our clients feel very happy with this service they provide.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I consider the apache servers that offer trust, quality and service aspect that is always looked for in the search of servers and it is free you must risk to work with them you will not regret it.


    Security and Investigations

The Gold Standard In HTTP Servers

  • December 06, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache is venerable, stable, and well-known by everyone and anyone who runs webservers for a living. You're going to be hard pressed to find someone who knows webservers and doesn't know Apache.
What do you dislike?
The config file isn't easily machine readable and configurable. It's not as fast as some other servers such as Nginx.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Apache handles all of our rewriting and redirection needs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Apache, although it is not known as the most performant web server daemon, is the safe choice and will generally meet your needs unless they're specialized.


    Nacho G.

The most complete web server

  • October 06, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Apache Server is an application to publish websites on your own server in an agile and powerful way. It is really complete and has many options, for example recently it has allowed me to configure two different web pages in two different domains on the same server, with SSL enabled and with different certificates for each one, definitively it's the most complete service.
What do you dislike?
Being so powerful, has a drawback, it is very complicated to configure it safely. Only with installing the service you have an operative web page, but once you want to deepen you have to dedicate many hours.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Apache Server to publish different websites that we create for our clients. We usually use external hosting services, but in many cases we use our own servers with Apache Server
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Apache is simply the best service to publish secure web pages on linux servers, for that reason it is the most used software for that purpose.


    Ramon V.

Essential web server

  • September 25, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Apache is a great service to publish websites, together with ISS and Nginx, which are the alternatives. But Apache is much faster than the others, according to some synthetic tests, up to twice as fast
What do you dislike?
The worst thing about Apache is undoubtedly how complicated it is to configure it, since it requires some good prior knowledge to have it configured correctly
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it for all the servers of my company, it is the best option to run web pages on linux servers. It allows me to have different websites on the same server and use it with certificates and SSL protection
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Apache is the most powerful option to have your own web server. It is a bit complicated to configure but once it is operational it has a multitude of options.


    Koldo I.

the web server by excellence

  • September 12, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache is the service for publishing web pages on virtually all Unix servers, with the exception of Tomcat and some other minority.
It allows to mount different web pages on the same server and secure everything with the SSL protocol
What do you dislike?
the only drawback of Apache is that it is not simple to configure everything, and normally you have to have previous experience to obtain a stable service
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use apache to publish the web pages of some services that we offer to other companies.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The best application to publish websites. Worldwide used with enormous recognition


    Miguel J.

Excelent web server for Linux

  • September 12, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The first thing that you realize about apache, is that it's available in all distribution already packages and maybe installed. After that you can start the service and you have a simple website working locally, and after some work, you can get your server publishing a website to the net.Te
What do you dislike?
The negative point of Apache is that there are options that are not easy to find and configure, and normally there are too much information, not always sorted.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use apache in my personal computer of the work to publishing some internal websites or applications that runs over apache, like Phppgadmin for example.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Apache is the principal software to publishing websites. It's designed for production environments with much websites in same server. It's very stable and reliable.


    Eduardo G.

Currently the best web server

  • September 10, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache web server it's a cross-platform application that gives you hundreds of options to configure it. To get it up, it's easy but there are lots of properties that you can define to get your services totally customized and secure. For example, you can define rules to set witch files will be accessible from the web and witch no, define witch users can see some pages or have multiple websites running in the same server, each one with a totally differenced options.
What do you dislike?
Apache has so many options that to configure everything is very complicated, and sometimes you need to spend much ours to get it good configured. Other handicap of apache at different of other web servers, is that there aren't available a control panel to deal with the numerous options
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use apache2 to get publish a lot of websites that I use in my company in internal way. Majority of them are applications that we develop or from third-party but where the administration is done by a website.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's the best alternative and it's used by the majority of web servers. It's free and customizable.


    Pilar M.

The web service by excellence

  • September 09, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache server it's the web server used by the 95% of administrators over the world, because it's the best in different aspects: First, it's available and compiled for the principal operatives systems that runs in servers, second because it's stable and runs very fast. And third, because it's maintained by the community, and this with thousands of users becomes in very tested and verified product.
What do you dislike?
It's a product for advanced administrators, comes with a basic configuration that is not recommendable for use in production because isn't safe enough.If you want to tune it to production, with the configuration of certificates and with the SSL enabled you need to work in that a few days.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's our web server in all servers that we have, in the internal servers we use to publish some web applications that we use, like inventory databases and some internal applications. Also we use externally to publish some websites to Internet
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Apache it's the best option to publish a website. It's fast and secure if it's configured right.