Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Puppet Enterprise

Puppet | 2019.8.10

Linux/Unix, CentOS 7 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1

External reviews

36 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Bob Kaucher

Bad documentation, can I even get support?

  • May 21, 2022
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

The link to the usage guide given on the marketplace page is broken. Search for "Installing PE in cloud environments". The directions are minimal. This should just work but doesn't.

We have deployed this image 6 times now. We can successfully SSH into the system but the check_status.sh --wait command simply displays period after period until it finally says "timeout". Nothing in the logs.

We then checked the status of the network service and it says failed. There is no eth0 present. We then managed to get the network service to start by deleting the network config and disabling eth0 at start up. The network service started at reboot. Still nothing for Puppet Enterprise. We then tried to start the puppet service to see if that did anything. It did not.

The marketplace page for this AMI claims you get 5 support cases per month. But how are you supposed to even do that? Initiate them from the PE site?! Funny.

We are going to be requesting a refund.


    Computer & Network Security

puppet review

  • September 06, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
we deployed apps all instances using puppet master to all child nodes.
easy to manage instance .
monitoring is easy.
we need only few agent to manage multiple puppet child instances
What do you dislike?
hard to code.
if any region puppet service is down then you cant use there regions child instanc.
we depend only most of puppet master
we first need to install client on all instances.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
we had deployed puppet master on all aws regios wherever is our instance is present ec2.


    Berkley S.

Configuration Management at its Finest

  • June 06, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love the support, the community, the puppet forge. Oh how I could go on. Puppet has revolutionized our infrastructure. It is the best tool I've ever used. If you are on the fence about using puppet, do it. If you are using open source, I HIGHLY recommend you upgrade to enterprise.
What do you dislike?
The initial setup of your infrastructure takes a bit of work. Getting your puppet master set up, the puppetdb configured, and your hiera structure set up takes quite a bit, but once its in place it works great.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are delivering our applications faster. We are securing everything automatically, and we are reducing the complexities of our audit through the mere use of our manifests being delivered to the audtors.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly advise using enterprise. I do advise consulting their professional services when getting your installation set up right. i also highly recommend getting trained. Their training is worth it so much. Puppetize Live is worth it too if you have a chance to go to conference.


    Earl W.

DeOps is here with Puppet

  • April 28, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Automation is fluid the customizable command allow for a consistent delivery
What do you dislike?
Requires an in-depth learning curve. Grab your books and a cup of Joe.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Automating server maintenance and release cycles
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Puppet and Jenkins will keep your Systems humming


    setu s.

Right answer for configuration management automation

  • April 15, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a best configuration management tool.to automate vm builds and help keep them consistent
What do you dislike?
It takes good amount of work to implement and
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We used puppet to automate our configuration management system,.It helped us to improve configuration management, release new features to market more frequently


    Financial Services

Just starting out but so far so good

  • April 03, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simple scripting to build worksflows. Works with almost any software package with an API.
What do you dislike?
Not really a ding but another totally new software package to learn as it is quickly infiltrating our entire enterprise. :)
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Well, specifically, I am a member of our distributed database team so my view into puppet is a very specific use. We are leveraging it to deploy software packages from Oracle primarily at the moment but it will surely start using it for MySQL and Microsoft SQL Server. It allows us to go more hands off when installing software and patches in a consistent manner.


    Jamin S.

Solid Configuration Management for your Enterprise

  • January 31, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Stable Releases, Feature delivery each release, Forge is active, Comparable to other products in the market, proven use case at large companies.
What do you dislike?
Too many commands focus on running locally on the enterprise server. Because the Enterprise server can only run on RHEL/CentOS it deters usages from other OS teams. A competitor product, Chef, works around this by offering a quality client-side binary, knife, and cloud/saas version. The cloud might be Linux only, the enterprise is still a heterogeneous operating system environment.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Release Management/Configuration Mangement for ITLE. Configure/Monitor/Release/Preprod/Create for CICD.


    Retail

Awesome support for CI/CD with code manager and orchestrator.

  • January 26, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Puppet enterprise has phenomenal services that allow you to easily bring your infrastracture from a simple CI pipeline to a CD pipeline with the orchestrator and code manager. It's awesome to have PR's that get merged into our production branch make their way from source control all the way to our production nodes without any intervention. It's a huge devops enabler.
What do you dislike?
The thing i dislike about puppet enterprise is they lack examples of how people in big companies are using puppet enterprise in an automated fashion. Their docs just show and explain examples using clickops in the PE console.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are solving the problem of being able to reduce risk in making changes to infrastructure along with preventing lost knowledge from employeers who leave or even tribal knowledge by supporting infrastructure as code practices.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Read the documentation and also read the paper that discusses the differences between puppet and chef posted on puppets website. This will really help shed some light on the true differences and show where puppet really shines.


    Jonathan T.

Stellar Visualization tool with easy data management

  • January 23, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Working for a data company, we're always pushing the envelope on data visualizations. We love Reflect's responsiveness in the data management tools that let us push evolutionary changes for specific customers at a moment's notice.
What do you dislike?
We would love more hosted solutions that don't need ANY engineering on our side.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use the Reflect tools and platform to reduce the sales cycle for big enterprises.


    Insurance

Puppet automation

  • December 19, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use, automation and the capabilities to drive consistency and speed to configurable controls
What do you dislike?
Nothing, except this survey form that requires me to use 40 characters to just say nothing
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Automating repetitive tasks